We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Impressive on the surface” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Ranked #16 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Impressive on the surface”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a grand looking hotel, in a useful area for sight seeing. The lobby and restaurant look good and are well maintained.Didn't eat in the restaurant, as breakfast was equivalent of £27, but there are plenty of nice places next door at Ark complex, and a 24hr supermarket. However, the bedrooms are average,and smelt of smoke in both rooms I was offered. They are too small, particularly the bathroom, where there isn't room to turn around. Beds large, but too low, mattress uncomfortable and the pillows ridiculous- they disappear when you lie on them, even three didn't do the trick. Had to use the ( smelling of smoke ) cushions underneath them for support. The bar on 36th floor was also rather unattractive, not very big and, unsurprisingly, expensive. Staff were ok, but not overly helpful. Overall, a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stringal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear stringal,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am glad that you liked our lobby. However, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced over the bar as well as the room and bathroom conditions. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    1,008
    309
    69
    40
See reviews for
351
557
216
909
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed quite a few IHG hotels before and honestly, most of them disappoint. This stay proved my loyalty to be worthy. In terms of customer service, this property should be a role model for all Intercontinental hotels. From getting off the taxi, checking-in to getting room service. They raise the standard of luxury accommodation. The hotel may not be brand new or flashy, but the staff are truly amazing at what they do. I would argue this hotel could possibly win over a Ritz Carlton.

They know the drill, they know how to impress, handling your luggage the right way, taking over at the right time. I didn't get the "anti-foreigner" impression some had experienced. Front desk was extremely courteous and over archive his role. I felt professionalism, got thanked of my loyalty, checked if my requests were met etc. Even though I said I wouldn't mind, they insisted on the welcoming gift, they actually cared about the tiny details.

I assume the line wasn't busy as the operator even had the time to have a little chat with me, asking how my day was and if arranging transportation was necessary the next day. At a busy hotel, it's hard to add personal attention but they did it. There is a mix of leisure and business travellers, as well as flight crew as this is an ANA hotel so the lobby sets an ambient of both luxury and comfort.

The room itself was spacious (gorgeous for Tokyo standard), living room had blu-ray player, large working desk, well-stocked minibar and room was well lit. Their duvet was heavenly, I believe you could order one home if you wish to. The location of the hotel is a pity, as it is indeed a 15 mins walk until you reach the train platform, but the nearest underground exit is only 2 mins walk from the hotel.

The only thing I can complain about is that they're doing it too perfectly, it lacks the feeling of being in a foreign country. If you're looking for that awkward language barrier when asking for a wake-up call, it wouldn't happen; they all speak fluent english.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very nice hotel. Stayed 2 separate nights. The first night had an amazing view of the old tokyo tower from my room.The beds, I would describe as firm, but very comfortable. The old tokyo tower is about a half mile walk from the hotel. Many good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dispatch747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This ANA InterContiental hotel is located near two major tokyo subway stations (walking distance - within 5 minutes) which makes it really convinent to tourists or business persons to get around the city. From Narita aiprot, you can take an Airport Bus there and it arrives at the hotel front door directly. .

In general, the hotel is expensive and I agreed with other travelers that the hotel rooms are definitely outdated. Service is uneven especially when there were a large group of tourists arriving from the airport buses. Hotel restaurants are expensive and the quality is only so-so. Fortunately, there are tons of restaurants next to the hotel to choose from and their price are more reasonable.

If you want, you can walk 15-20 minutes to Roppongi district. There - you will have no trouble finding all types of restaurants from hole-in-awall type to upscale restaurants at the Hyatt hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the original Tokyo Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RelaxEatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is well located. The rooms are relatively clean but unpleasant, too old and need major refurbishing. The service can be good or bad, depending on the employee. The food is average or slightly below average. The hotel is a typical business hotel but with really unpleasant rooms and inconsistent service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markustemasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Markustemasek,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased that you like our location. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the room condition, the unsatisfactory service you received from some of the staff, and over the food that did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly as your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very foreigner-friendly. The rooms were large and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The location is pretty convenient. The breakfast buffet opens at 6:00 am, which is great if you're up early because of jet lag.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you put aside the high price of everything (face it, if you accept the fact that there is a $27 room service burger, then you accept the pricing), this property is lovely. The staff is unfailingly polite and helpful. Beds: big and comfortable - I had a king, which can be a treat in Asia.

The room is big enough and well appointed. Bedding, towels and amenities up to snuff. The ability to get a decent amount of hot water and a nice soaking tub. An external coffee shop with the desserts of a French patisserie. I managed not to indulge but was up against it repeatedly. Missing: in room free water. It's not a requirement, but it is a nice to have.

Very cosmopolitan feel, and well appointed, clean spaces (of course, this is Japan, so what did you expect - as an example, I left my room key outside during a conversation - someone turned it in and then tracked me down...safe, lovely, kind...)

When you want to eat, and don't want something nearly as pricey, you have 10 or more choices right out the lobby door and in the little mall next door.

You don't even need to drink the $6 bottles of coke from your mini-bar, as there is a 24 hour grocery store out the first floor and across the parking lot. (I am not cheap, I just prefer to spend my money on better things than overpriced hotel food). There is good Chinese and Soup Stock Tokyo.

There are other hotels nearer our offices, but this one is in my top 5 for Tokyo.

Room Tip: the hallways are very convoluted, so it's not even a matter of choosing a good one as much as fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,773 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Intercontinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Property: Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Address: 1-12-33 Akasaka | Minato ku, Minato 1070052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Minato
#14 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#14 Business Hotel in Minato
#19 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Intercontinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything in a busy city, and ANA InterContinental Tokyo has one of the best. In Ark Hills near Akasaka, Roppongi and Kasumigaseki, the hotel provides easy access to Tokyo Metro stations, government agencies and financial institutions. The Imperial Palace, Senso-ji Temple, Ginza shopping district and the Mori Art Museum are short distances away. Our Club InterContinental Lounge is unique to the city, offering unparalleled levels of service and sweeping views of Tokyo and Mt. Fuji, whilst located away from the bustling metropolis below on level 35 of the hotel. The Club Lounge is a perfect retreat whether it be for business or leisure and offers the following exclusive benefits: ■Personalised welcome and departure service in the Lounge ■Gourmet continental breakfast daily ■Afternoon refreshments ■Evening cocktails and canapes ■Use of our private meeting room for up to two hours (subject to availability) with custom built video-conferencing system ■All day refreshments ■Personalized Club InterContinental concierge and business services ■Shower facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Ana Intercontinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing