We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
County Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Clean and central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an excellent choice for anybody looking to explore Tokyo. It is less than 10 minutes walk from Shinjuku main station which will bring you anywhere you want to go in the city. Spotlessly clean also. You can also walk to some top attractions from here such as the Metropolitan building which has a free view of Tokyo from it's 45th floor.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    162
    39
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
104
25
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights on the 17th floor and had a view towards Shinagawa Station - we could also see Mt Fuji on a clear day! The hotel was very well located, quiet area within walking distance (5mins) from the JR and Metro stations. We also walked to the Tokyo Tower - it took us 15-20mins. There was a supermarket across the road and a couple of restaurants. Buffet breakfast was included in the room price - it wasn't fancy, but had both, Japanese and Western dishes to choose from. Wired internet was free in the room. Free WiFi in the lobby. The room itself was very small. We could hardly fit in with our luggage and we only had two small suitcases! Kettle, tea and coffee were provided. There was a flat screen TV, small fridge, desk with a chair, heater/air con. Bed was reasonably big and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and basic toiletries were there. Toilet had a few interesting functions, which proved to be a winner i.e. you could press a button and the toilet seat would be kept warm at all times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi is a nice hotel close to a train station with a nice view of toyko (room 1701). The room was small when you have a couple of suitcases but for Toyko standard it would be one of the larger ones.

The price was good and included breakfast. The breakfast was mixed traditional and western including rice, fish, soups, pickles, egg and a western meat (sausages on day 1, meat patty on day 2 and meatballs on day 3)

Convenience stores and supermarket across the road, many restaurants located nearby, although we didn't eat at any as we we went to Shinjuku, Shibuya and Toyko for more dinner options.

Pro's: Location, friendly staff, laundry, Warm toilet seat, high speed wired internet, small fridge, quiet hotel.

Con's: Lack of English instructions for TV, hard bed, dryer shrunk my T-shirts, VERY small thin bath towels

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allieswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip last month and was pleasantly surprised. I didn't select the hotel, my local hosts did, and they picked a good spot. It is a very nice location with easy access to major transit and rail lines. As other reviewers have commented, it is a nice quiet neighborhood and it was nice to retreat here after some of the more hectic parts of town. The hotel is on top of an office building and it is very quiet. The rooms are relatively large for Tokyo with TV, fridge, hot water pot, and other amentiies. The bathroom was in good shape and had a soaking tub. Breakfast in the morning was a mix of traditional Japanese and some European standards. The mattress was a little lumpy otherwise no complaints.

Room Tip: Decent size for Tokyo room. Good bathroom with a soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Villa Fontaine Tamachi hotel is located a few minutes walk from the metro station Tamachi. It is located on the upper floors of an office building which provides a nice overview of the city and surrounding views. The room is small but very well organized and very comfortable. Our room was located on a corner then the fenestration was excellent. Items at our disposal in the room were kimonos, slippers, toiletries, mobile element for smoothing the clothing, air conditioning and dehumidifier element. Breakfast is served in the large entrance hall, adjacent to the reception, it was plentiful and included Japanese style cuisine as well as North American type food. I recommend this boutique hotel that offers excellent services and have a very courteous staff. The rooms and all areas in the hotel are clean and very appropriate to the needs of the clientele.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfsb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from Dec27-Jan1 and we can only say it is worth the money you pay for it.
Positive: breakfast, location and friendly staff
Negative: the room is small, pillows and mattress are not very comfy...

If you are traveling on a budget this hotel is perfect.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sawasdee_Kaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Room is small, but it was comfortable. I had to say I MISSED their breakfast. Their pickled cucumber are sooooo good. A distance to walk to the train station. Very near to a supermarket and few restaurants around. Located in a quiet area. Suitable for people who loves to stay in not so crowded area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonGWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Gracery Tamachi
Hotel Gracery Tamachi
#34 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Celestine Hotel
Celestine Hotel
#14 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Hamamatsucho Daimon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi
Address: 4-2-8 Shibaura | Mita Twin Building East Wing, Minato 108-0023 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Tokyo Mita
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing