We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Merits the steep price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mon cher ton ton Roppongi

Mon cher ton ton Roppongi
Ranked #29 of 10,513 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Merits the steep price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

As many of the other reviews state: the price is no joke. That said, I believe it to be worth every cent. Do not come here expecting a bargain or on a shoestring budget.
Simply put, this was possibly the most delicious teppanyaki steak dinner I have ever experienced. We were a group of 6, ordered 4 mixed sets but ended up ordering 2 more orders of beef after the first round. All of the seafood was great, scallops, lobsters, caviar, all fantastic. But it is truly all about the beef and the foie gras here. That alone was worth the price of admission. Buckle up and pay the price, but be prepared to be blown away. This place is awesome. Nice atmosphere and even better food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stingray1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    19
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth Every Cent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

On our last night in Tokyo we decided to go for a very special dinner. This was the perfect place. It is truly a wonderful experience. From the moment you are greeted at the door, you are made to feel special. The chef was entertaining and the food was absolutely delicious. The highlight was definitely the Kobe beef. Mouthwatering. We chose the Special Menu of the day with the Kobe beef. The wine list is the best one we have seen in a long time. When we are back in Tokyo, we will definitely go back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lslawrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An amazing beef dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Great food with a side of the dramatic presentation of teppanyaki. The beef was beautifully and cooked to medium-rare pink tender mouthwatering perfection. The bonito carpaccio was also lovely. The scallops are plump and flavorful. Be prepared to leave very full and very happy.

Helpful?
Thank LeslieTeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great teppanyaki and kobe beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The Kobe beef was just as delicious as I imagined. The sashimi and scallop as well. The anchovy butter that accompagnied the scallop was heavenly.

The service and wine was also excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Hammerwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Teppanyaki with no drama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is how it should be done...good food very well cooked and presented. None of the showmanship of US "equivalents". Not cheap but worth it for important dinner meetings. I have used it a number of times to thank local staff for great performance. A very well recognized place by locals for over 50 years, just the invitation to dinner here makes locals happy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank N W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mon cher ton ton Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing