We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honmura An

Honmura An
Ranked #81 of 10,508 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

One of my best dinners in Tokyo. I had a soba with tempura set and a seasonal side dish, grated mountain yam with salmon roe and sea urchin, with the final bill adding up to 3000 yen.

Service is good, and English speakers will not encounter any problems at this classy restaurant. The place is a bit hidden, sited on the second floor, opposite a carpark, in a lane off the main street. Hope this helps!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mshammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    12
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food and fabulous service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We had the seasonal tasting menu, of which all courses were very tasty. The staff were extremely attentive and there were obviously quite a few faithful regulars which is always a good sign. I'd say average value for money for Tokyo and definitely worth a try

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Soba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have been to Honmura An 5 or 6 times now. Living nearby it is a great spot to head to for some great Soba in a nice environment with great service. The Cold Soba with Sesame Dipping Sauce as well as the Hot Soba with Duck are two highlights that we commonly have. The signature chicken meat balls are pretty nice to for a starter. We have had the tasting menu a couple of times as well and enjoyed it, however it was a lot of food.
Its not a cheap place, but I think value for money wise its one of the best spots to get a Soba experience in.
Well worth the trip, and worth going back to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisbane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Seasonal Tasting Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Tokyo. The seasonal tasting menu is great, offering seven very different courses that allow you to get a sampling of Japanese cuisine. The soba noodles are consistently good (ask for the sesame dipping sauce) and the octopus sashimi was probably the best I have ever had (soft, lots of flavor, not chewy). I would never consider myself a foodie, but would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Tokyo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“wonderful food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was very sorry when Honmura An closed in New York five years ago or so, and delighted when I realized that the proprietor had moved back to Tokyo to take over his father's restaurant. I had dinner there twice in the fall (forgot to review at the time), and both meals were exquisite. I had the set menu, and everything was delicious, and the owner and his staff very charming. A real gem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tribecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honmura An also viewed

 

Been to Honmura An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing