We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small hotel, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Ranked #10 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“small hotel, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I used to stay hotels in Shinjuku. This time hotels in Shinjuku is fully booked and the only hotel available was The Strings at Shinagawa. I really appreciate the hotel service though it is really unexpected.

The hotel is compact and located inside a business building which is a minute walk from JR Shinagawa station. The front desk is small. But the service is great. I would like to say thank you to Mr. Ken Ikuta for his help during my stay.

The only negative comment is the cost. It's quite expensive compare to hotels at Shinjuku area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank av100fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    326
    62
    23
    11
See reviews for
139
273
136
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Strings is a very international hotel set at 26th - 31st Floors of this Shinagawa Tower. It actually feels quite cosy - though its all atrium with rooms around. Very comfortable beds, good aircon and excellent WIFI. Gym has 3 treadmills with the BEST view of Tokyo ahead. Makes for a great run. Food was goo - couldn't fault breakfast (scrambled eggs good) or dinner. Wine is really expensive.

Its close to Haneda (20 mins cab or train to Shinagawa Station just below). Two Starbucks very close :)

This is a great business hotel. I'm not sure its very good if you want to immerse yourself in Japan or Tokyo life - but its does a great job for a weary international traveler :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We often stay at the Cerulean Hotel which is also a very good hotel and excellent central location. We decided to try The Strings this time for a change and I was very impressed by the hotel.

The hotel itself is not that large, and occupies the top several floors of a business building right next to the Shinagawa Station. The location is very convenient, although Shinagawa is largely a business hub and not a shopping / commercial hub. Still, the proximity to the subway lines makes it a great base, and the many restaurants and convenience stores / grocery stores around the station make it a nice change from the ultra-crowded hotels in nearer to the Shinjuku and Shibuya stations.

The rooms and amenities are top notch, and the room size is very good for Tokyo. Spotless rooms. And most importantly, the standard of service is impeccable. Friendly and helpful staff, and excellent concierge. We had too many bags on the day of our departure and one of the hotel staff was incredible in assisting us move our luggage to the station.

Overall an excellent hotel and one that I would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsaojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is an excellent business hotel. I stayed here last month and it is extremely accessible. There is access to both Narita and Haneda airports (also a very easy taxi ride from Haneda).

The service was impeccable and the staff did everything to help. The breakfast looked not much, however, it was simply excellent. I can strongly recommend the breakfast.

My only negative is that the rooms were very "Cosy". Otherwise, a great place to stay

Room Tip: Bigger the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lobby very nice, at 26th floor of the building, with nice interior decoration, this time, because of Spring time, it's Cherry Blossoms time decoration.
The staff very helpful and efficient.
The room also exclusive,clean, well outfitted,complete with good quality amenities.
Convenient location, very closed to Shinagawa train station, easy to go everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 94Nany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Location is convenient...because near the Shinagawa station, which is a well-connected rail station. The area around the hotel is not that exciting...you'll need to take a 15-20 minute train/subway trip to get anywhere of interest.

The hotel is definitely up to Intercontinental standards. well-outfitted rooms with features that reflect good design and practicality. Fitness center but no pool. I did not try the hotel restaurant.

Staff was very helpful while not being to hovering.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A friend and I have just returned this week from Japan having the most wonderful experiance there! We stayed at the strings for 4 nights , left for Kyoto and returned for our final night. The hotel is lovely, modern and quiet. Great location just steps from the Shinagawa station which is on the main Yamanote line that links you to all the great locations in Tokyo. Also great as we took the Shinkansen bullet train direct from this station to Kyoto. Lobby starts on the 26th floor, very clean and beautiful. All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. After a 13 hour flight from London it was great that they allowed us to check in to our room when we arrived at 12pm and not 3pm which is the regular check in time. Hotel kindly stored our big cases for us when we went to Kyoto for a few nights and picked them up on return. VERY recommended, saw mount Fuji one morning from our window on the 31st floor - lovely addition to this great hotel
We had a twin room which was very spacious

Room Tip: As for a room facing mount Fiji Twin beds very big and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaS356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,649 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Property: The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Address: 2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato 108-8282, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#8 Business Hotel in Minato
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#11 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo is an island of calm amid the swirl of a fast-paced business district. Tokyo Conference Center, Shinagawa, is right here, and a sheltered walkway leads to nearby Shinagawa Station. The Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa Aquarium, the Tsukiji fish market and the shops in Shibuya offer glimpses of local lifestyles and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strings By Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
The Strings By InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing