We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive Bussiness hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exclusive Bussiness hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lobby very nice, at 26th floor of the building, with nice interior decoration, this time, because of Spring time, it's Cherry Blossoms time decoration.
The staff very helpful and efficient.
The room also exclusive,clean, well outfitted,complete with good quality amenities.
Convenient location, very closed to Shinagawa train station, easy to go everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 94Nany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    374
    74
    25
    12
See reviews for
174
313
160
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Location is convenient...because near the Shinagawa station, which is a well-connected rail station. The area around the hotel is not that exciting...you'll need to take a 15-20 minute train/subway trip to get anywhere of interest.

The hotel is definitely up to Intercontinental standards. well-outfitted rooms with features that reflect good design and practicality. Fitness center but no pool. I did not try the hotel restaurant.

Staff was very helpful while not being to hovering.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A friend and I have just returned this week from Japan having the most wonderful experiance there! We stayed at the strings for 4 nights , left for Kyoto and returned for our final night. The hotel is lovely, modern and quiet. Great location just steps from the Shinagawa station which is on the main Yamanote line that links you to all the great locations in Tokyo. Also great as we took the Shinkansen bullet train direct from this station to Kyoto. Lobby starts on the 26th floor, very clean and beautiful. All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. After a 13 hour flight from London it was great that they allowed us to check in to our room when we arrived at 12pm and not 3pm which is the regular check in time. Hotel kindly stored our big cases for us when we went to Kyoto for a few nights and picked them up on return. VERY recommended, saw mount Fuji one morning from our window on the 31st floor - lovely addition to this great hotel
We had a twin room which was very spacious

Room Tip: As for a room facing mount Fiji Twin beds very big and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaS356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Love the location that just next to Shinagawa JR station - easy access almost everywhere in Tokyo.
Superb staff attitude, prompt response to whatever we need.
Spotless clean room and quite big by Japanese standard. I am an ambassador club member, so they just give me upgrade, 4 pm check out, nice Japanese crackers and fruits in the room. All these without even need to ask or mention!

Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We absolutely loved the location of this hotel. We are able to take the JR train line to any area of Tokyo - Shinagawa Station a short walk away. The Concierge team were great - especially Ben J who was very knowledgeable about Tokyo - asked us what we wanted to see - cherry blossoms had just bloomed and he suggested the best spots in Tokyo to view these beautiful trees. I also expressed an interest in finding local Japanese clothing designer shops and within a few hours Ben had a list of shops to visit within Tokyo! Very impressive - we have travelled extensively throughout the world and he is by far the best concierge we have every met - listens well and is able to make some great logistics suggestions and best train lines to take in order to meet your "must see" list in Tokyo. Clean, modern hotel with good amenities - it's best selling feature being its locatioin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWFCCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Very we maintained hotel with very nice style and service (concierge team!). 2 min walking distance to central Shinagawa station. You can go from this station to Lmist everywhere. Restaurant is good but expensive and closes early.
Just cross the station and you find a TGIF which serves food till midnight. ;-)
Try the bar otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is an awesome hotel. The staff is very professional and courtesy. Everything in this hotel is very modern. The rooms are smaller but I guess that is the standard for hotels in Japan. The bathroom however was spacious and very nice. The location is perfect. It is a short distance from Shinagawa Station. It less than five minute to walk, and the walk is covered in case of inclement weather. There are signs from the train station that lead to the hotel entrance. The Narita Express train will take you to and from the hotel in less than one hour. I would definitely come back to this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,152 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 111 in Minato
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Property: The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Address: 2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato 108-8282, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#8 Business Hotel in Minato
#11 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo is an island of calm amid the swirl of a fast-paced business district. Tokyo Conference Center, Shinagawa, is right here, and a sheltered walkway leads to nearby Shinagawa Station. The Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa Aquarium, the Tsukiji fish market and the shops in Shibuya offer glimpses of local lifestyles and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Rakuten, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strings By Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
The Strings By InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing