We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great location within 5 mins covered walk from NA Rita Express stop at Shinagawa. Hotel is top few storeys only of high rise. Spotless, well decorated rooms, impeccable JP service. Close by eateries and bars. Visited a number of times during the past year and consistent experience on each occasion.

Room Tip: Room with harbour view is the pick
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    373
    74
    24
    12
See reviews for
173
311
158
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed at The Strings in May 2012 on a business travel. The hotel itself is great, rooms are extremely clean and spacious (for Japan standards the size is very good), nice views, internet speed is outstanding, toiletry is high quality and I can keep going.
Breakfest was very good and it's served in the lobby area.
It's very close to Shinagawa station, so you can get to virtually everywhere within Tokyo.
I know this hotel is expensive, fortunately in my case, the company paid for it, but I assure that it is well worth it.
The area is full of offices, so you'll have lots of bars and restaurants.
On thing that I must say is that I had a problem with the shower, spoke to the front desk about this, and in a matter of minutes I had a guy from the hotel apologizing about the inconvenient and in the meantime, 2 plumbers were fixing the shower. So in 10 minutes, the issue was solved. Customer Service is excellent.
I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Le0pic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at The Strings for 4 nights in December 2012 and were absolutely overwhelmed by the kindness and helpfulness of the staff. The concierge was especially helpful in helping us locate a shop which sold a particular item and made numerous phone calls on our behalf which resulted in a successful purchase. The location is perfect as anywhere can be accessed directly from Shinagawa station which is adjacent to the hotel. Our room was a complete bonus as we were in a corner room with wonderful views of Mount Fuji and beautiful sunsets. I would definitely stay at this hotel if we visit Tokyo again. Thank you The Strings!

Room Tip: Corner suites facing Mount Fuji and the sunset are the best. Second best are the rooms facing Tokyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location, great staff, great rooms, great introduction to Tokyo! The room was lovely - spacious, great view, huge bathroom. The Club Level welcome gift of fruits, treats, and wine was a great way to start the trip. As has been mentioned in several reviews, the Concierge team made the difference in our stay. We did minimal planning before arriving and Ben Johnson, the manager, was instrumental in directing us to the right places to go. The location by Shinagawa is very convenient - and there is a lot to see just walking around outside.

Room Tip: Club rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burkemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Strings is just above and next door to Shinagawa train station, which is one of the stops on the Narita Express, making this hotel wonderfully easy to get to from the airport. It's a major train station, so you can get to almost anywhere in Tokyo from Shinagawa, and there are some pretty good restaurants and attractions nearby, such as the Sengakuji Temple where the 47 Ronin are buried.

The hotel is beautiful, with a tall open atrium, lots of dark wood, and the restaurant in the center. The breakfast buffet is both large and varied, and the food was very good and fresh. The rooms are very large for Tokyo, and quite western/modern, very comfortable for at business traveler, with reliable internet access, big shower, and comfy bed. The room, like the entire hotel, was spotless.

However, what sets this hotel apart is the staff, particularly Mr. Johnson, the concierge. He's originally from Australia, and so speaks flawless English of course. His knowledge of Tokyo is extensive, and his customer service skills are among the best I've ever seen in all my travels. In my case, he went so far above and beyond normal duty that if I ever have cause to hire a personal assistant I'm going to use him as my model, as I will when I'm in a position to help someone else. After all, a hotel is more than just a bedroom, bar, lobby, and restaurant - it's the people with whom the traveler interacts that make the experience what it is.

I will not hesitate to stay here again when next I'm in Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlamedaMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on the (small) size and convenient location, away from the hustle bustle touristy areas of Tokyo. Room is very clean and decent in size but most notably is the staff who provided excellent service. The Concierge team is incredibly accommodating and helpful in asking the right questions to understand what we need before pointing us in the right direction. Ben Johnson is one of the best concierge we have encountered in all of our business and leisure travels. He certainly made our Tokyo experience more enjoyable.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Montikobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Montikobi,

We are extremely pleased to hear that you had a great experience with us and found our location, rooms and service to your satisfaction.

Thank you for your immense compliment of my service during your stay. It is an honour to know I have made a difference to you visit. The entire staff take pride in our local knowledge to connect guests to the real Tokyo providing authentic and enriching experiences whether for business or leisure.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and thank you again for such a wonderful review of our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks for work. Clean, quiet roomy and upscale. Very nice hotel. The staff was very kind and helpful. The room and bathroom are spacious by Tokyo standards. I was impressed with how quiet it was. I heard no noises from the hall or other rooms at all during my stay.

Location is a short walk to Shinagawa Station.

I would stay here more often but the price is too high.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yakimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRINGSICTOKYO, Guest Experience Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Yakimo,

Thank you very much for your long stay with us and for your wonderful 5 star review. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Shinagawa in the near future when travelling to Tokyo.

Kind regards,

Ben Johnson
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,113 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Property: The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Address: 2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato 108-8282, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#8 Business Hotel in Minato
#11 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo is an island of calm amid the swirl of a fast-paced business district. Tokyo Conference Center, Shinagawa, is right here, and a sheltered walkway leads to nearby Shinagawa Station. The Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa Aquarium, the Tsukiji fish market and the shops in Shibuya offer glimpses of local lifestyles and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strings By Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
The Strings By InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing