We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for Mixx Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous view for Tokyo skyline. Comfortable setting and romantic. Beware of crazy rules on happy hour. And the female wait staff with a huge attitude. Ordered a rum and coke which was a happy hour item. But was told since I requested diet coke vs regular coke it was full price! Really? Upon check out I requested a comment card. Front desk had no comment cards and handed me a piece of paper. Really?

Will drink my rum and diet coke at the Hyatt next business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shibs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Brand Experience & Quality Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. Upon investigation, there seems to be some misunderstanding of our happy hour. We do not differ in price between coke and diet coke. Simply we do differ in pricing before, during & after prescribe happy hour set times which appears to be the case. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,317 - 1,323 of 2,708 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

It was a good decision choosing this hotel, strategically located at the heart of Tokyo, two subway lines and everywhere is just a taxi away (famous places and landmarks) not far so its inexpensive...diverse food and restaurants within the hotel complex, michelin grade resto as well..and the service wow! its customer delight... can communicate well in English, can arrange your itinerary, plan your vacation and rescue you in stressful situation while travelling...

Room Tip: higher rooms commands a great view of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tozansha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Brand Experience & Quality Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our service and location.
And thank you for sharing this on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a great place to base ourselves whilst visiting Tokyo - the sights and attractions of Tokyo are quite spread out but this hotel is located next to a subway station so we found it very easy to get around. Taxis in Tokyo are very expensive so the proximity to transport is a big plus. The hotel itself is beautiful, with comfortable rooms and good food. The service we received was excellent. I didn't like the pillows much but they seem to be an Intercontinental standard - they are extremely soft. The hotel offers a reasonably priced airport transfer service which was helpful for us too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Guest Relations Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank-you for the great comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Feather pillow is our standard but also several types of pillow are available.
Airport Limousine bus is 3,000yen one way. From Airport, our hotel is the first stop. Also To Airport, our hotel is the last stop. So it will save your time.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed for two days at the ANA Hotel in Akasaka Tokyo some time ago. It was a very nice experience. The staff were most gracious as one would expect in Japan. I loved my single room. My room was on the 21st floor and the view was magnificent. I could see Tokyo Tower from my window and this was particularly pleasing on the eyes at night time. I even had a Japanese toilet that was like sitting on Captain Kirk's seat in Star Trek. There were so many buttons on it and you could heat the seat ,etc. A new experience for me. There are many bars and restaurants in this hotel and the decor is excellent throughout the hotel. The breakfast consisted of a buffet meal and there was a wide choice from Japanese to Western food. The hotel is well situated and accessable to all public transport. I really enjoyed my stay there and will return again.

Room Tip: I stayed at this hotel on a special rate. It was available throughout December.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 93Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Guest Relations Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
I am also really happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast in our award winning all day buffet restaurant!
Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is very expensive, the rooms are quite noisy from the expressway outside and the rumbling lifts that seem to be audible from most rooms. Worst of all, I was charged >5000 Yen for a 4-minute international phonecall, and when I emailed them to complain, I still have not had a satisfactory response almost 2 weeks later.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank j-ho_NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Brand Experience & Quality Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Firstly thank you for choosing ANA InterContinental Tokyo.
We are very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfy with our telephone charge.
Installing a phone line cost much because of we have to pay the basic charge everymonth.
That is why hotel's telephone access fee is more expensive in general way.
Please refer the price list that we had send you last week.
Thank you for sharing your comments and We hope have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When I booked my trip for October 2012 in 2011, I didn't realize I would be in competition for rooms against the huge IMF meeting that was occurring in Tokyo. The hotel was packed with IMF delegates while I stayed there, but I never felt rushed or ignored by the staff. Coming from the US where you receive indifferent, surly service from hotel staff, the ANA Intercontinental staff was refreshing. As a western US resident, I hardly walk (essentially drive everywhere). Walking to and from the Tameike-Sanno subway station and sightseeing wiped me out. The bamboo "Japanese Traditional Foot Massager" in the room was a godsend to soothe the aching arches. In the US, mid/upper hotels usually will sell you things like duvets, sheets, mattresses, and anything in the hotel room if you like them. Since I fell in love with the bamboo foot massager, I asked the concierge if the hotel sold it. No, they do not. But the awesome concierge directed me to the nearest TokyuHands where I could purchase something similar. Rooms are spacious by Tokyo standards. Rooms are pricey, but in line with similar properties near central Tokyo. Breakfast buffet is made to order. Menu doesn't change very much from day to day, but it beats trying to find a place to eat when your feet ache (yes, there's a lot of cheaper alternatives, but you have to walk to them, and when your feet are killing you it's just nice to be an elevator ride away from a nice meal.)

Room Tip: I didn't realize that had I gotten the "city" view we might have been able to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiroko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Brand Experience & Quality Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for your staying with us and taking time to feedback.
Your comment will be a great encouragement to councierge team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love staying at this hotel. As an Ambassador member they treat you special the whole time you're here.

The hotel is very nice and the rooms are kept clean and up to date.

The hotel is also very central to most major Tokyo businesses and government locations. (A few minutes on the Metro- at most).

This hotel is my #1 and only choice when I come to Tokyo for business.

Room Tip: Be an Intercontinental Ambassador- upgraded room, free wifi, and free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMarquez76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAInterContinental, Guest Relations Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your great feedback and for your loyalty to ANA InterContinental Tokyo.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us.
Yes we are situated in a convenient location for both business and leisure travelers.
Also very accessible to the airport. Airport Limousine Bus stop at the first hotel in downtown hotels.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,593 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 118 in Minato
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 118 in Minato
3,123 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Intercontinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Address: 1-12-33 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#14 Business Hotel in Minato
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#15 Family Hotel in Minato
#16 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $198 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Intercontinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything in a busy city, and ANA InterContinental Tokyo has one of the best. In Ark Hills near Akasaka, Roppongi and Kasumigaseki, the hotel provides easy access to Tokyo Metro stations, government agencies and financial institutions. The Imperial Palace, Senso-ji Temple, Ginza shopping district and the Mori Art Museum are short distances away. Our Club InterContinental Lounge is unique to the city, offering unparalleled levels of service and sweeping views of Tokyo and Mt. Fuji, whilst located away from the bustling metropolis below on level 35 of the hotel. The Club Lounge is a perfect retreat whether it be for business or leisure and offers the following exclusive benefits: ■Personalised welcome and departure service in the Lounge ■Gourmet continental breakfast daily ■Afternoon refreshments ■Evening cocktails and canapes ■Use of our private meeting room for up to two hours (subject to availability) with custom built video-conferencing system ■All day refreshments ■Personalized Club InterContinental concierge and business services ■Shower facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ana Intercontinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing