We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tokyo Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tokyo Grand Hotel
Ranked #66 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly & well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Prior to going i emailed for some advice and these guys couldn't have been more helpful, so we found easily enough without the cost of a taxi form the airport, very good public transport directions for arrival and whenever we asked. Not right in the centre but we walked everywhere easily enough (30 mins to town) but it was very close to several tube stations and a bus terminal.

Room was pretty compact, not too small but from what I hear it's to be expected in this city. Looked a bit dated inside, especially the radio built into the bed, but was clean. bathroom was high tech, which seems to be what everyone wants in Japan so was a big contrast to the old school bed. All required toiletries provided, plus awesome dressing gown.

Never had any food here, and was surprised there was no bar! Good tea making kit and mini bar in the room if you need it. We also used Jonathan's across the road, looks like an American diner so we used only upon arrival as an emergency when we landed and waiting to check in. Pleasant surprise in that it serves very good traditional Japanese food at an excellent price, so much so even with the short time we had we visited twice and loved both meals.. except the green tea iced desert thing, would give that a miss every time.

Big highlight for this place is the staff, superb stuff. Lacking English for the most part but don't give up trying to ensure you are all sorted.

Room Tip: Higher the better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    92
    57
    15
    9
See reviews for
29
52
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
441 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a good hotel. Things work, but are not as fashionable as most hotels in Tokyo. Location is good, but still some walk away from train stations. Service at the hotel was very good. Correct and friendly. Had a very reasonable price thus making it a bit over average experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

we stayed here one night luckily.
the location is good but all the rest was just ok.
the hotel is old and they don't have wi-fi in the rooms. only in the loby.
the bed wasn't comfterble and compare to other hotels in japan it's not that good. but at leats it's cheap.

Room Tip: choose a roon in a high floor to see the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minato hotels

Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Tokyo Grand Hotel is an average-below average hotel. Though we requested a queen, non-smoking room, we were given two twin beds and a smoking room. The beds were terribly uncomfortable and the bathroom was not clean when we arrived. There is a restaurant and a coffee shop in the hotel, but be warned, the prices are outrageous. The hotel is close to two convenience stores, an American-style diner across the street, and very close to a metro stop. If you don't plan on spending time in the room, this may be alright for a few nights' stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lasanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a bit of a doubt but were positively surprised. Yes it could need a renovation, but we are talking 3stars under 80us$\night in tokyo.

Important: everthing was clean service was excellent.

Just forget the breakfast. Quality of Food is good, but very limited selection for the price of 1750yen!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Located close to Shiba-Park and close to the Tokyo tower, the hotel is lying in a great location.
Rooms are small yet clean and neat, pretty much like any other business hotel in Japan.
Higher levels have good view of the tower, it's pretty nice.
Closest metro st is only 1 minute walk!
But be aware, at night the whole area shuts down maybe because its a office area?

Room Tip: Try take a high level room with the view, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Don't stay Here Unless u want to ruin your holiday!!! The Grand Facade as we called it!!! If only the inside matched the outside!!!

We were forced to pay $220aud just to have a twin room instead of a double!!! what a joke!!!

My friends jacket went missing from their room after he forgot it!!! we asked staff nothing found!!! hah!!!

Upon entering the hotel you instantly see its old and outdated!!

It continued when the lift doors opened upstairs, we were greeted with a river of stained carpet all the way up the hallway!!

It wasn't much different in our room, floor was stained, stunk of smoke lucky the window opened. Walls had marks and holes. Basin had a large crack down it with rust stains to match.

Spend a bit more cash and stay in a hotel you will enjoy.

Don't be disappointed like we were!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biffyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Celestine Hotel
Celestine Hotel
#14 of 108 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Mielparque Tokyo
Mielparque Tokyo
#69 of 108 in Minato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Hamamatsucho Daimon
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Grand Hotel

Property: Tokyo Grand Hotel
Address: 2-5-2 Shiba, Minato 105-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyo Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Tokyo Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tokyo Grand
Tokyo Grand Hotel Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing