We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Eat Well Leave Happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roppongi Inakaya (Higashi)

Roppongi Inakaya (Higashi)
Ranked #625 of 10,510 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Eat Well Leave Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you do not enjoy this experience, something is wrong with you. Well staffed, with extraordinary food, should not miss this restaurant if you are in the area. Be careful! No prices on the menu, so you are going to spend some money. Great experience with friends, family, and even children! Wow, I cannot say enough good things!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PNMLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    10
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The atmosphere is wonderful its a MUST do for visitors to Japan. The food is fresh and great too.

Helpful?
Thank pamjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and fun dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

When you enter the chefs and staff will greet you by yelling out a greeting. 2 chefs sit on a raised platform and they prepare all of the food. In front of the chefs are today's fresh offerings. Vegetables, meat, fish, tofu or whatever are arranged before you. You simply pick what you want and the chefs grill or otherwise prepare it. At each step the various staff yell out things, but since I don't speak Japanese I don't know what they were yelling.

Everything is fresh and excellent and you can't go wrong here. Only issue is that this place is pricey $150+ per head.

Be sure to buy the chefs a beer.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aglobetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Once in a One of a kind experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have to second the review 'wow than ouch'
The moment you stepped into it the restaurant, you are impressed with almost anything there from the greetings, setting to the way the food is prepared and served.

The chefs are seated on a platform as high as the table and we sat around it; fresh food are spread around you, I am not sure if they have a menu, we was not given one and just pointed the food we want to the chef for him. He will picked them up, clean up and put on the grille.

We had wagyu cubes on skewer; skipped the matsutake mushroom which was recommended. tiger prawns. A tiger prawn to share and a few other small itemeg ginko nuts, chili etc.

One could spend a long time there as the chefs are quite entertaining and it's a wonderful experience to watch so closely how you food are prepared in such simple manner. A place that bring friend or family back but I will be careful with what to order.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Visitngmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow followed by ouch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Experience was exciting and initially overwhelming, no shortage of wow factor. We were overawed by the greeting and the setting which was authentic and fun, this lead to saying yes to everything they suggested, there was no menu - mistake! The food was no doubt good quality but there was too much food for 2 average sized guys. The price tag was outrageous and left slightly bitter taste about the experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roppongi Inakaya (Higashi) also viewed

 
Minato, Tokyo
 

Been to Roppongi Inakaya (Higashi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing