We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Large Room, So-So Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I really liked this hotel overall. The service was great, and breakfast and internet were included in the rate I got over the internet. We left for three days, and they held our large suitcases for us while we were gone. The rooms were large, room service was decent, and they had the Herald-Tribune waiting for us every morning. The view from both rooms we had was great.

There's no conceirge, though, so I had to ask the front desk for both restaurant recommendations and to make reservations for me at places I had mapped out myself. They were less than stellar with area restaurant recommendations, but did call to make bookings for me at the places I had chosen myself.

My only other complaint is that it's not in a super lively location, but I did know that when I booked it. It's a quick 10 minute walk to the JR Yamanote line, and one stop to Ginza. But if you're tired and just want a quick bite, there's not a lot to chose from in walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PassportGirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2009

Great room with excellent cleanliness , great food and great service with reasonable promotional room rates offer available online or through agents . The only thing is at night there are nothing much surrounding the hotel, but just 2 train station away in Shinbashi is a lively place and lots of eatery around. Convinient too if you don't mind to hop on the train. There are 3 train or subway lines available nearby too. One of the line's (Yurikamome line) Takeshiba station is directly link to the hotel and the other line staion is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel ) Depends on where you want to go, basically in 10-20 minutestrain ride, you can reach places like Shinjuku, Shibuya, or Roppongi.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinateoh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I find all hotels in Tokyo overpriced. The 2 Intercon (the other is the ANA) hotels I have been to however were fair compared to some others.

The rooms were nice and big by Japan standard. The hotel is located about 15 minutes walk from the nearest subway station.

Not much more to say, typical 5 stars hotel. I preferred the ANA (See other review)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Check in process was painful as we arrived an hour early and staff were not very helpful They then gave us smoking rooms - we hadn't specified non smoking but surely no Western guests ever want smoking rooms any more? After check in the rooms were good, and there were always plenty of staff on hand to help, but the restaurant/cafe was overpriced and service was patchy. Also, you had to sign up to the hotel loyalty scheme to use the fitness facilities, and wireless internet wasn't free in either rooms or lobby.

As a business hotel this is OK but there must be loads that offer better customer experience, but for leisure travellers I would recommend something nearer the centre with more character.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 19, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Service in Tokyo tends to be top-notch to begin with, so it didn't come as a surprise that service at this high end hotel was stellar, almost obsequious. The staff's English ability was satisfactory, and all interactions were handler with the utmost of respect and professionalism. Also unexpected, but nevertheless appreciated, was the spotlessly clean room, re-stocked with plenty 'o amenities each day.

The location, while very good, was not excellent, as the hotel was about a 7-10 minute walk to a useful train station. The station right at the hotel is of limited usefulness, as it primarily geared towards people going to nearby Odaiba.

Though I wish I could overlook my one big gripe, I just can't: No matter how many times I compained about the room temperature, I got nothing much more than lip services. I had the temperature set to 16 C the whole time I was there, yet I could swear it never got much below 27, maybe 26. They kept telling me it would get cooler, but i'm sure they were centrally controlling the temperature, and were too cheap to allow me to set it lower than 26. At night, when they were in EXTRA savings mode, they seemed to turn the a/c off in the elevators entirely, resulting in a sauna-like atmosphere, where you would just stare at the floor indicator, urging the car to move faster.

While I'm griping a bit, two more things: Internet costs around $20 a day! And the fitness room doesn't seem to be open to guests, which seems quite odd.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Hotel is 10min walk to Hamamatsucho subway/monorail/JR station. Very convenient to travel around the city. Monorail goes to Tokyo Airport (not Narita). Hotel has umbrellas to lend to guests. Breakfast buffet was great but not over the top. Rooms were comfortable. Shuttle service to Narita Airport available (ask the concierge). High speed internet is very expensive and works only for one computer. That is, you cannot use another laptop with the same account. An ethernet cable is recommended as WiFi is not available in all rooms. Plenty of restaurants and convenience stores available within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvainm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 117 in Minato
3,308 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
ANA InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
#14 of 117 in Minato
3,294 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Minato
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#12 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#17 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $198 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing