We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, but the limited free wifi is a bummer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Ranked #12 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, but the limited free wifi is a bummer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The first thing that struck me about the hotel room was the beautiful view of the bay. The room is smaller than rooms in other countries, but I understand that it's pretty good for Tokyo.

The room was comfortable and clean, but they only provided free wifi for 1 day. Another observation was that there is no iron in the room. Service staff were polite. The breakfast was slightly pricey for the variety.

The location of the hotel is within walking distance from 2 train stations and 1 monorail station, and about 45 minutes by cab from Haneda airport.The World Trade tower is also within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrisVivienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    522
    147
    32
    17
See reviews for
292
355
97
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Meets or exceeds the standards one expects from InterContinental, but had a price to match. Ahead of our arrival we requested and received upon check-in a room with a view of the bay. Bonus...view included the Tokyo Tower as well. The lunch buffet is awesome. Not much in the neighborhood, but taxis are ready at the front door and the metro stop is a short walk away. Waterfront location provided a nice place for a stroll.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had two days here as part of a business trip and this place exceeded my expectations. Being a platinum IHG member my room was upgraded and i had a very large corner room with a stunning bathroom - the bath overlooking Tokyo Bay.

Check-in was extremely smooth and my bags were delivered to my room quickly. The rooms are very well equipped with a good sized TV, coffee making, slippers, robes, a bathroom full of goodies, more towels than you could use in a week and the ubiquitous heated toilet seat.

The bed was massive and very, very comfortable.

I travel to Japan quite a lot, and although I don't often stay in Tokyo, this hotel would be very high on my list for the future.

There is a shuttle bus that will take you to the nearby Hamamatsucho Station, or it's a simple 10 minute walk. At the end of the little street that the hotel is is, there is a station for the monorail system too.

Room Tip: Ask very nicely to get one with a bathroom overlooking the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was my first stay at the IC Tokyo Bay but my partner has used this hotel on other occasions.

First impressions are very good, nice welcome from the porter and the receptionist and a nice lobby area to the left as you enter which I believe has not that long been refurbished.

Upon check in, yet again a reminder had to be given to the reception regarding upgrade being a Platinum member and not automatically given (same as the other stays with this IC). So after that being sorted we were upgraded to the Executive floor, which a very pleasant porter showed us to our room (Note for these floors and the Club floors access is only with room key in the lift).

We had a newly refurbished room with a wonderful view of the river, the lightness of the furniture which is a light grey/dark cream, white standing lights (?) gave the room a very light and airy feel. The soft furnishings (purple/silver) and wall paper are a bit ‘bling ’and with some scary hideous black/white/grey flowered wallpaper was certainly not to my taste. I did notice although the furnishings look the same at first they are all different colours and styles looks like the older furniture has been painted to match the new table/chairs/bedhead. And the bed valence is from the older rooms (green/gold) which really makes the room look like a bit of a half baked refurbishment. However there was a sofa in a very luxurious fabric (stained, oh dear) to match the excellent blackout curtains. Room also had the usual safe, gowns/PJ’s/slippers lots of hanging space but no closet light which as I thought the lighting in the room was pretty poor would have been helpful. The air con worked well, however you can open the window which I always like.

A nice touch is a coffee machine, but rather tight giving you just 2 cartridges a day then have to buy them at 300yen each which are kept in the mini bar. But at least it was a normal fridge (and to put the complimentary bottled water) and not an automatic mini bar so space to put your own things. There is also a family mart next to the hotel which is handy


Bathroom was of a good size, corner shower with great pressure, all singing toilet, deep bath lots of mirrors, but no shaving mirror, again poor lighting but one ceiling light out. (next day 2 lights out, did not notice til very late to report it) But IC please do something about the cheap and nasty toiletries in the bathroom they were truly awful , Made in China by an American company I have never heard of that smelt of cheap washing up liquid and just as bad to use. I expect a hotel of this standard to provide better quality and in the case of the Exec floor as in other IC hotels we have stayed in even more choice and premium brands. However the bathroom was spotless with more than enough excellent white fluffy towels each day (4 large) and a hairdryer which was full size.

The bed must get a mention on its own.....apparently they use a different bedding for these floors and above and you can tell, the beds themselves were excellent (firm) and the pillows were superb to say the least as was the quilt and all the linen were pristine, excellent excellent! May not make it up there with the Shangri-la in Hong Kong but not that far off.

As far as staff go, the limited interaction I had apart from the porter was mixed. The concierge was so so and one guy (who I think was in charge) ignored me as he clearly thought it was not his job to answer a basic question (after me talking to him), not once but twice and left me to wait for a girl who came over from the front desk whilst he just went and stood behind me (and yes he could speak English). Upon arriving later on 2 nights of our stay (around 11) in a taxi there was not anybody about in the foyer or a doorman this I find odd again in a hotel of this class. We did not eat or use any other facilities in the hotel but wished we had had time to go to the rooftop bar

If you can get a good price for your stay I say its well worth it (esp to get points), others may find the position of the hotel out of the way, but the Takeshiba monorail Station is right outside and you can walk to the train station in less that 10 mins or use the hotels shuttle bus (Bus stop No 5 at the bus terminal at Hamamatsu-cho station limited times). Would I stay here again, yes I would but would bring other toiletries and check the wallpaper, but the temptation of the fantastic bed and view would do it for me...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Englandsscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Still a nice hotel with nice rooms, good location if you wanna go to Tokyo Big Sight (easy to access by train).
But...
I was here two years ago for the last time, and at that time it was way better.
2 years ago, the breakfast was a highlight, was served at lobby level in a spacious breakfast area.
Choice and quality were outstanding.
Unluckily they changed that.
Breakfast is now being served at 3rd floo, in a much smaller area.
At peaktims it´s totally overcrowded.
The choice is very limited now, long queue for fresh egg dishes.
One has to get the coffee at a coffee machine oneself, it is not being served at the table.
Therefore, the breakfast is totally overpriced (3,500 Yen), and it does not meet the standard that an Intercontinentalk should have.

Apart from that, I wanted to use the business centre...

And I had to find out, that it consists of a few computers, put on some small corner of the lobby level along with a printer.
That has nothing to do with a serviced business centre as I would excpect it in such a hotel.
When I was asking fo a scanner they just shook their heads.
nad I had to ask the concierge, as the business centre is not serviced.

So in general it could be a great hotel, if they would raise the standard of the services that you expect from an Intercontinenal Hotel.

If that doesn´t change, I would think about staying elsewhere next time...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eventtectraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Eventtectraveler,

Thank you for advising us of your dissatisfaction towards our amenities and service. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. I understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Our management has taken note of this and proper action has been taken to ensure that situations of this nature will not reoccur in the future. Again, thank you for all your comments which help us identify areas of improvement. We hope to welcome you back to be able to demonstrate to you the true InterContinental service.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

As a Golf Member of IHG Club, i did not feel it when i stayed at Intercon Tokyo Bay. The room is smaller than other Intercons. No complimentary bottled water (not sure if tap water is okay). Concierge did not assist to carry our luggage to our hotel room. Staff at the counter is not proficient in English when we arrived, but when we checked out the lady who assisted is more proficient in English - remember this is a business hotel. TV channels are all in Japanese and limited, no CNN or BBC or Bloomberg. We were not informed that there is a shuttle bus plying from hotel to a main train station (we learned only on our last day of stay). No available transformers for our electronic gadgets (from 110 to 220), we were given a European transformer which we cannot use. We choose this hotel because it is an IHG hotel and because of the location - quiet and after a long day touring Tokyo, we can relax. The only thing best is teh fast WIFI.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinoy_fahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear pinoy_fahrer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
日本
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Smart, comfortable,,,, but a bit elegance touches ,,,, for staying with relaxations,,,..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank さくらんぼsakuranbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Property: InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#13 Family Hotel in Minato
#17 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing