We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget with class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka
Ranked #56 of 116 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Centurion residential is a Bargain in Tokyo. It is located on a side street where all the ENTERTAINMENT of Akasaka is to be found.
A bottle of wine is placed int eh room each day of our stay. The shower is something out of a space movie. I didn't wish to leave the shower - my own SPA in my room.

Room Tip: Request a 2 bedroom if there are more than 2 travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xaymaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 149 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great location of this hotel or even small serviced apartment (the rooms had fridge, sink, clothes washing machine). Right on your doorstep are a myriad of bars and eateries and there's always life on the street, making it feel very safe to walk. Staff were friendly and helpful (with excellent English). Breakfast was good with a small but sufficient buffet of eggs, juices, coffee, tea, croissants as well as more Japanese fare. The room was small but clean and well equipped. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a great power shower. Only downside was the stale smell of smoke (in a non-smoking room), and even though we left the window open all day it never left the room. But hey, this is Japan, and we weren't too surprised by this!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sosotraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Almost everything at this hotel is better than what you'd expect at a sub $100 hotel. Yes, the rooms are really small but this is Tokyo.

But, if you're not a smoker, the odor in the hotel and the room will make you nauseous. I'm not exaggerating. I'm not particularly sensitive about the smell of smoke, hell, I myself smoke every once in a while. I usually don't mind it. But I simply could not sleep here due to the lack of fresh air (no windows either).

I hate to give it a 2 star review because I think everything else was pretty good. But the overall quality of my stay was terribly hampered by the smokiness. So I can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aceofhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Perfect location for an American on his first visit to Tokyo! Safe neighborhood, great value, will definitely stay here again...

Dozens of English friendly late-night restaurants/bars, which is great since the trains stop at midnight. Hit up this great Izakaya two doors down on the corner and say hello to AkiHiro! There's 2 english pubs close-by (82 Ale House, the Mermaid). For American comforts there's a McDonalds, Hooters, and Starbucks 5 min walking distance.

For cash, you have a Citbank/7-11 nearby for ATMs that take foreign debit cards. Most businesses will take cards, but your bank will charge for foreign transactions. Best to have Yen on hand.

Not much shopping to be done here, but Shibuya/harajuku is only 5 stops away. Night life is relaxed and not Shinjuku crazy.

5-minute walk to Akasaka-mitsuke station. From here you can board 5 different lines on the Tokyo Metro. The Ginza line got me directly everywhere as opposed to the Yamanote Loop. Be sure to get a Pasmo rail card. Everybody has them and saves time figuring out how much to pay.

Staff is super-friendly and speak good english (one guy was from Chicago). Check in time took only 2 min. They will also watch your bags if you have an evening flight. Every time you leave the hotel, you need to leave your room key with the front desk, which is common.

The hotel is modern, boutique, and in a lively neighborhood. My room had a Full size bed and was way roomier compared to a similar hotel I stayed at prior in Ueno. Even had extra pillows and comforter on hand. Also had a closet w/hangers! Which I hear is rare in Tokyo. But I suggest no more than two adults w/3 luggage at most. If you have kids, get a bigger room.

Kitchenette, washer/dryer, desk space, and flat screen tv included. No wi-fi (typical in Tokyo) so bring a laptop with an ethernet jack. Sorry iPads! They also have a free, small breakfast buffet until 1030am in the attached bar/cafe.

Long story short, you'll love it here!

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th/6th floor are quieter from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HQlikesTacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel is very modern, the shower/whole bathroom is amazing, and it has a great location!! It is Japan, so it was very small and you had to pay extra for cable and internet. The breakfast seemed like a nice spread although, as an American I cannot eat miso soup and fish that early. Everyone was super friendly!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Pros: Cool bathrooms, washer/dryer in the room, super nice staff that spoke very little english, perfect location for nightlife, complementery internet (no wifi), coffee & tea. Convenient location to the subway, any cuisine you could want, shopping, banking, etc. The shampoo, conditioner and body wash were fantastic!

Cons: Tiny rooms. Double is up against the wall with no room to move around. Our bed sagged in the middle. Bathrooms but not very clean. There was some mold in the cracks. Washer/dryer combo in room took 4 hours to dry 3 pairs of blue jeans. No English speaking TV channels. Our rooms were on the 4th floor (401 & 403) and the nightlife was loud! If you are wanting to go to bed early, ask for a room on the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Booked this hotel at got it below $150 per night, which worked out great in Tokyo. It's relatively new, design-boutique hotel...which almost appeared to be emerging to a "Love Hotel" as well, but not a big deal.

Pros: Great value, it's located in a busy pedestrian street with lots of restaurants & cafes, very convieniet. 2 mins away from Akasaka Metro Station. Great shower & amenities. Heated toilet seat, I love it.

Cons: Room too small, the streets can get loud at night. Lots of bars/pubs next door so you can hear people at night. Wasn't really a big deal though. There's a small kitchen & laundry machine, but no cutleries, plates or any of that sort.
Also, there wasn't much to see or do in "Akasaka", high end shops, very commercial, etc.....but we wanted to try another neighborhood since we were in Japan for 2 weeks.

Would I return? YES. Good price and pretty central.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank EvainAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#31 of 116 in Minato
364 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Risveglio Akasaka
Hotel Risveglio Akasaka
#30 of 116 in Minato
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Akasaka Granbell Hotel
Akasaka Granbell Hotel
#54 of 116 in Minato
121 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b tokyo akasaka-mitsuke
Akasaka / Roppongi
Keio Presso Inn Akasaka
Keio Presso Inn Akasaka
#53 of 116 in Minato
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka

Address: 3-12-3 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 116 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range: $63 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In central Tokyo, Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka is a 1-minute walk from Akasaka subway station and a 3-minute walk from Akasaka Mitsuke subway station. Each modern room has free wired internet access, and free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas of the hotel. The air-conditioned rooms feature a flat-screen TV with a DVD player, a washing machine and a safe. Guests can use the fridge and electric teakettle in the kitchenette. The private bathroom includes a shower booth and a hairdryer. Nightwear is provided and complimentary mineral water is available for all guests. Massages can be requested for an extra cost, and luggage storage and dry cleaning services are available at the 24-hour front desk. A Wi-Fi router can be borrowed for a deposit, which will be returned upon check-out. A solarium is also available (charges apply). Wine Bar Oscar serves café menus and a Western-style breakfast. Uchon serves homemade Korean dishes for dinner. Akasaka Centurion Residential Hotel is a 25-minute walk from the Imperial Palace and a 5-minute walk from Hie Shrine. Tokyo Station is a 15-minute drive and Haneda Airport is a 40-minute train ride from the property. Narita International Airport is a 75-minute train ride from the hotel. Minato is a great choice for travelers interested in friendly people, food and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing