We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oak Door

The Oak Door
Ranked #49 of 10,869 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: The Oak Door features premium quality meats and seasonal produce prepared in dramatic oak wood burning ovens. The wine cellar house a large collection of boutique New World wines. This neighbourhood steakhouse is complete with an open kitchen, terrace seating and a private dining room.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
170 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Lunches are good value, dinner is not bad. Good quality food but the menu is not inspiring. Be careful with the drinks: cocktails are good but most glasses of wine are overpriced, some bottles are reasonable. The soft drinks are very expensive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank remarkable_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    73
    36
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food is consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Popular business spot. Food is fairly basic - good produce served consistently well. Famous for steaks but all meats on the menu. Dinner is fairly expensive but good options at lunch and steak san's which one of the best in Tokyo.

The bar is not quite what it used to be but still a fun spot and good for people watching.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Currypow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive steaks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Its in Tokyo and serves very expensive steaks. They are tasty, but not £300 tasty. Not that I'd know as I had the set menu which was only £80 each. Had wine by the glass also. I really don't worry about cash that much but this place taught me how lower rate tax payers feel every day. A grounding experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Food Prepared to Perfection, Service a Bit Slow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I ate at the Oak Door in June 2012. It was a Sunday evening and the restaurant was pretty deserted. The space is warm and invited, quite spacious and feeling quite American (it is a hotel restaurant after all). There is a decent bar (with a great Mojito menu for 1700 yen each), and an open counter area where you can see the cook staff.

After some drinks at the bar we were seated at a nice, private booth. Service was rather slow (very slow, as a matter of fact, despite a large number of staff working at the restaurant). However the food was exceptional.

My colleague started off with the pumpkin soup and loved it. I started with some brocollini (technically a side dish but I used it as an appetizer). For the meal we each ordered Kobe beef. This was my first time having Kobe beef and I have to say it is far superior to other meats. It's difficult to explain, but the meat seemed denser than normal beef, but more consistent and more tender through and through. The taste was out of this world. Of course, at over $200 per piece you would come to expect that. Along with our meal we had sides of mashed potatoes, and asparagus - both prepared to perfection.

They use the highest quality meats and produce so every inch of the asparagus was edible and not stringy.

We also had a delicious bottle of Malbec wine (from Argentina) that was just under $200.

All in all, this ended up being the most expensive meal of my life at over $1,600 (US) for two people. Was the experience worth it? I don't know. The food was DEFINITELY of the highest quality. The service was simply mediocre.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snarl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, nice bar, average service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I cannot comment on the food as I've never ate here. Instead, the Oak Door has been a post-dinner drinks bar in my experience. Getting to the Oak Door, one passes through a nice, breezy bamboo garden area. Inside, there is an open kitchen and at night, the ambiance is classy (read: not family-oriented) and on the dark side. The bar has an extensive cocktail/wine/whiskey selection and I know men enjoy the variety of cigars offered. The bartenders all speak English but the service can be a hit-or-miss depending on the staff/crowd/busy-ness.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AyakaFaithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Door also viewed

 

Been to The Oak Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing