We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good experience”
Review of Takazawa

Takazawa
Ranked #24 of 10,830 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Overall we had a very enjoyable evening. The food is creative & there were some standout dishes - the firefly squid (presented live where you can play with them before being sent to the kitchen and appearing on your table in a luminous bowl of neon lighting). The entire experience was very good, food paced nicely with explanations from Mrs T (Akiko). The wine list was limited, expensive and when ordering by the glass, no price is indicated (& not much choice). Ordering sake by the glass at Yen 2,000 per glass is rather on the high side (for a very small portion serve). Here again - no choice is offered and one simply settles for what is served, although the sake bottle is shown to you when it is being served.

Service is warm, friendly and with a maximum of 10 diners at any one time, the experience feels more like eating in someone's home versus in a restaurant.

The Takazawa experience comes at a hefty price - with a couple of drinks (ordering by the glass), it comes up to about Yen 35,000/ head. Despite having an enjoyable meal, I am not sure I share the enthusiasm that other reviewers have posted - mainly because when comparing other stellar meals at cheaper or comparable prices (in Tokyo), Takazawa falls slightly behind in the "wow" factor. Would I recommend - yes, do go for the experience but I personally wouldn't be going back in a hurry; unless they offered a more reasonably priced menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank scorpioshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    8
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolute heaven!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had high hopes for TAKAZAWA, and we were NOT dissapointed! The food was devine and we were treated like royalty (Chef even followed us out in the street when we left, amazing), :)! Watching Chef work and getting all the background information on the ingredients was amazing!

The food was, of course, incredible and probably one of the best meals ever, sheer perfection. You should really treat yourself and go to TAKAZAWA if you`re in Tokyo!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank monstermusiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a fantastic experience. Emailing Akiko to sort out the booking and then having her guide us through the meal was a real bonus and the food itself was amazing. We had 11 memorable courses with the piece of fish that needed to be fished out from below the ice-skin with chopsticks and the vegetable parfait the stand-out dishes. The chef finishes the dishes in the small presentation kitchen in front of you and if you pay by card and need to add your PIN then you get to see how tiny the main kitchen actually is.

Only 10 covers and reasonably hard to find but it is in the alley behind the building that the taxi driver will think you are going to. Just keep looking. It really is worth it

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank seagulls77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best meal ever ”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

If you are heading for Tokyo, don't miss this amazing little jewel. It was the most creative, wonderful meal that we have ever had. He is a genius.

Helpful?
5 Thank Mike_SLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A truly outstanding meal”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

There's little that I can add to all the previous reviews other than to say that we too had an absolutely fabulous meal. Akiko starts the welcome long before you arrive, as she e-mails you to explain how the restaurant works and ask about your food preferences. It's already clear that they really care! This warmth continues when you get there. The entrance is round the back of the Sanyo Akasaka building and there's a picture of it on the website which makes it a bit easier to find. You go upstairs into a small dining room with the kitchen fronting onto the room so you can see chef Takazawa at work. You feel more like a guest in their home than a diner in a restaurant.

And then the food arrives. 3 amuse bouches followed by 11 courses of heaven. Go on their website and have a look at some of the dishes - they are truly amazing! But this is not just pretty food - more important, it's delicious food with beautifully subtle combinations of flavours. We followed Akiko's suggestion and had a wine flight to accompany the meal with some excellent selections of Japanes wines, all chosen by chef Takazawa and explained by Akiko.

This was undoubtedly one of the best meals I've ever had and I shall certainly return. It was expensive, but worth every yen. My only slight sadness was to see a family at the next door table whose teenage daughter spent the entire meal playing on her phone... I hope she realizes what she was missing!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank SixNineOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takazawa also viewed

 

Been to Takazawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing