We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, but charges to use pool much too high” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but charges to use pool much too high”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had no problems with this hotel: the service, the room, the views etc. This is a first class hotel.

We had specifically chosen ANA Intercontinental, because it has one of the few outdoors swimming pools in Tokyo. August is very hot in Tokyo (especially this year), and we were hoping to spend a few hours resting at the hotel pool.

We were very shocked, when we were asked for the equivalent of $30 per person per day for pool use. When I booked the hotel, it was not clear that there were extra charges, certainly not the amount requested.

Despite the hotel's overall qualities, it was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlushyDragonX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    1,052
    331
    74
    41
See reviews for
368
581
232
940
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was my third stay in the hotel. This is one of the best business hotels I have stayed. Great Service, Good food and nice and comfortable rooms with plenty of Food & beverage choice. The Airport transfer from the hotel is a great addition to the services. Hotel is close to the subway station and that makes even more attractive to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
418 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is one of the better business hotels I have stayed at. I spent two separate trips at this hotel and each experience was great. The service was spectacular. The location is great, just a quick walk to Rappongi. The rooms were very nice and clean. This hotel is the ideal business hotel if you are working in the Rappongi area and would like restaurants and bars withing walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Exec_Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wish we stayed here longer than the two nights we did, but it was a perfect stay none the less. The view from our room was absolutely amazing. The hotel room itself was impeccable. The staff was very friendly and helped us get directions to Disneyland the next day. It's very close to the subway station which made it easy to get around. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayjaxon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrived at 11am (having landed at 5am after a 12 hour flight) and was able to check in to the room immediately, which was helpful. The receptionist took the trouble to apologise that she couldn't offer an upgrade as the hotel was fully booked, which I appreciated. The room (on the 14th floor) was pleasant, peaceful and just about large enough with a view towards the Tokyo Tower. The bed was extremely comfortable. Didn't have any meals in the hotel, so can't comment on the food, but did have in a drink in the bar on the top floor, which was breathtaking, both in the views it offered and its prices! The hotel is conveniently situated in a very pleasant district of town with a metro station just outside the door - it's actually two metro stations (Tameike-sanno and Kokkai-gijidomae), which are linked underground and the walk from the Maranouchi Line to exit 13 (near the hotel) is a long way. The hotel whilst not exactly cheap represented good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel location is just perfect. It's right next to the train station ( one-minute walk from the subway Exit 13 at Tameike-sanno Station). It's walking distance to Roopongi Hills, which is a great upmarket nightlife place.

The price is high at $250 / night but is well worth it. The staff is courteous and very helpful. The food is amazing and the rooms are neat. Free Internet services as well.

Definitely recommend for luxury travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had the pleasure of recently staying at this hotel for a total of 6 nights.

The Room:
We were situated on the 29th floor and had breathtaking views of the city. Especially at night.
The room itself was quite small but the use of space was very good. The room had everything we needed including a traditional foot massager.

Service:
Housekeeping and in room dining service was great. The bed linen were always changed when we left the card on the bed and the towels were replaced regularly. the room was always fresh and inviting. In room dining was always prompt and food was very delicious and hot. Portions were a little on the smaller side considering the price.

Unfortunately there were a couple minor things that placed a bit of a hinderance on our stay.

1. We en-counted an incident were I was asked by staff to go back to my room and change as a result of me wearing a singlet to the buffet breakfast. I didn't think twice about my choice of attire as we had a jam packed day of tours and sightseeing ahead of us and being summer it only made sense to wear something cool. And must I add, I wore a singlet twice before this incident happened and was not told about the dress attire. Was a little annoyed to have to go back up to my room and change. I wish this was sometime we were told about upon check in.

2. Upon arrival we were advised by the man at the front desk that there was a 1 off fee for the use of the hotel pool of $30 AUD (Which I think is ridiculous, the first and only hotel ive stayed at were you have to pay to go swimming) and then we could use the pool facilities at will. Incorrect information - upon my second visit to the pool I was advised by the staff that I had to pay again, to which I explained the information I was given from the front desk. eventually I was let in and given complementary access to the pool. I didn't use the pool for the rest of my stay as a result of this.

3. last but not least. we were charged for our stay twice. When we arrived the hotel took the money out of our account and held as per usual hotel procedure (Which we were more than happy with) upon checkout they charged us again. which put us out of pocket approx $3000 until the money that the hotel held, had been released back to us 3 days later. VERY VERY annoying, especially when that effected the remainder of our second stay in bali.

Tokyo is an amazing city and we thoroughly enjoyed our time and stay at ANA. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,949 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Intercontinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Property: Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Address: 1-12-33 Akasaka | Minato ku, Minato 1070052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Minato
#14 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#14 Business Hotel in Minato
#19 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Intercontinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything in a busy city, and ANA InterContinental Tokyo has one of the best. In Ark Hills near Akasaka, Roppongi and Kasumigaseki, the hotel provides easy access to Tokyo Metro stations, government agencies and financial institutions. The Imperial Palace, Senso-ji Temple, Ginza shopping district and the Mori Art Museum are short distances away. Our Club InterContinental Lounge is unique to the city, offering unparalleled levels of service and sweeping views of Tokyo and Mt. Fuji, whilst located away from the bustling metropolis below on level 35 of the hotel. The Club Lounge is a perfect retreat whether it be for business or leisure and offers the following exclusive benefits: ■Personalised welcome and departure service in the Lounge ■Gourmet continental breakfast daily ■Afternoon refreshments ■Evening cocktails and canapes ■Use of our private meeting room for up to two hours (subject to availability) with custom built video-conferencing system ■All day refreshments ■Personalized Club InterContinental concierge and business services ■Shower facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Ana Intercontinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing