We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Udon in Rappongi”

Tsurutontan Roppongi
Ranked #22 of 10,915 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Udon in Rappongi”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Upon arrival on a Sunday night, we dropped in on the recommendation of a friend and the hotel concierge. Write your name on the list when you walk in, then browse the menu while you wait. The menu has photos and an English menu is also available. That "Matsutake no Udon" was particularly good, as they're in-season in the Autumn. There's nothing like some hot udon after a long flight!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimNader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    139
    39
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good place to eat in the heart of Roppongi”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Japan and while we had great food throughout our trip we had one of the best meals here. Great food and a nice relaxed atmosphere. Pop in put your name on the lsit and wait if there is a queue, well worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevesh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Udon for life”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place was referred by a friend who has just visited Tokyo. First thing you need to know visiting this place is to expect to be put on a waiting list specially if you go during the weekend. In the same time, the place is managed with excellence!! The way the staff manages the waiting list & the whole restaurant is impressive.
Ask them for the Japanese style tables, they are so cool. Also the setup by the bar is awesome. The kitchen is a big open one in the middle of the restaurant & the operation is immaculate.
Coming to the important part, the food :) The Udon is great & the portions are humongous. My favorite most delicious plate was the shrimp & vegetables tempura..DO NOT MISS IT.
During our stay in Tokyo, we have been to this place more than once, loved it :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinahsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“the best udon”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

To me... the best Udon ever...
I have eaten at Tsurutontan many times... Udon noodles are delicious and the restaurant is nice too, with a big open kitchen.

Good value and good food in the center of Roppongi.

It's always super crowded... you might be in a line for more than 30 minutes... but it's worth it !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GianPaolo_Mil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best Damn Milk Udon.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Anyone going to Tokyo anytime soon? If you are, this restaurant is a must. My friend and I happened to stumble upon this udon restaurant without meaning to and it just so happens that it was in her travel guide labeled "Do not leave Tokyo without trying their udon!". Needless to say, we were pretty lucky. Both of us are milk udon fanatics so we both ordered one. I chose the Scallop Milk Udon (12,000 Yen/ ~$14 CAD) and when it first arrived, it was both spectacular and underwhelming at the same time. The bowl and spoon/ladle were ENORMOUS, yet the milk udon looked so plain with a barely there sprinkle of parsley.When the blah-looking udon hit my tastebuds, I was in heaven.

I wrote a full blog post on this restaurant at: http://www.eatingwithkirby.com/2013/07/tsurutontan-roppongi-tokyo-best-damn.html

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EatingwithKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsurutontan Roppongi also viewed

 

Been to Tsurutontan Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing