We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good elements, lovely staff, not a stand-out property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good elements, lovely staff, not a stand-out property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Strings is conveniently located right by pivotal Shinagawa Station, with lots of cafes, food stores and coffee stops close by. The rooms are nicely designed and furnished, and the bathroom was really beautiful, with excellent toiletries and a large shower and bath space. I arrived late at night (around midnight) and there were no staff at the arrival entrance, which seemed odd. It was my first stay, so I went inside the small, empty lobby and had no idea where to go next. A phone placed on a bench said 'Call for Service', so I did; and then realised there were elevators so took them to the proper hotel lobby before anyone arrived to help me upstairs. It wasn't an issue, but if you arrive late at night at alone, it wasn't the most welcoming, or secure of hotels. Breakfast buffet was fine, with a good selection. Front desk provide a 20% discount on the price of breakfast. To obtain this, you had to check in with them before breakfast and fill in some paperwork. On the advice of colleagues, I did this on my 2nd day there but not on the first. On check-out, I asked if the same price could please be applied to both my breakfast bills, as obviously I was eligible for the discount. However, they wouldn't give me the discounted rate for both days as I had not completed the paperwork at the time. Again - fair enough, but it seemed a rather abitrary decision. Internet access was not great. I couldn't access wireless during my stay and had to use a cable. I had problems connecting on the first, and last nights and had to have someone come up to the room to check it both times. On check-out, the duty manager came and personally apologised for the internet issues. A nice gesture but wireless connectivity would have been nicer. One of my colleagues had great service from the concierge, who helped him arrange a short side-trip to Kyoto, in this very busy peak traveling season. So that was good too. The biggest drawback for me, was that my room was on a lower level floor, faced the train station, and had no double glazing. The noise of trains was very disruptive. I had to wake early every morning in any case, but if I were here on a leisurely vacation, this would have been a big issue. I'd suggest asking for a higher floor room, not facing the railway station. So - pros and cons for this hotel. It didn't really float my boat so I've rated it only 'Average'.

Room Tip: Rooms can be noisy due to the proximity to the station. Ask for a higher-level room, facing away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCN_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear JCN_Travels,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and have taken onboard your comments about your room assignment. Please accept our apologies for any disruption and for your room’s wifi connectivity issues.

We hope we have another opportunity to stand out as reviewed in so many other Trip Advisor reviews.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    341
    65
    23
    11
See reviews for
144
283
144
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I used to stay hotels in Shinjuku. This time hotels in Shinjuku is fully booked and the only hotel available was The Strings at Shinagawa. I really appreciate the hotel service though it is really unexpected.

The hotel is compact and located inside a business building which is a minute walk from JR Shinagawa station. The front desk is small. But the service is great. I would like to say thank you to Mr. Ken Ikuta for his help during my stay.

The only negative comment is the cost. It's quite expensive compare to hotels at Shinjuku area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank av100fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Strings is a very international hotel set at 26th - 31st Floors of this Shinagawa Tower. It actually feels quite cosy - though its all atrium with rooms around. Very comfortable beds, good aircon and excellent WIFI. Gym has 3 treadmills with the BEST view of Tokyo ahead. Makes for a great run. Food was goo - couldn't fault breakfast (scrambled eggs good) or dinner. Wine is really expensive.

Its close to Haneda (20 mins cab or train to Shinagawa Station just below). Two Starbucks very close :)

This is a great business hotel. I'm not sure its very good if you want to immerse yourself in Japan or Tokyo life - but its does a great job for a weary international traveler :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We often stay at the Cerulean Hotel which is also a very good hotel and excellent central location. We decided to try The Strings this time for a change and I was very impressed by the hotel.

The hotel itself is not that large, and occupies the top several floors of a business building right next to the Shinagawa Station. The location is very convenient, although Shinagawa is largely a business hub and not a shopping / commercial hub. Still, the proximity to the subway lines makes it a great base, and the many restaurants and convenience stores / grocery stores around the station make it a nice change from the ultra-crowded hotels in nearer to the Shinjuku and Shibuya stations.

The rooms and amenities are top notch, and the room size is very good for Tokyo. Spotless rooms. And most importantly, the standard of service is impeccable. Friendly and helpful staff, and excellent concierge. We had too many bags on the day of our departure and one of the hotel staff was incredible in assisting us move our luggage to the station.

Overall an excellent hotel and one that I would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsaojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is an excellent business hotel. I stayed here last month and it is extremely accessible. There is access to both Narita and Haneda airports (also a very easy taxi ride from Haneda).

The service was impeccable and the staff did everything to help. The breakfast looked not much, however, it was simply excellent. I can strongly recommend the breakfast.

My only negative is that the rooms were very "Cosy". Otherwise, a great place to stay

Room Tip: Bigger the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lobby very nice, at 26th floor of the building, with nice interior decoration, this time, because of Spring time, it's Cherry Blossoms time decoration.
The staff very helpful and efficient.
The room also exclusive,clean, well outfitted,complete with good quality amenities.
Convenient location, very closed to Shinagawa train station, easy to go everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 94Nany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Location is convenient...because near the Shinagawa station, which is a well-connected rail station. The area around the hotel is not that exciting...you'll need to take a 15-20 minute train/subway trip to get anywhere of interest.

The hotel is definitely up to Intercontinental standards. well-outfitted rooms with features that reflect good design and practicality. Fitness center but no pool. I did not try the hotel restaurant.

Staff was very helpful while not being to hovering.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Property: The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Address: 2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato 108-8282, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Business Hotel in Minato
#11 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo is an island of calm amid the swirl of a fast-paced business district. Tokyo Conference Center, Shinagawa, is right here, and a sheltered walkway leads to nearby Shinagawa Station. The Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa Aquarium, the Tsukiji fish market and the shops in Shibuya offer glimpses of local lifestyles and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strings By Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
The Strings By InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing