We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Will return.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon

L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon
Ranked #13 of 10,280 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $235 - $377
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Will return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Attentive and smart service. Well-chosen ingredients. The open kitchen dining concept enhances the dining experience. Reasonable prices. The restaurant deserves its Michelin rating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YubaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    81
    32
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expected a lot more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Being in Japan on vacation we wanted to go to a nice restaurants one of the last days of our stay. Considering this restaurant had Micheline stars it looked like a great option.

I must say if this restaurant had not had stars and the price it had it would gotten a rather higher score from me but I expect a lot more. I have been in Micheline star restaurants in Europe and they have all been a lot better.

The first thing that happened when we sat down was that we where handed 5! menus. I do not expect to have to juggle five menus for lunch at a restaurant of this class. All menus where is different languages also, some in french some in English.

The food was good but not as great as you can expect from a Micheline star restaurant.

Basically the experience was not worth the money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
620 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Might as well...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

It's all expensive, it's Tokyo. So, why not. This is truly a great restaurant. I enjoyed everything about it. I especially like sitting at the bar. Some places you would feel slighted, but not here. You can enjoy watching their process and creations. This would be top five for me all time meals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank george60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sit at the bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

As usual for us, we went for lunch, as while the menu is limited, it's generally cheaper and we're not rich people! We went for the prix fix at 4400 yen, or thereabouts. We had a great meal and experience, and I really enjoyed being able to watch the kitchen goings on. I do regret not having the tasting menu, and if I were going back I would do that.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pintxos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
658 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you can afford it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Quality ingredients. Excellent Service. New recipes. Top notch location. Exorbitant prices. This is what you will find here. Anyhow would return for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon also viewed

 

Been to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing