We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant but tired”
Review of Claska

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Claska
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel was perfectly fine - great service, great views of the Tokyo skyline from our hotel room, huge rooms with a huge bed, very clean and a lovely bar and restaurant on the first floor. There is also a design shop selling kitchen ware, stationery and clothes which was full of wonderful things. However it did feel a touch tired somehow in the room design - not as impressive as I thought it would be especially given the price. Another upside is that it's near an excellent sushi restaurant just a ten minute walk away!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank iheartearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 246 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. Great little boutique style hotel with very attentive staff, great lounge/eatery area but the location lets it down. 15 minutes in a taxi from all major districts.

Try the cooked breakfast as it's just perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Hotel Claska is a somewhat trendy hotel that attracts both international and local guest. The staff are extremely attentive and always willing to help out with any questions. There are however two major drawbacks to this hotel, the first being its location. It's certainly not close to any areas of interest, although there are some furniture / design / antique stores that are worth a look if you have a bit of time to kill. Just be aware that if you want to venture anywhere else you will need to either walk to the the station (15 mins) or catch a taxi. The second drawback is that the hotel is definitely looking tired and has certainly not aged well. For the hotel to make it into some of the best boutique travel books I.e. Mr & Mrs Smith, we had high expectations. It really needs a refurbishment, as it felt very run down. Its certainly cheaper than some of the other more centrally located hotels, however don't expect too much, this wasn't the trendy / edgy boutique hotel that we were accustomed to staying at via sites such as mr and mrs smith.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrophyTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice. In my opinion I found it an interesting and fun place to stay. I loved the location because I really felt that I was getting a very interesting view of Tokyo almost as if I was staying there as a student.

I loved the dog grooming bar which you can see from the restaurant. It's got a great shop and relaxed modern restaurant

I stayed in a weekly room which was fantastic value.

I enjoyed the food. I would definitely recommend the supermarket and local sushi which is delicious and very good value.

One of the highlights of the hotel is all the little shops en route to the train station.

The staff are incredibly helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Weekly rooms are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Ignore comments about the location. If you live in or love cities, you'll appreciate this spot for what it is. Well located in a superb little neighbourhood, adjacent to a main thoroughfare with lots of cool furniture shops, restrained apartment blocks and chi-chi cafés.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachael e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our first visit to Japan. Claska was a lovely introduction to Tokyo. Just don't think it will be alright to walk from Meguro Station to Claska with your suitcases after a sleepless overnight flight. Google maps said it was about 10 minutes.....Liars! The hotel itself has great, helpful staff and is in an interesting location. Our room was very spacious and beautifully clean, except for the carpet, that had a big stain. I really wanted to give it a scrub, but I am a bit obsessive compulsive. We loved the decor, the daily breakfast and having a nightcap after dinner in the bar. All in all we enjoyed everything about Claska. Strolling around the surrounding neighbourhood was really interesting. Also, Dogman was great dog watching.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookzaraeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A lot has been written about the location of this hotel, so I won't dwell. I'll say that this "off the beaten track" location is actually a wonderful quality if you're looking for a more realistic Tokyo experience. You take the bus or walk to Meguro station and experience a "normal" (if a little bourgeois) neighborhood. You can visit the indie boutiques of Naka Meguro, or walk a bit more to the superb Daykanyama with the wonderful Tsutaya library. The lobby is perfect to relax, the food and wine were great, with live music and great people watching. Rooms are all different; ours was "Modern Japanese" and we loved it. The hotel is starting to age a bit, but it seems only to add to its charm. Staff were just plain great. Wifi everywhere (if a bit slow). Highly recommended. We stayed at Park Hyatt when we came back to Tokyo after a trip down south and, frankly, we preferred Claska.

Room Tip: Higher up is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexbeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meguro
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
#2 of 12 in Meguro
241 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
The Westin Tokyo
The Westin Tokyo
#1 of 12 in Meguro
1,815 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 118 in Minato
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 29 in Shibuya
721 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claska

Address: 1-3-18 Chuocho, Meguro 152-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Meguro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Price Range: $141 - $824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Claska 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLASKA is facing at Meguro street in Tokyo, which commonly known as familiar hotel for a long time. It was corresponding to the start of the partnership, the hotel was drastically renovated, and newly opened, for Hotel, Dining cafe, Gallery shop and Studio. CLASKA is continuing to transmit Japanese appeal and culture to the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Claska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claska Hotel Meguro
Claska Tokyo/Meguro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing