We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid sushi”

Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch
Ranked #7 of 10,879 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good solid sushi”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I came here because we are staying at a hotel 5 minutes away. Good solid sushi...I would not go overboard on heaping praises but it was fresh, cheap, and nicely prepared. The service was ok. It was a bit busy because it was lunch time. The restaurant is located on the second floor of the atrium which is adjacent to the main building.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SixpackDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    69
    16
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious at a very affordable price”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Came here after reading the very helpful reviews. Getting off at Akasaka station on the Chiyoda line leads you right into the Biz tower. Checking the restaurant board, we found the restaurant's name in Kangei/Chinese characters so we found the restaurant easily on the 2nd floor. The line outside could have told us we were at the right place though. We signed our name on the waiting list and had a short wait despite it being 1pm on a Thursday. We sat at the sushi counter and our order was taken by the sushi chef himself! We ordered two lunch specials then an order of California roll and another order of the Norway roll (total around 4,360 yen! Great deal!) Everything was fresh and the maki rolls were quite big. My boyfriend had wanted to order eight pieces of each type of maki roll, but the sushi chef wisely only made four of each. He gestured to us that we would be too full and he was right! What great service!

Helpful?
Thank sfansfan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I followed rule 1 for picking a restaurant in a foreign country which is go where you see the most locals. I tried the tuna platter which came with eight large pieces of tuna sushi, miso soup, and an appetizer. The wait was about 15 minutes at 530 PM on a Saturday. It was the best sushi I've ever had. Service was excellent despite the language barrier.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnTSanAntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“simply the best”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

the only sushi experience I've had that was better than Umegaoka was at the Tsukiji fish market itself -- Umegaoka is simply excellent - the sushi is freshest of the fresh, you get plenty of it and the proof is in the lines which start getting long around 7pm every night -- if you're in the Akasaka area, there's no better place to go for amazing sushi -and other dishes - they also have reasonably priced lunch specials -- it's my go-to sushi restaurant whenever possible. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dr973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived there at 7p.m. with no resarvation.We waited only 10 minutes.You have to write your name at waiting list,just in front of entrance.Otherwise nobody tells you to do .İt was quiet difficult to find it.Restaurant is on the 2th floor of Akasaka Biz Tower,follow that exit from metro.There is no English signposts outside.After all this,sushi was fresh,tasty and just perfect. It cost 35usd for 2.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haticeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch also viewed

 

Been to Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing