We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“best sushi ever, over in 30 min.=$10/min, $15/piece” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills

Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills
Ranked #27 of 10,515 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best sushi ever, over in 30 min.=$10/min, $15/piece”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our hotel did not respond to email request for reservations, so we relied on http://www.ramenadventures.com, Brian Mac to make them. It wasn't cheap, but we figured we're already in for a hefty price. We were only able to get an 11:30 am seating.
Each bite of sushi was the best we had eaten of each fish - at least those with which we were familiar. We feel we've eaten some of the best sushi from Nobu, to a few elite places in Tokyo last time we were here and even Little Tokyo in Los Angeles - so our perspective and palate has had good sushi over time. At Jiro, the first tuna sushi was magic. Sardines, mackerel - two I'm usually not fond of were buttery soft and rounded out flavor - not overbearing. The unagi was sublime, the sea urchin was sweet and mild. Perhaps the best part was the temperature of rice/fish - perfection.

We were served twenty individual pieces of sushi for 30,000 yen and green tea followed by watermelon for dessert. Our entire meal lasted 30 minutes. Jiro was not there. His son made the sushi and served us. We felt rushed and somewhat self conscious. There was a small bowl with soy at our place setting, yet we were corrected not to use it when sauce was already applied. All sushi pieces were prepared with the sauce, so we weren't certain why soy sauce was there. The son served us very quickly - savoring was not allowed. When you go to a special place like this, you are prepared to pay the amount, but I found that we kept doing the math - cost per piece, revenue per hour - etc. I think Jiro locale is a perfect business account dining experience.

In the end, we happy we dined there, but I wouldn't feel the need to go back. The nuanced difference in taste between the tuna at Jiro's versus any other high end sushi restaurant isn't worth the hassle or environment. But at least we know we've backed up the movie background with a bite of the best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sherriyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    32
    24
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overrated?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I guess when there is too much hype about a restaurant, one goes there with a higher expectation than usual. The sushi was excellent; it was a set menu with 19 pieces of sushi. The quality of the fish was top grade. There ware 2 seating for dinner - 5pm and 7.30pm (there is lunch as well). The restaurant will seat about 10 people at the counter.

While I probably will not go back there again, it is nice to have done it once. Maybe the next time, I will try his father, the famous Jiro.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank OSY225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ate at jiro in subway station , very serious place not much talking and sushi was good but overhyped. There is no way this is best sushi in the world . I am a sushi aficionado and this is overrated. I left wondering why I spent so much money. There are things on menu you may not like and if you do not you do not get a replacement.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank globaltraveladvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalisz, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oishii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you hadn't watched jiro dreams of sushi you probably woudln't noticed that place, thats why you have to spent a lot of money, but besides the price this is the best sushi I have ever eaten.
Menu is determined by sushi master and you have to book single place 3-4 month earlier but for this delicious fresh and well balanced taste you will do everything you can.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

If money is no object then this is a place to go. Try to go hungry because there are an I credible number of courses. Best sushi I have ever eaten. My favorites were the three course tune starting with leanest and ending with the fat belly. The scallops were another memorable addition - both baby and collossal. It was all beautifully prepared, seasoned and absolutely delicious. The bill is outrageous so be prepared to spend in excess of $300 per person There is no ituzation so they charge you dependent on market prices that day (presumably).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank New719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills also viewed

 

Been to Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing