We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Largest club lounge in Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Ranked #16 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Largest club lounge in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The club lounge is impressive in this hotel, which itself has a rather sensual, luxurious atmosphere. Located on the 35th floor (top floor 36 offers a selection of high-end restaurants/bars), this is by far the largest club lounge in Tokyo and spacious by any standard. Canapes and alcoholic beverages in the evening are of good quality though champagne is notably not offered. Breakfast features an "egg menu" though I was told a cheese omelette was not possible -- no problem, the wide selection of breakfast cheeses allowed me to place the cheeses of my choice directly into a freshly-made omelette which was hot enough to melt the cheese to a delicious texture.

The lounge is quiet with attentive, efficient service, and the subdued noise level is partly due to the average customer age of 40-plus with a surprising number of even older couples on weekends. No problem if you're alone like a third of the crowd -- the lounge tends to be busy and you won't stand out.

I can't comment on the club floor rooms as the hotel gave me an upgrade to a Japanese-type tatami mat suite with 2 low-rise Western style beds. It looked like a zen temple. The original upgrade was to a executive suite but these were fully booked during my stay and the hotel apologized for the "downgrade." To be honest, I liked the peaceful feel of the Japanese suite as it was not cluttered by furniture while subtle tones and motiffs provided a relaxed decor. Wifi is complimentary with all club floor rooms and in the lounge. If a club lounge is important to you, this along with the Prince Park Tower are amongst the best Tokyo has to offer.

Room Tip: The hotel is surrounded by high rises so it may be difficult to get a decent view. No harm in inqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    975
    293
    67
    39
See reviews for
341
537
208
866
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The hotel is very close to the subway so it's very easy to get around. We took the subway and went to shibuya to check out the nightlife. It's close to the subway and also minimum cab fare to the nearest eateries. Also Tokyo tower is just a 10 min cab ride away

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aditi3281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was in Tokyo for work and this Hotel had everything I needed. Spotlessly clean room, bed was comfortable though slightly firmer that I like, WiFi with work area. Rooms were quiet. There is a shopping mall next to the Hotel with restaurants so if you want some additional (and lower priced options) they are conveniently located. The fitness center has a good selection of cardio equipment and weight / strength training. Close to the subway and serviced by the Airport limousine bus which offers a more reasonable alternative to taking a taxi to/from the airport 
http://www.limousinebus.co.jp/en/
 TV seemed to have the basic selection of English speaking channels (CNN, BBC, etc.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert-not-home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Free wireless, easy access on the airport limo bus - 3000 yen, very clean rooms, comfortable beds, extensive breakfast and also close to Starbucks, and convenience stores. Can walk to imperial palace - about 1 mile away. Staff is very nice. Excellent english everywhere in hotel. Not far from train station - cab fare 1610 yen.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindadw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

First-time staying at this hotel.

Was assigned a corner room, one of the "larger" rooom, compared to the rest of the rooms on the floor. 80's decor room style, with view of the high-way . What was dissapointing was lack of proper shower stall. Instead, had to made do standing in a small bath-tub with sticky curtains.

The shocker was the hair found on the telephone. Wonder how did house-keeping missed this in a country so focused on cleanliness.

Othewise, very efficient check-in/check-out. Will I return, not decided until I check out the Hilton nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance-Travellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Lance-Travellot,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We went to Tokyo for a 5 days leisure family trip with two kids and had a fantastic stay at ANA InterContinental.

Access from the airport could not be more convenient, the hotel is on the route of the airport shuttle bus. Location is very central and the surrounding areas offer countless dining options.

I would like to add a special mention for concierge. Concierge gave us a lot of insider tips for restaurants and places to see. Thanks to their referrals we discovered a number of hidden gems, we had a wonderful dinner in a Yakitori restaurant located in a lane a few blocks away from the hotel. Not only referring places, they also helped us to book tables, tickets to see Sumos (which we would probably would not have seen if they had not advised us).

Outstanding!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julien_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

A little sterile, service with a smile...but sometimes what was an offer didn't live up to expectations. The decor was a little gloomy

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank odeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,694 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 3,581 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Intercontinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Property: Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Address: 1-12-33 Akasaka, Minato 1070052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Minato
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#14 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#14 Business Hotel in Minato
#19 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Intercontinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything in a busy city, and ANA InterContinental Tokyo has one of the best. In Ark Hills near Akasaka, Roppongi and Kasumigaseki, the hotel provides easy access to Tokyo Metro stations, government agencies and financial institutions. The Imperial Palace, Senso-ji Temple, Ginza shopping district and the Mori Art Museum are short distances away. Our Club InterContinental Lounge is unique to the city, offering unparalleled levels of service and sweeping views of Tokyo and Mt. Fuji, whilst located away from the bustling metropolis below on level 35 of the hotel. The Club Lounge is a perfect retreat whether it be for business or leisure and offers the following exclusive benefits: ■Personalised welcome and departure service in the Lounge ■Gourmet continental breakfast daily ■Afternoon refreshments ■Evening cocktails and canapes ■Use of our private meeting room for up to two hours (subject to availability) with custom built video-conferencing system ■All day refreshments ■Personalized Club InterContinental concierge and business services ■Shower facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ana Intercontinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing