We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always feel disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Northern ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always feel disappointed”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Where to start really:

Firstly I stay in many Intercontinental Hotels throughout the world, so this isn't an isolated review.
Secondly I'm an Ambassador member so you can guess the number of nights I stay in hotels around the world.

As an Ambassador member you are supposedly guaranteed an upgrade, we'll not at the Tokyo Bay it would seem. On arrival I was told they had discounted my rate (and not by much) rather than give me an upgrade,

Then the food available in the hotel is, no other word for it "poor". After being out in company a few nights I just wanted a quite light meal before settling down. The hotel has recently refurbished its restaurant offerings, but sad to say they have not improved and offer a range of so called fine dining. But try and get a selection of Sushi or sashimi in this hotel, you have a better chance of taking your own fishing line and throwing it in the bay.

Also only had one drink in the hotel 900yen, £8, $12 for a very small coke!!

I stay here for work, if I had a choice I would stay somewhere else, suggest you do to.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulAblenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear PaulAblenet,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    571
    168
    35
    19
See reviews for
328
399
111
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
nc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent service, great breakfast, close to the monorail and subway. I had dinner at the Teppanyaki TAKUMI, top 5 meals ever!!! Chef Hitoshi Taguchi's detail to service and quality can't be matched. The steak was great!!!

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elchegu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
251 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here on points.

Value:
Great! While other Intercontinental hotels in Tokyo/Yokohama require more points, this one only charged IHG Rewards Club 35,000 points for a night.

Interior Decor:
High class standard. Luxurious in design, taste and perception.

Exterior Appearance:
High class hotel by Tokyo Bay in the middle of the city.

View from the room I stayed:
Tokyo Bay.

Noise insulation:
Excellent

Room Size:
Very reasonable

Bed:
Soft and comfortable

Bathroom:
Luxurious

Services:
Professionally trained staffs - polite and courteous

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank setotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuo, Japan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

From the stayed room ,The bay bridge shining ormpic color and another window gave us the Tokyo Tower Which has also ormpic irumination. Feel so fantastic night !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Staff friendly, late night room service (great for late arrivals) open until 0100. Recognition for IHG members. Clean, spacious, lovely rooms. Late nite snack was the chicken fingers and fries. Hot and delicious. Would book again and again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank NavyTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel at the end of August for 2 nights with my father and found it as the best choice for Tokyo (stayed also later in the ANA Intercontinental which is if you're a Royal Ambassador not that rewarding).
The Hotel is located a bit outside, just at Tokyo Bay, but easy to reach with the Yurikamome Line for station Takeshiba (just within 1 minute walk from the station). There is a Family Markt store just opposite the street so if you fancy not eating in the hotel, this can also be done easily.
Upon arriving in the evening is was greeted by staff and immediately escorted to the designated Ambassador checkin. The kind recepcionist explained which benefits I will receive (since I hold the Royal Ambassador status), theese include complementary upgrade to a nice corner room on the top with view over Tokyo Bay from the bathroom and view over Tokyo Skytree from the room. Also received complementary minibar usage (including alcoholic drinks and snacks) and free wifi.
I asked at checkin whether the usage of Club Lounge is included but the recepcionist said no, generally not, but he will ask the manager. After a few seconds on the phone he told me that the usage of the club lounge was included aswell (great surprise and kind gesture - by the way I find this as a nonsense that although the same hotelchain throughout the world, every hotel has its different policy in this). I have to say I was very greatful to get lounge access since the view and the service provided was fabulous and the staff was always kind and polite.
The room was besides the view also very modern and kept in a very well condition.
All in all despite the bit outside (but for me easy to reach) location I would if returning again to Tokyo definetly choose this hotel (haven't been to the ANA Strings and will defintely never ever go to the ANA Intercontinental).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Laszlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed for just under 2 weeks here and had a good experience. The room was a regular bay view room which was a good size and had a really good sized desk to work at. There was both wired and wifi connections available and was included in the room rate (very welcome, as I hate hotels that charge extra for this). The TV had both local and satellite channels, so could get english language channels ok. Laundry service was fast and reasonable priced, but there was no in-room iron (I'm sure they could have supplied one if I'd asked). Room service was excellent, very high quality food, speedy delivery and helpful staff (particularly the salmon ring on rice). The location of the hotel is a primary benefit of this hotel, great views of the bay and a short walk to the Hamamatsuchō station (7 mins max) and the world trade centre. There is a cool new bar too, I think called Manhattan which also has great bay views. The price of the room was quite expensive, but on looking around, this seems normal for Tokyo business hotels - next time I'd shop around earlier for best value rates and would consider pre-pay rates to take the edge of the cost. A minor criticism is the check-in time of 3pm. A lot of visitors from Europe arrive early in the morning, so an option to check-in early would be welcome - maybe an option on the website at time of booking? I would not mind paying extra for this option. Lots of guests were sitting around reception waiting for 3pm and then it was a race to the desk. Overall very good hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Bay view is really nice to wake up to and interesting at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali_Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 110 in Minato
3,076 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
#11 of 110 in Minato
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Property: InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#13 Family Hotel in Minato
#17 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing