We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dining Experience”
Review of NARISAWA

NARISAWA
Ranked #4 of 10,880 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $108 - $180
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Perfect Dining Experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Call the Airlines or use those Miles but get to Tokyo to try this fabulous, inventive establishment. So creative and presented in a friendly manner. Flavors were exceptional and each course was exciting. Servers obviously love being part of the adventure. Numerous diners were taking photos of the many course as most looked like works of art. We found ourselves worried we would not be able to eat later courses but found we were tempted to lick our plates time and time again. The chefs tossed in some additional courses and would have kept providing desert if we didn't insist the meal was over. This is by far our best restaurant experience well out distancing some renowned meals in NY, Chicago, France and Italy. We will insist friends get Narisawa on their bucket lists. Lunch is a fabulous deal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGMChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    63
    22
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Bursting with flavor and is so pretty to eat”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Narisawa is a dream meal for me in Tokyo. Reasonably priced and is totally worthit if you know the ingredients thats being served to you. Plates are always full of flavor and are easy on the eyes. Your tummy will be full before you know it because of the richness of taste even if the serving size doesn't look that big. Number of courses are just right and the dessert are awesome. It helps also that they keep track of your record so that they will never serve you the same set of degustation every time you visit. Open kitchen is always a welcome sight. Chefs are like asembly line robots looking so precise. Restaurant is very nice. Service is top notch. I highly recommend this place at least once in your life anytime you get to visit Tokyo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good but not convinced it is the Best Restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very good food and presentation but a bit too dramatic and creative for me. Which is why I am not rating Narisawa Excellent. My husband and I have have enjoyed better fine dining restaurants. If you had more than enough time in Tokyo, I would still recommend that you try it. But if you had only two nights, try another place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic fusion food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a special place for food. The building itself is modern and the decoration very tasteful. However, it didn't seem to go with the theme of the food, which was eating in the forest/nature.
We went for lunch (cheaper) and took nearly 3 hours to finish all our courses.
I have to say each course was special.
1 - bread. The bread is actually baked in front of you. Takes about 12 minutes
2 - the carbonised steak was special. Full of flavours
3 - the eggplant was presented with edible flowers.
4 - the deserts were excellent, the selection and presentation top class.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Theatrical meal with outstanding food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

For my review and photos from Narisawa, see the following link: http://foodmab.blogspot.com.au/2013/06/narisawa-tokyo-20-november-2012.html

Dining at Narisawa is not just about eating. It is also a show. The food is presented in a theatrical and dramatic manner. The cooking is precise and flavours are amazing. A restaurant worthy of a detour, as the Michelin Guide would say.

I came for the 4-course lunch meal that was priced at 7,350 yen. This is a bargain compared to their 10 course meal served at dinner, which is priced at 21,000 yen. For those on a budget and want to experience Michelin-star food, lunchtime is always the best bet. Narisawa has since changed the lunch course to match the dinner course and is now priced at 12,600 yen, which still represents value.

There are so many highlights from bread being baked at your table to the squid course called 'Ash'. This was a truly impressive dish, with great balance of flavours and perfectly cooked squid. With dramatic presentation to boot! The squid was grilled over a mix of cherry wood and charcoal, and served with a paprika sauce and vinaigrette. The vinaigrette was served as a frozen powder, resembling ash, and was generously spooned over the squid on the table, creating a veil of mist. The squid was fresh and tender to the bite. All the components work with each other, the vinaigrette creating that “wow” factor that you come to expect from a top Michelin star restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NARISAWA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing