We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fair enough, but did not exceed my expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Ranked #12 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fair enough, but did not exceed my expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Intercontinental Tokyo Bay for 2 nights and it was fair enough. The hotel is close to the Hamamasutcho JR station and they also offer a free shuttle service to and from the hotel.

The check in was quick and the bell boys are so polite and helpful. On the other hand, i got dissapointed with the front desk check in lady. She sounded rigid and inconsiderate. I complained because the welcome fruits for the ambassador members were chopped and was not prepared neatly (i will upload a photo) she said that it varies from hotel to hotel and they can't offer me anything else. What a dead end answer. The rooms were spacious but the furniture were outdated. They charged 3 types of taxes other than the room rate after i checked out and the other hotel within the city (intercontinental tokyo ANA) doesn't have these taxes. The fitness center are 2 adjacent rooms with running equipment. Thats it. Overall, what i liked about the hotel are the bell boys and the cleaning lady who are polite. The views of tokyo bay is commendable as well

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunkissedguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sunkissedguy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are truly delighted you found the level of service received from our bell boys and our housekeeping staff, highly commendable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our front office team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements to our service to ensure guests do not experience this in the future.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback and hope that you will consider us again on your next travel to Tokyo.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    522
    147
    32
    17
See reviews for
292
356
97
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

All in all, good value for money.
Very friendly and client responsive staff downstairs. Rooms a bit dated and stuffy but still ok. If you are allergic to dust stay away. Carpets and lots of dust everywhere....

My main issue was breakfast. People in breakfast area unfriendly. Half of the trays were empty, not filled in time. The person at the egg station was very rude. He finally made me an omelette but did never bring it... A number of things ran out but got never refreshed. Even the Asian corner was very poor... And then the coffee. You have to get it yourself using a machine like in a petrol station... Definitely not intercontinental worthy.... I mentioned my issues with breakfast at reception but the lady looked at me and did not take any action.... It always baffles me that reception staff ask at check out whether you had enjoyed your stay. If you respond with no, they just continue and do nothing with that information... It is like that they have become suddenly deaf or that there is no procedure in case the customer is not happy....

Room Tip: Rooms with harbour view are nice but not a must....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globe_trot_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Globe_trot_traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Where to start really:

Firstly I stay in many Intercontinental Hotels throughout the world, so this isn't an isolated review.
Secondly I'm an Ambassador member so you can guess the number of nights I stay in hotels around the world.

As an Ambassador member you are supposedly guaranteed an upgrade, we'll not at the Tokyo Bay it would seem. On arrival I was told they had discounted my rate (and not by much) rather than give me an upgrade,

Then the food available in the hotel is, no other word for it "poor". After being out in company a few nights I just wanted a quite light meal before settling down. The hotel has recently refurbished its restaurant offerings, but sad to say they have not improved and offer a range of so called fine dining. But try and get a selection of Sushi or sashimi in this hotel, you have a better chance of taking your own fishing line and throwing it in the bay.

Also only had one drink in the hotel 900yen, £8, $12 for a very small coke!!

I stay here for work, if I had a choice I would stay somewhere else, suggest you do to.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulAblenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear PaulAblenet,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent service, great breakfast, close to the monorail and subway. I had dinner at the Teppanyaki TAKUMI, top 5 meals ever!!! Chef Hitoshi Taguchi's detail to service and quality can't be matched. The steak was great!!!

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elchegu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
237 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here on points.

Value:
Great! While other Intercontinental hotels in Tokyo/Yokohama require more points, this one only charged IHG Rewards Club 35,000 points for a night.

Interior Decor:
High class standard. Luxurious in design, taste and perception.

Exterior Appearance:
High class hotel by Tokyo Bay in the middle of the city.

View from the room I stayed:
Tokyo Bay.

Noise insulation:
Excellent

Room Size:
Very reasonable

Bed:
Soft and comfortable

Bathroom:
Luxurious

Services:
Professionally trained staffs - polite and courteous

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank setotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuo, Japan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

From the stayed room ,The bay bridge shining ormpic color and another window gave us the Tokyo Tower Which has also ormpic irumination. Feel so fantastic night !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Staff friendly, late night room service (great for late arrivals) open until 0100. Recognition for IHG members. Clean, spacious, lovely rooms. Late nite snack was the chicken fingers and fries. Hot and delicious. Would book again and again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank NavyTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Property: InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#12 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#13 Family Hotel in Minato
#17 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, IHG and Cheap Tickets so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing