We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ippudo Roppongi

Ippudo Roppongi
Ranked #5 of 10,275 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I can't imagine a trip to Roppongi and not stopping into Ippudo. We live in the neighborhood, and eat here regularly - even after trying many other ramen places. It is clean, delicious, and the staff are so patient with our kids. (Not so common in Tokyo's tiny restaurants.) They offer their menu in Japanese and English - so its a great choice for those who don't speak Japanese. I highly, highly, highly recommend this place. And don't leave without trying the gyoza.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soy_latte_togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    56
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great ramen, very affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I've been to the Ippudo in the East Village in New York, but I liked this one better. The restaurant dining room is charming - in the back, you sit around one large table with perhaps 14 seats. But with beautiful plants in the middle, you don't feel like you're intruding with your neighbors.

Obviously the reason to come here is the ramen, and it's simply amazing. But even more thrilling is how affordable it is. The wait staff were all in a really good mood the night we were there, like all whistling while they worked.

One watch out is that it's cash only, but this is no problem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DougJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good and consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were introduced to this chain by a friend who loves the restaurant. Its a great standby restaurant for ramen and is great for families and friends. All seating is counter, so not condusive for conversation in a large groups. The menu concentrates on the Hakata style of ramen and is very tasty and a good value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tigger2lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Wandered into this establishment thanks to the Trip Advisor Tokyo app. The name isn't in English out front, so we used photos to determine which restaurant in the alley it was. The food was fantastic all around...the stir-fried bean sprouts and dumplings were exceptional, as was the house specialty - ramen. The price and quality of food are so out of sync, it is amazing...so inexpensive. Loved it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good ramen restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Ippudo make tasty ramen at a very good price. We tried the house ramen at their Ginza outlet and it was very tasty. Would recommend for a quick, inexpensive lunch.

Helpful?
Thank RestoRecords
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ippudo Roppongi also viewed

 

Been to Ippudo Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing