We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gourmet food with garden settings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai

Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai
Ranked #1 of 10,627 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $117
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Torrance, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Gourmet food with garden settings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Course after course of beautiful and delicious gourmet kaiseki dining with beautiful views of a classic Japanese garden and beautiful Koi.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    209
    38
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Marvelous garden, meals and building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We tried for a lunch. Meals and service are very nice.
Enjoyed a little tour of the building when we arrived and
a walk in a traditional Japanese garden after the meal.
So peaceful right in the middle of Tokyo.
Will definitely try it again and would recommend
especially to overseas visitors.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional Japan is still in the center of Tokyo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Just at the corner of Tokyo tower, you will be able to time slip approximately 100years.
Wonderful surrounding, yummy dinner we enjoyed. We felt as we were inside of Samurai movie.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha-Kaihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
190 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“best place with Tokyo Tower view and Japanese cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants that I've been in Japan. Their most famous dish is Tofu, however, their traditional Japanese set was all so yummy. You can feel the difference when you enter the restaurant from entrance, a whole team of staff welcomed you and with this first class service, you feel you're the most VIP there. Traditional Japanese garden, and Tokyo view is just at the back of the restaurant. This is the best place to enjoy food and view and atmostphere and feels like VIP. :)
The private rooms are all 'tatami' rooms.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aomori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Traveled in Japan near the end of March, 2014. We met fellow tourists that suggested we try the Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai. They were impressed with the gardens, food and presentation. Their impression was justified on all counts. The fact that we booked at the height of the cherry blossom season only added to the "theatre of dinning" as mentioned by a previous contributor.

Notably, one of our party required a gluten free menu and the restaurant accommodated that individual in a very satisfactory fashion.

Bottom line: Would I go there again if the opportunity arose? Without question!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ComfortWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing