We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, western-style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It's hard to argue with the convenience of the hotel, being across the street from Shinagawa Station. It's also a stop location for the Airport Limousine Bus, if the Narita Express isn't your thing. Within my two-week stay in Japan, I was here for my last two nights before departure in mid-August. As others have noted, check-in times are quite strict. I was lucky in having help from a clerk who did move my time up to 2pm, which was sufficient in my case. More flexibility in this would be welcome on a general level.

There are amenities and conveniences in the area, though I didn't get to check them all. There is a large area for shopping on the far side of the station that I didn't find my first day and a half, but I was still sight-seeing. One needn't worry about being able to find something nearby to fill a need.

The hotel itself is nice enough, given its age and recent refurbishment. It was the largest room I had in Japan by far with some nice views. I could see both the Tokyo Tower and Tokyo Skytree from my window (depending on clarity), and it's only two train stops to the one nearest Tokyo Tower, and another one beyond to get to the Imperial Palace. A surprising bit of quality appeared in the form of Noritake china being used for the in-room coffee/tea service.

I'm not sure why I didn't give it the fourth star, but it doesn't quite seem right. I would whole-heartedly give 3.5 on this scale. The staff were friendly and helpful, and a good cross-section of them spoke at least some helpful English. There were several dining options within the hotel, though I only tried two. My big complaint ther was that the hostess didn't check in my direction enough, and the patio (at TGI Friday's) was loud enough that no ordinary "sumimasen" could be heard. The restaurant at which I ate a lunch and a breakfast provided good food and a nice garden view. If you go for the breakfast buffet, try to go before 9:15am; it fills up rapidly after then.

Overall, though, I would recommend this hotel, especially to westerners travelling as a group or a family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
There are newer reviews for Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 996 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Check in time at 15:00, which is not very convenient when you arrive there in the early morning after 15 hours plane trip. They are not flexible at all. Check out time at 10:00. Wonder why they need 5 hours to clean the room.
The rooms are just fine nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dani_197588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Conveniently located; yes. Tokyo is so vast so whereever you choose to stay you're always far from something. But having a major train station within 3 minutes walk makes life a lot easier.
The hotel is a typical 3 star hotel, could use a pimping, clean&tidy without the extra excess.

There's a bunch of restaurants in the hotel, amongst others there's a "Fridays" (US Chain) that serves Euro/US food (burgers, meat etc), so you don't have to walk far to get a decent meal.
Across the street there's a small shopping mall with some additional restaurants as well.
The rest of the area offers little of interest, but that at least serves for a good night sleep.

The hotel was close to our office, so for us the location was great. If I was going to Tokyo with leisure in mind I would probably choose another district (closed to Akibara, Shinjiku etc).

Breakfast was quite crappy. Basically only Japanese food (which is in no way close to US/Euro breakfast food) and not very good either. I wouldn't have paid for it if it would have been a private trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floatpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This huge hotel is located right next to Shinagawa station. Very convenient. It exist in the building complex called Shinagawa Goos. There are lots of restaurants, bards and shopping within the building as well as all around the station.

The room was clean with a big window looking outside. Checkout was extremely easy. If you do not need to talk to receptionist put the card in at the machine and the job is done in a minute!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank triggfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I just got back from staying at this hotel for 4 nights. The location is awesome! Just a few minute walk from the Takanawa exit of Shinagawa station. The rooms are clean with a good variety of amenites (toothbrush, haribrush, even a bath scrub, something I usually bring from home, etc.) I love how the shampoo / conditioner / soap are Shiseido and not some generic brand that doesn't even foam.

We ate at their breakfast buffet almost every day.The restaurant is clean, with great food! The view is a very pretty garden.

There is a small convenient store on the 2nd floor which is open from 6am which was great when I needed a cooling sheet for my sick dauighter and didn't want to walk outside in the cold weather. There is a coin laundry with a microwave oven and vending machine on all the even numbered floors which was a big plus!!

The only thing I was surprised was that they didn't have an outgoing mailbox. I always rent a cell phone when I go on trips and drop it off at the Front desk of the hotel and they will send it out for me (postage is on the package already so I'm not asking for stamps.) I was told there is not post box in the hotel, but the guest service girl kindly offered to drop it off for me on her own time.

The price is reasoable, a supermarket, department store, restaurants, all in walking distance of the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alohapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great hotel with very nice, clean rooms (with coffee/tea making facilities), friendly staff, super location 2 min. from the station (with direct train to Narita airport), internet access, good and affordable restaurant - only minus are the pillows, but you can ask for a normal pillow at the reception. I would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johansen1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this location and cannot say enough about how good it was. We flew in from Hong Kong late and were able to connect via the airport limousine bus directly to the hotel at Narita ( we did not need to carry our several bags). After a great night in the hotel we left some baggage with the bell captain and connected easily by the Keiku line to Haneda airport where we departed for a 5 day trip to Shikoku. Because the hotel is across from Shinagawa station it was quick, convenient and inexpensive. We returned for 4 nights and were reunited with our luggage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this renovated hotel and found it to be an excellent location as we had need to be in Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Shinjuku, Asakasa and Asakusa over the remaining days. The staff were great, the rooms at the upper end (we were on 26) are larger than average and we intend to stay at this location when we return.
This is such a calm oasis compared with the Prince Hotel conglomerate across the street.

Room Tip: By a Suica or a Pasmo card at thefirst station you enter and use for all of your ground transportati...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
#58 of 112 in Minato
157 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Tobu Hotel
Shinagawa Tobu Hotel
#65 of 112 in Minato
31 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae

Address: 3-13-3 Takanawa, Minato 108-0074, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Minato
#23 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $102 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 935
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keikyu Ex Inn Shinagawa Ekimae Hotel Minato
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing