We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel with helpful english speaking staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel with helpful english speaking staff”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed a night in Hotel JAL City Tamachi, a very lovely hotel with high quality and a wide range of amenities. The room is not big, just 14sqm, but has everything that you might need for a short stay. Breakfast buffet at the restaurant was awesome as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Calleryana
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    423
    133
    26
    7
See reviews for
111
112
189
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the JAL City Tamachi Hotel for 9 nights April 25th to May 4th 2014. We loved it. As expected, the room was very small. It was just big enough for a double bed which was pushed against the wall, a desk, and a credenza that held a small refrigerator inside and a 22-inch Sharp Aquos LED TV on top.

Even though I did not expect any channels to be in English, there was CNN. However, the Japanese interpreter was heard over the anchors so you couldn’t watch it. Maybe there was some way to turn it off, but I didn’t know how to do it.

The room was spotlessly clean. The maid cleaned the room daily. A fresh supply of toiletries was left every day. If you wanted your room cleaned, there is a button next to the door to push that says “Please Make Up”.

Our room was on the 9th floor (room 914) and was non-smoking. Some comments I’ve read mentioned cigarette smoke coming into their room, but we never experienced that issue. We did smell a bit of smoke in the lobby, but it wasn’t overpowering.

The staff spot English and were very pleasant and friendly. I asked for directions to the Rainbow bus to Obaiba (just outside the Tamachi train station and ¥210) and a very nice man took out a map to show us. We left the hotel and were about a block away when we noticed the same man was running after us. He had given us the wrong directions and gave us another map with the correct information. That was very nice of him and I wish I could remember his name.

There are many restaurants and convenience stores within the vicinity of the hotel. In fact there are several right across the street. We found two grocery stores just a few blocks away also. The one named Peacock’s is the best in my opinion.

I would stay there again if I were going to Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alix1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, write near JR line station. Clean rooms, but bathroom very outdated and needs an upgrade. Tv channels need to have more english channels. Reception helpful, local area is ok few 24 hr stores and restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AK7811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Room
Much bigger than ordinary chain hotel - you have space to fit your all shopping bags.
We are lucky to enjoy a view looking over the Tokyo Tower and managed to run for the countdown there in just 20 mins close to year 2014.

Location
It's about 8 mins walk to the nearest Tamachi station (a bit far when you go check in with your luggage) but quite close to residential area so it gives you another expereince close to local community.
It's hard to find shopping mall nearby but i found it good to have new experience other than staying in crowded locations like Shinjuku, Ikebukuro etc.

This is my second stay with JAL City Hotel group (first time was at Okinawa) and overall the service is pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YvonneCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this well located hotel in an expensive city.
It is an 8 minute walk from the Tamachi JR train station on the Yamanote line. Take the east exit and walk straight along the road, crossing the small bridge. When you reach a major intersection, turn right and you'll find the hotel one block down from this intersection.
This location was so very convenient for us.....we walked with our luggage to/from the hotel.
We mainly used the Yamanote line to travel to the various tourist sites in Tokyo so it was great that Tamachi station is on the Yamanote line. Shinagawa station is one stop south and Tokyo station is four stops north of Tamachi station.
There are many eateries and supermarkets in this area too.
Our check in was smooth and efficient. Reception staff spoke English well.
Our room was a good size for our three beds - two king singles and a single bed. It was difficult to open two bags at one time in this room but this was not a problem for us. The room was clean and well maintained.
The room came with a safe, a mini fridge, a humidifier, a kettle, Japanese tea sachets, slippers, bathrobes
The bathroom of this room was very big and lovely. The shower recess was about 1x1 metre in size. The toiletries were by Shiseido.
The bus stop for the Rainbow bus to Odaiba ( waterfront shopping and entertainment district) is just near this hotel.
We stayed at this hotel in March 2014.
We will definitely come back to this hotel when we return to Tokyo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JuneTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel was what one would expect from a large chain brand hotel. Everything was very good, but nothing outstanding. It is convenient 5 minute walk to Tamachi station,. You can see the hotel sign from the station overpass, so it is easy to find. Room was small but adequate, bed was comfortable, bathroom/shower clean and reasonable in size (I have seen smaller in Japan). We did not eat there, there are plenty of cheap noodle shops right by the train staion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Professional and friendly staff.
I had a large deluxe room to myself, a little pricey but well worth it!
The room was of a high quality, and well maintained by the cleaning staff.

This hotel is in an IDEAL location! 5/10 minute walk to Tamachi station which has lines going to Tokyo Station (only a few stops for Shinagawa, Shinjuku + Harajuku etc) and also straight to Yokohama!

The hotel itself was also extremely easy to find, just off a straight road.

I will definitely stay here again, and i would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieHye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Celestine Hotel
Celestine Hotel
#13 of 111 in Minato
720 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Gracery Tamachi
Hotel Gracery Tamachi
#45 of 111 in Minato
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,144 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
#10 of 111 in Minato
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo

Property: Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo
Address: 3-16-18 Shibaura, Minato 108-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#18 Business Hotel in Minato
#20 Family Hotel in Minato
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Tokyo bay waterfront area, Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo is only 5-minute walk from JR Tamachi station and 12-minute walk from Shibaura-Futo station on the Yurikamome line. This hotel provides convenient accommodations for both business and leisure travelers. All luxury guest rooms are decorated with European furnishings. There are Japanese, Western, and Chinese restaurants. Meeting rooms and large and small banquet rooms, which can be used for parties and seminars, are also available. The garden chapel in the atrium and the Shinto shrine are available for marriage ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Rakuten, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalcity Tamachi Tokyo Minato
Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing