We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel is nice and amenities are top class, staff is friendly, though as in much of Japan, language is a challenge. The room was spacious for a space constrained city like Tokyo. Happy to recommend the hotel to visitors to Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivekMisra1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    1,098
    348
    83
    42
See reviews for
392
611
237
988
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Recently stayed at the ANA Intercontinental for a few days. Very nice property.

Consistently smooth and accommodating valet / bell / front desk service. As everywhere in Japan, communication is an issue (the people who anywhere else in the world would be fluent English speakers struggle with English, and the people who anywhere else would have passable English for service roles, speak none at all), but they are quick to address any issues that this might create.

My room (xx21 on a high floor) was spacious with all modern updates and a beautiful view. Typical Asian business hotel automation of shades and lights. Few English language television options but compensated for by video and HDMI inputs so you can source content from your tablet or laptop. Fast WiFi. Extremely responsive room service, laundry, etc.

Attractive lobby, diverse range of restaurants and bars. (I sampled only the lobby restaurant breakfast and the tepanyaki restuarant up top; both excellent, although crushingly expensive in the latter case.) The executive lounge on the 35th floor is superb; and depending upon your room rate and requirements it can be a real value -- at least for me it cost 100k yen a day (approx $100 at recent exchange rates) but offers two full-ish meals a day, full self-service bar, free wifi, and two free hours of conference room utilization in a beautiful meeting room. Note that the front desk "sold" me this for my entire stay without my realizing it; I only needed (and used) one day, and they gladly refunded the balance.

Did not use gym, concierge or business center, so cannot comment on any of these services.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small; upgrade room category if that would bother you or you are not traveling s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Such a great hotel, from the moment you enter the lobby. We arrived early on New Years Day and did not expect our room to be ready but we were offerred an early check-in, bliss! We stayed for 2 nights and observed it to be a very popular and buzzing hotel with many guests. Every morning we waited in line for breakfast, but the line moved pretty fast as they are prepared with many staff. It runs like a well oiled machine! The staff are fantastic.

Advantages
Good quality breakfast with plenty of choices

Spacious rooms and great bathroom amenities – we stayed in contemporary classic, non-smoking room

Restaurants/bar :
Sushi Kenzan – so yummy, but pricey
MIXX Bar and Lounge – lovely view, great staff and delicious drinks
Teppanyaki Akasaka – outstanding, must try if your budget allows

Very comfortable lobby to relax in whilst waiting for the Narita Limousine Bus to take us back to the airport

Staff are very friendly, helpful and always available

Quick and affordable taxi ride to Roppongi Hills

Disadvantages
They have a metro entrance very close to the hotel, but it’s a fair walk once inside to the actual metro platforms

In-room internet access comes at a daily charge. For the room rate price, I really expected that internet access would be complimentary

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danzelldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

First time I stayed in this hotel in December 2010 for New Year holiday we spent in Tokyo and returned now for a short stay while in transit in Tokyo in January 2014. Both times we enjoyed the hotel big time - the service is excellent, especially the concierge who helped us great deal during the first stay to get last minute reservation in great restaurant on New Years eve and helped us to plan where to go for New Year celebrations in Tokyo.

Even though the hotel is not very new the rooms are very well appointed and clean. There is great bar on the top floor where we went few times during our 2 stays with nice view over Tokyo. We didn't visit the restaurants in the hotel nor had breakfast there so cannot comment on that.

Tokyo being a huge city the location of the hotel depends what you're there for. It is very close to a metro station Tameike Sanno on Ginza line. Ropongi station is 10-15 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aplamse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
307 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed at the Ana for four months - six trips of two weeks on, one week off. Instead of calculating the rewards points based on dollars spent, they give you 2000 points per stay. So I walked away from 84 nights with 12,000 points, not even enough for a free stay somewhere else. Insulting! The hotel itself was quite nice for Japan. All the amenities you would expect. My other complaint is that there is nowhere in the lobby that serves coffee before 9:00 on weekends. Not great for a jetlag situation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Marc M,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for sharing us your feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.

Please be advised that the earning structure for InterContinental Hotels and Resorts outside the Americas will continue to award 2,000 IHG Rewards Club base points or 500 frequent flyer miles with participating airlines for each qualifying stay per section 11 of the IHG Rewards Club Terms and Conditions.

Intercontinental Hotel is our upscale brand with the primary focus on service and facility rather than point accumulation. We apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience this may have caused.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Should you require further assistance, please feel free to contact the IHG Rewards Club Service Center.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed recently on a family holiday.
Arrived v early on overnight flight from the UK, we were allowed in to the health spa are to shower and freshen up while they got our room ready for 10:30.
The concierge desk was very helpful with arranging bookings and advising on local attractions.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Although we only stated on 7th floor overlooking the elevated motorway ther was no intrusive noise at all.
The only bad thing is the internet which is charged at Y1600 per 24hrs which seems like a money grabbing exercise. There is free wi-fi in all Starbucks in Tokyo (however you have to register before you go for the first time ( http://starbucks.wi2.co.jp/sp/sma_index_en.html ) and I have not been bombarded by spam mail.
Although the metro entrance is close to the hotel the actual platforms are quite a walk - the nearest, G line, about 300yds and the furthest, M line, about 1/2 mile
There are a number of good places to eat in the Ark Hills complex adjoining the hotel so if you are on a budget you do not need to eat in the hotel itself
The Roppongi area is only a short taxi ride away (it is uphill there and downhill back so we tended to taxi there and walk back) where there are many places to eat ranging from a Hard Rock cafe through to the traditional Japanese restaurants (see other of my reviews for two good ones).
We would definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed att InterContinental in other citys around the work and this is the one i did not like. No free wi-fi. It is not included in the price and that feels so anncient! What high class hotel does not include free wi-fi!
The room was not perfectly cleand and we had to inform the hotel.
The location is great but you can probably find better hotels around the area in Tokyo.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank teres-notmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear teres-notmyname,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay. I sincerely regret that you were unhappy with this visit most especially with the unavailability of complimentary Internet access and room maintenance being sub par. We will work on rectifying these points you have raised and appreciate your feedback as this is our best means of doing so.

We all hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 110 in Minato
3,076 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4,243 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 110 in Minato
2,872 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Intercontinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Property: Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Address: 1-12-33 Akasaka | Minato ku, Minato 1070052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#14 Business Hotel in Minato
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#15 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#19 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Intercontinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything in a busy city, and ANA InterContinental Tokyo has one of the best. In Ark Hills near Akasaka, Roppongi and Kasumigaseki, the hotel provides easy access to Tokyo Metro stations, government agencies and financial institutions. The Imperial Palace, Senso-ji Temple, Ginza shopping district and the Mori Art Museum are short distances away. Our Club InterContinental Lounge is unique to the city, offering unparalleled levels of service and sweeping views of Tokyo and Mt. Fuji, whilst located away from the bustling metropolis below on level 35 of the hotel. The Club Lounge is a perfect retreat whether it be for business or leisure and offers the following exclusive benefits: ■Personalised welcome and departure service in the Lounge ■Gourmet continental breakfast daily ■Afternoon refreshments ■Evening cocktails and canapes ■Use of our private meeting room for up to two hours (subject to availability) with custom built video-conferencing system ■All day refreshments ■Personalized Club InterContinental concierge and business services ■Shower facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ana Intercontinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing