We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really lovely food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NARISAWA

NARISAWA
Ranked #4 of 10,624 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $105 - $176
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Went with my boyfriend for our 5 year anniversary. We definitely picked a good place to celebrate- it was very classy! Loved the food they served us. The bill was a lot considering we didn't drink much, but we felt it was well worth it for the experience.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ambertoncsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    58
    19
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Wickedly creative, confronting, playful and divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Such a playful approach should be lauded. The bread baked at the table in a hot stone pot was excellent. The use of interesting, if somewhat confronting at times, ingredients was spot on. It was a joyful experience. The food was balanced and the menu told a story at unfolded on the palate. Afterwards, my husband and I could not stop thing about the dishes that we loved. The oyster blackened with a hard shell carrying the feint aroma and taste of yuzu was so wickedly good that I could have eaten 17 more.

Service was flawless. The room was dark enough to be intimate and the kitchen was visible for most of the meal and then a large door was drawn across the window unobtrusively, presumably when the cleaning started.

Certainly a wonderful experience and one that I would gladly repeat. There are so many restaurants we must visit in Tokyo, who knows when we shall return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
299 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Unique, world calss experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Chef Narisawa takes one on a unique, mind blowing culinary journey. Each dish is carefully designed and served with care. The wine list represents the best there is. This was rated the 12th best restaurant in the world by San Pellegrino with reason! A must visit in Tokyo. But: go hungry!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Creative Presentation with the Gifts of Nature Theme”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Went there for lunch however ordered the dinner course. The visual experience was amazing and the service was exceptional. I especially enjoyed the potted plant that was in fact the butter and the use of nature throughout the set course. The only disappointment was the taste. I thought the creativeness did hamper the flavor a bit. I was really looking forward to the Japanese beef however did not live up to my expectations. Overall I did enjoy my experience however for over $600.00 US with no alcohol, I think it is more a once in a lifetime event.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peter_vpnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“This is the best restaurant in Asia? Ouch!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We were pretty hyped up about our visit to this restaurant after it's been rated as "The Best Restaurant in Asia" 2 years in a roll. Japanese are very passionate about food and to be the best in Asia, or even Japan said a lot about this place. Expectation was very high.

The restaurant was fairly easy to find, just a 2-minute walk from the Aoyama Itchome Station. To keep things simple, we ordered the set lunch with an appetizer, main course and dessert. No choice was required.

The first to come was the amuse bouche which was a leave with its root and it tasted exactly like one. It's nice for phototaking but honestly not something I want to put in my mouth. The rest of our lunch also failed to impress. For example, my chicken breast which was slow cooked for one day according to our server, was a bit raw in the inside. The dessert, which was nicely presented, was actually pina colada with passion fruit, mango etc. Enough presentation but what we want genuinely was food that tasted great. Forget about presentation!

Yen 7,000 wasn't a crazy price to pay for a good lunch in Tokyo standard but I would definitely prefer to spend it elsewhere. The usual suspects such as Joel Robuchon at Ebisu, Benoit by Alain Ducaisse etc would be much safer bet.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Hedonist420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NARISAWA also viewed

 

Been to NARISAWA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing