We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gourmet food with garden settings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai

Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai
Ranked #1 of 10,528 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $56 - $132
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Torrance, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Gourmet food with garden settings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Course after course of beautiful and delicious gourmet kaiseki dining with beautiful views of a classic Japanese garden and beautiful Koi.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    194
    38
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Marvelous garden, meals and building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We tried for a lunch. Meals and service are very nice.
Enjoyed a little tour of the building when we arrived and
a walk in a traditional Japanese garden after the meal.
So peaceful right in the middle of Tokyo.
Will definitely try it again and would recommend
especially to overseas visitors.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional Japan is still in the center of Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Just at the corner of Tokyo tower, you will be able to time slip approximately 100years.
Wonderful surrounding, yummy dinner we enjoyed. We felt as we were inside of Samurai movie.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha-Kaihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“best place with Tokyo Tower view and Japanese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants that I've been in Japan. Their most famous dish is Tofu, however, their traditional Japanese set was all so yummy. You can feel the difference when you enter the restaurant from entrance, a whole team of staff welcomed you and with this first class service, you feel you're the most VIP there. Traditional Japanese garden, and Tokyo view is just at the back of the restaurant. This is the best place to enjoy food and view and atmostphere and feels like VIP. :)
The private rooms are all 'tatami' rooms.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aomori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Traveled in Japan near the end of March, 2014. We met fellow tourists that suggested we try the Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai. They were impressed with the gardens, food and presentation. Their impression was justified on all counts. The fact that we booked at the height of the cherry blossom season only added to the "theatre of dinning" as mentioned by a previous contributor.

Notably, one of our party required a gluten free menu and the restaurant accommodated that individual in a very satisfactory fashion.

Bottom line: Would I go there again if the opportunity arose? Without question!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ComfortWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing