We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding meal”
Review of NARISAWA

NARISAWA
Ranked #4 of 10,851 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $108 - $180
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An outstanding meal”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonderful food, innovative and beautifully presented. For example the bread was cooked on the table. Great wines matched to each dish. Very good and attentive staff. The meal was generous eg you could have as much off the dessert trolly as you wished and wines were topped up. It started raining while we were in the restaurant so complementary umbrellas were provided. Not cheap but a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    62
    21
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2AA.. above average!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Narisawa indeed is one of the inspirational chefs in Japan, his food was faultless, well balanced flavors and had great presentations. His restaurant was one of top end restaurant choices during our culinary trip to Japan.

The main reason I rated this particular experience above average was due to the poorly Sommelier service we received on the night, if I have to compared with another restaurant, like L'osier Tokyo, the French Matre'd and the Japanese Sommlier were professional and exceptional.

But in Narisawa, there were rarely any interactions between the Waiter/Sommelier and the diners, We had half bottle Champagne as our aperitifs kick off the night and the wine matching throughout the whole meal. There were hardly any explanations in regards the wines matching, which I believe it quite bizarre happening in this type of establishment.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CG0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Asia's number 1 (2011)”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Les creation de Narisawa is an experience with great food, great service in a great environment. Highly recommended. Toward creativity.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephanZoisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good but....”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having been to many of world class restaurants around the world, how would I rate this place? Probably OK. First of all, viewer of my report should read those comments that are listed in poor & terrible sections as I can appreciate where these comments are coming from. Yes, it's bit on expensive side. Yes, there are more interesting restaurants in Japan. So, I would recommend to those who are living in Japan, they should try Narisawa at least once or twice. For those travelers who are visiting Tokyo and has only 5 nights, then probably they should go to Japanese restaurants and skip Narisawa. Those travelers who are visiting Japan frequently then they should give a try on their 5th trip. I think the service is good and wine pairing was very thoughtful. I think those who rated Narisawa below average, I think, is bit harsh. If you are a budget traveler and hoping for a miracle experience then there is no such thing and Narisawa will not going to provide that too.

Helpful?
2 Thank KLTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Polished fine dining at its best!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Wow what an experience! The service was polished, the food took you on a journey, and there was a high level of detail. The dessert cart (yes cart) was a real highlight, and the wines were an eclectic mix of international varieties.

I was fortunate enough to visit Aronia de Takazawa, Les Creations de Narisawa and Ryugin and blogged about them here:

http://awaywegosydney.blogspot.com.au/2012/08/les-creations-des-narisawa-or-ryugin-or.html

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jinny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NARISAWA also viewed

 

Been to NARISAWA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing