We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Tokyo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Tokyo!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for the first 6 days of our 2-weeks honeymoon trip. This is the best hotel I've found and booked via Hotels.com in terms of value, location, and service! It is just a 5-minute walk away from the JR Tamachi so getting the JR Rail Pass will be an awesome deal. Also, Tamachi is just a few stations from Shinagawa which is accessible coming from Narita Airport via NEX Narita Express train. Central Tokyo station is also accessible for the long-haul shinkansen bullet trains to other major cities.

Hotel Villa Fontaine is actually in a commercial building. In the morning, there are a lot of businessmen in the area. But at night, it becomes a quiet neighborhood especially on weekends. There is a combini (convenience store) and a supermarket just across the hotel. Also, a wide variety of restaurants and a hyakyu yen (100 yen) shop are nearby.

The hotel accommodation includes FREE buffet breakfast served in the hotel lobby.
Compared to other business hotels I've stayed at in Japan, this has the biggest room which is a rarity in Japan for such a bargain price.

Room has:
-double bed
-trouser press
-20"~ LCD TV; Japanese channels only
-in-room internet cable; wi-fi is available only in the lobby
-mini fridge
-a/c heater/cooler
-Japanese night gown
-room slippers
-mini cabinet
-electric pot
-hair dryer
-bathroom: toilet and shower/tub; again, it is bigger compared to other business hotels.
-drink vending machines at the hallway

Hotel also has eco-door magnets for indicating the level of housekeeping needed e.g. fresh towels/linens change.

I'll definitely recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anniemey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    207
    51
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
141
28
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Clean room, reasonable size. Bed a little too hard for my likening. Great view of the train lines including bullet trains and Mt Fuji when it was out. Free breakfast satisfactory, not a lot of variety. Only about a 5min walk to the train station which was convenient. Also a supermarket and 24 hour convenience store just across the road. No WiFi in rooms but it was available in the lobby. Overall I can highly recommend if you can get a good deal.

Room Tip: Mt Fuji side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is located only 6 minutes away from the JR Tamachi Station and about the same distance from the Mita subway Station. The most popular train called Yamanote passes by the JR Tamachi and is only three station away from the Central Tokyo Station where you can take the Shinkansen to different cities like Kyoto or the Narita Expres to the airport.
When you get off the Jr. Train you just head to the east exit and as you approach the stairs you can see through the Windows the hotel building on the right (brick color). After you descend the escalator, walk a few feet and turn on the first right (you will see “Excelsior Café”) and walk a couple of minutes passing by the post office and you will reach the hotel at the corner across the street.
The hotel is in a business area and in front of the hotel there is a plaza with restaurants and a supermarket and you can use the ATM from the nearby post office to get money. There is also a convinient store (Lawson) very closet o the hotel
The room and bathroom were very spacious and clean and the view from the 15th floor was excellent. There i also Lan internet in the rooms and wi fi in the lobby
The complimentary brunch style breakfast buffet was served in the lobby and had Yogurt, Miso soup, dried seaweed, rice, salmon or mackerel, salad with Japanese or ranch dressing, eggs, sausage, marmalade, croissant, fresh bread buns, butter, tea, coffee, milk, orange juice.
The room had a refrigerator and they put cold water bottle everyday and there is an electric pot water heater so you can prepare your tea or coffee.
There was a foot massager in the room, also hair drier which my wife found it very good and a trouser press. The pillows were very comfortable and they also put sleeping gown and slippers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I always find dust, dirty spots or someone else's hair even at top rated hotels but NOT THIS ONE. The decor is not my taste however the cleanest room ever! Completely non smoking too. There are quite few inexpensive decent business hotels in this area and they all say non-smoking but most of hotels in Japan are partially smoking. The Japanese don't understand what non-smoking means. Almost always smells like cigarette from vent in non smoking room on non smoking floor but not this one. We went to Hotel Conrad Tokyo before checking in Villa Fontaine Tamachi. Such a beautiful hotel but we were very disappointed that we had to breathe cigarette smoke from hallway or some sort of smoking room the entire time we were there.
Breakfast in the lobby was interesting but the food was pretty good. Once again, we usually get a whole lot of nothing at most hotel's complementary breakfast but not this one.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motoko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

First time in Japan, I heard about Villa Fontaine from my sister in law but she stayed in another branch. We stayed there for 6 nights. Very large room for Japan (small for Western but in Japan all the rooms are very tiny). We stayed in Japan for 16 days and stayed in 5 hotels in total and I think Villa Fontaine was my favorite. Our last days in Japan, we stayed at another hotel in Shinjuku, Tokyo and it was really bad. I wished we would of booked Villa Fontaine again.

The good: The rooms are not super modern but clean and spacious for Japan (we got a Queen bed 19 square meter). The service was good. Breakfast was incredible. I usually expect some coffee and some pastries but we had a full hot breakfast: eggs, sausages, rice, fish, nori, condiments, croissant (so good), bread, 2 kinds of soups, yogurt, orange juice, coffee, etc. I was full every morning. Location very convenient as it's next to JR station and it's very central so you can go all around the city very fast. They give fresh PJ's every night ( a bit big for me but comfy). Good view of Tokyo from our room.

The bad: wired internet only in rooms. Wi-fi only available in lobby. The train track was beside the hotel so some may hear the train pass at night but sincerely it did not bother me as I was so tired visiting everyday that I fell asleep very quickly. Besides, it's convenient that the train was next to the hotel for getting around.

Totally would recommend to friends and family and to people visiting Tokyo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piggy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time to Tokyo and stayed at this hotel. Found it quite convenient, clean, and great for its value. Rooms are small (just big enough for 2 people) but as are most rooms in Japan. It's great for you, business travelers. The hotel is connected to a corporate building so, from the outside, it doesn't look like a hotel.

It's conveniently located across from a market and some restaurants. We made 2 stops in there and stocked up on products and goodies we wouldn't normally find, or are cheaper there than back home. Also, located near a Lawson's, where we made stops every night for ice cream. :D

Yes, Tamachi station is 5-7 minutes away. Great to catch the JR Yamanote line, which connects you to Shinagawa and other places away from Tokyo as well as up to Shibuya and Shinjuku area.

Free breakfast - can't go wrong here. Loved their croissants!! Amazing. my husband had like 4 in one sitting.

Internet - they have a LAN, but no wifi in rooms. Lobby had connection. Just ask the concierge for User ID and password. They had four sets of couches in the lobby, which were extremely comfortable. On our last nite, we turned one area into our own living room. We brought snacks, our phones/ipads and just went to town with checking emails and Facebook.

Amenities were OK. No lounge area (except lobby but that's not really hang out place) or gym.

Cleanliness - extremely clean. I'm one who doesn't need her room cleaned everyday, only every other day. So I'd put up the Do Not Disturb sign on the off days. Well, on those days, the cleaning staff would leave us a bag of clean sheets, pajamas (they give you pj's!), towels, and all the toiletries. So sweet!
Overall good place to stay. I'd definitely come back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here a total of 6 nights - was a great hotel. Very clean and nice and quiet, plus great views across Tokyo. Breakfast selection was good and was only a 5 min walk from Tamachi Station which is a great location for exploring Tokyo. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSkinner83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Celestine Hotel
Celestine Hotel
#14 of 110 in Minato
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 110 in Minato
3,076 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi
Address: 4-2-8 Shibaura | Mita Twin Building East Wing, Minato 108-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Tokyo Mita
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing