We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”
Review of Nihonryori RyuGin

Nihonryori RyuGin
Ranked #64 of 10,878 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $223 - $312
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: We are a small Japanese restaurant on a corner of Roppongi and openned our restaurant on December 23, 2003. To prepare Japanese cuisine and present the amazing ingredients of Japan to customers daily is sharing the spirit of "Wa (harmony)" with many people and convey the richness of the whole of Japan, and provide a space to admire a moment of a delicious banquet together. The dinner and the preparer resonate with each other through the food and recognize the preciousness of the richness of Japan... To be able to convey this everyday with pride to people might be akin to doing our important "national duty" for Japan. As a Japanese cuisine chef with this sense of a self imposed mission I felt during my training, I opened this small Japanese restaurant on December 23, which is a special day in Japan with the feeling of raising the flag of Japan. The origin of our name "RyuGin" comes from the words of "Zen", and is derived from "龍吟雲起(RyuGin-Unki)". During my training, I came across a book of “Zen” and within it, a hidden meaning of "龍吟雲起(RyuGin-Unki)"... "When a heroic person makes a decision and takes action, his comrades will mutually resonate and gather there..." That lesson moved my heart, and made me decide on the name of my restaurant.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We traveled to Japan primarily for the purpose of having one of the world's best Japanese dinners. It did not disappoint. The staff was helpful and friendly, with excellent English. The courses were explained and when necessary told how to eat them. Such as one of the desserts, "Two Grapes" which had one on a pick next to another in a bowl. We were to eat the one on the pick whole, first. It turned out to be fizzy carbonated and exploded with flavor in my mouth. The other one had been frozen in liquid nitrogen and was broken open to show a sharp powder which was then covered in a warm sauce by our server. Delightful.

Sure it was expensive, but the autumn seasonal presentation was a delight for all of the senses. Fresh seafood, matsutake mushrooms and abalone, wagyu beef with a warm somehow crispy poached egg over it sukiyaki style, it was all wonderful. The room is small and well decorated. Some things were just perfect, like a slice of pear in ginger. We will always remember this dinner fondly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueJazz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    38
    14
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Try once and form your opinion”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I tried at least 10 times in Ryugin over the last 5 years. I think the restaurant is becoming more arrogant. It's worth trying once as the food is very good and some of the dishes are quite creative. However, it's not cheap and unless you have a large entertainment budget, you will be thinking twice when you want to make the second visit. Again, worth visiting it but I am rating as poor given that I have seen a better days of Ryugin.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UmaiUmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Good seasonal menu”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The food was very good, presentation was classy and the restaurant went to the extent of arranging for an English speaking server for us. Wanted to be blown away with the concept of food... just left a tad unfulfilled.... but nonetheless, was a dinner to cherish for some time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikramjit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Spectacular meal with surprises at each turn. Excellent service from a French waitress so we did not feel left out. Great wine and sake list. Chef even came out to say goodnight to us. True 3 star excellence

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Experimental - Try the a la carte”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

If I hadn't gone to Aronia de Takazawa and Les Creations des Narisawa, this would easily be the most incredible meal of my life. While LCN was polished and slow paced, RyuGin was the complete opposite. Elegantly presented food that you recognised, versus experimental food. Food that melted in your mouth, versus food that exploded in your mouth. Is this a bad thing? Not at all, but they are completely different.

I visited ryugin in August 2011, before they received their third star, it was busy then, but I can imagine it will be even harder to get in now. Make a booking on the day (mid-week will increases your chances of getting in) and try the a la carte menu.

I reviewed all three restaurants on my blog:
http://awaywegosydney.blogspot.com.au/2012/08/les-creations-des-narisawa-or-ryugin-or.html

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jinny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nihonryori RyuGin also viewed

 

Been to Nihonryori RyuGin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing