We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly Staff, Great location - Staff willing to go the extra mile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Great location - Staff willing to go the extra mile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Located on the Tokyo side of Tokyo Bay, this hotel has easy access either by the Yurikamome train line, a 10 min stroll from JR Hamamatsucho railway line, or a shuttle bus also from Hamamatsucho.

Staff are extremely attentive and helpful, and were a big help when I inadvertently left my headphones at the hotel after I had checked-out!

The hotel is a little bit dated, but still extremely comfortable, and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLongestHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    490
    142
    32
    16
See reviews for
270
327
93
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

You get everything you expect from a hotel at this level. The staff are excellent and you are really close to the city and the main stations to travel around. It's also very close to the fish market (about a 30 min walk or about 10 bucks in a taxi) the rooms are good but not superb hence my 4 star rating

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LPandHowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Love the view from the room, Tokyo Bay. Easy access to go around by JR, Mono Rail, and any other public transport.
Getting on monorail from Haneda Airport is very easy. Get off at World Trade Center, and take hotel shuttle bus for a very short ride, particularly if we bring suitcase. In fact, a very short walk to hotel from bus terminal beneath WTC Tokyo.

Special thanks to Ms. Kara, for helping me the hassle printing Disneyland ticket in such a rush.

Love the hotel people, love the hotel products.

Perhaps the owner of this hotel might re-consider the chair at working desk. It is not comfortable for long seating. I work hard also from this beautiful room of Intercontinental Tokyo Bay.

We follow a suggestion from front desk people to spent one evening in Odaiba area, a short ride on mono rail.
A nice walk in Odaiba and its surrounding for shopping and meals time.

To reach Narita Airport, we took a bus which is arranged and booked through hotel concierge.
It is very much well organized, including tagging our suitcases.
Every thing is almost punctual here in Japan.

We will come back in the future to Intercontinental Tokyo Bay, another truly Japanese hospitality, InterContinental way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanafi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Spent two nights with a baby girl

the good
- Location of the hotel: 10mins walking from the station, 2 mins from the monorail, 15mins from the Sydney tower (close view only, not the entrance). But not as convenient as other hotels. Shuttle bus is useful when it is raining. otherwise, it is fine walking
- close to the fishmarket (need to get the metro)
- view of the bay from the room and the bathroom. Very pretty at night time and very romantic from the bath tub. DO book the bay view
- Comfy bed for adults, but basic baby cot mattress (compared to other intercontinental and Crowne Plaza)
- Quiet
- Free Internet

not so good
- the hotel is nice, but showing his age. It is not at the same level as the Springs (not the same price either)

Don't take me wrong, it is a nice hotel, but not as good as the Springs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear axelgfrsyd,

Thank you for writing a detailed review following your recent stay. It was a pleasure having your family stay at our hotel, and we are very glad that you liked our location, the amenities, and the bay view from your room. As a valued guest, we appreciate all the feedback we receive and we certainly welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Portugal, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice standard 5 star hotel for business travelers, not a cheap option and I was expecting more.
My room was large, clean, and comfortable with a great view but no complimentary water !
Internet connection was fast and stable.
Good breakfast buffet but nothing fabulous.
On the 36th floor they have a beautiful bar overlooking Tokyo.
There are very cheap and delicious restaurants nearby but the hotel location is far from exciting nightlife and shopping malls.
The nearest metro station is 3 minutes’ walk.
Haneda airport is located +/- 20 minutes from the hotel. They provide the direct airport bus limousine service to Narida (+/- 70km).
The staff were very friendly, they speak good English.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a stunning hotel, with large rooms and beautiful views of the bay. You get the feeling that you are away from Tokyo, but still a short subway ride to most locations. (It was walking distance to many of the sites we wanted to see.)
The staff were extremely helpful; checkin was flawless and quick, and the complimentary breakfast had a wide variety of food and good service. (It does get busy and there can be a wait at certain times - so a little early or later is advisable to avoid a wait.)
Our room was always spotless, and when we wanted a cab one was always available, and the concierge was very helpful with suggestions and recommendations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Hotlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
346 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed here for the last two night of a long tour through Japan. I had already visited Tokyo at the beginning of the trip, so I didn't mind being a bit off the beaten path. Even so, it is easy enough to take the train into downtown or the monorail to Odaiba's various malls and entertainment venues. I really liked being on the waterfront rather than in the middle of a bunch of other highrises downtown. However, if you are primarily in town to see the tourist sites, you're probably better off elsewhere.

The main reason I chose this particular InterContinental is that it takes way less reward points for a free night, so I was able to stay both nights for free. Can't beat that in Tokyo! Even though I didn't pay for the room, they still let me check in at 12:30PM and I was upgraded to a Rainbow Bridge view. I assume all of that was because of my Platinum status, but I never expected it when using points to pay.

The lobby and restaurants have been upgraded recently and all of the public areas look brand new and very upscale. Even so, the hotel doesn't feel stuffy or impersonal at all. The staff was amazing, especially the bellman who helped us with our bags when we arrived. When we had problems connecting to the internet in the room, they sent him up to try to fix it (because he spoke English). We did eventually get it to connect, but there seems to be some sort of issue with it because many people were complaining about it. When it connected, it was fine and there was no charge.

Be sure to book a bay view. It is spectacular during the day and absolutely amazing at night. The room was a bit dated and the carpet needed to be replaced, but I think the rooms are next on the upgrade plan. If they aren't, they should be. However, they will probably raise the prices after that and they aren't bad at all, just a bit worn. The room was clean and everything worked. The bathroom was very nice and had all sorts of amenities next to the huge bathtub and another set for the shower. The two queen beds in the room were very plush and a welcome change from the rock-hard Japanese beds we had encountered elsewhere.

Beware of the price of the buffet in the hotel! The prices aren't evident anywhere obvious...actually, I never did see them listed anywhere. The dinner buffet at Chef's Live Kitchen was very good and had a nice selection of freshly made dishes, but the price was a whopping $75 per person! That's ridiculous even for Tokyo. The breakfast buffet was a more reasonable $35. Not that it was worth that much, but that's about what I expect to pay in a hotel like this. Service was always very attentive and polite. There is a fancy pastry shop in the lobby, plus a couple of expensive table-service restaurants.

There isn't much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. There is a two story mall next door with a handful of restaurants, but that's about it. However, you can take easily walk to the monorail and take it to Shimbashi station to find hundreds of restaurants and shops. Or, go to Odaiba and you'll find several huge malls, entertainment options and many restaurants. The hotel offers a shuttle to the nearest JR station if you don't want to bother with the short monorail ride to Shimbashi.

Under the same circumstances, I would definitely choose this hotel again. If they raise the prices after the rooms are re-done to match the other two InterContinentals in Tokyo, then I would probably choose one of those instead or a different brand altogether. But, as it is right now, this hotel is an amazing value.

Room Tip: Book a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 105 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,582 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
#12 of 105 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Property: InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#13 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#13 Family Hotel in Minato
#17 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, IHG, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing