We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
richard g
Portland, Oregon

Very Impressive

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 3, 2019via mobile
We didn’t stay here but enjoyed walking through the facility for some coffee. The property is very attractive for tourists who are discovering Japan and we are sure they will enjoy their stay. We have no idea what the prices are like but most likely on the high side
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
キングルーム
$112
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    $175
  • Agoda.com
    $96
  • Expedia.com
    $122
1.8 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
Camera japanise style
$87
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $69
  • Hotels.com
    $85
  • Expedia.com
    $85
2.0 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
シングルB_SingleB
$112
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    $97
  • Agoda.com
    $79
  • Expedia.com
    $101
1.4 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
$62
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $61
  • Agoda.com
    $54
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$73
Fully refundable
  • Rakuten Travel
    $77
  • Agoda.com
    $65
  • Trip.com
2.2 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
部屋
$151
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $146
  • Vio.com
    $104
  • Hotels.com
    $146
2.1 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
$516
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $406
  • Expedia.com
    $406
  • Rakuten Travel
    $519
0.8 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $84
  • Booking.com
0.2 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi

ペントハウスご宿泊者様専用露天風呂
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $99
  • Priceline
    $82
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $95
  • Trip.com
    $95
3.1 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
View more hotels in Meguro
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
205
166
30
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
205
166
30
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meguro station steam sauna american grill cherry blossoms japanese style waterfall garden the executive lounge every amenity night stay luxury tokyo furnishings fuji
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 416 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights at this prestigious hotel whilst attending a friend's wedding.

All we can say is wow !

The staff, service, room, executive lounge, and location cannot be described in words but need to be experienced in order to understand how truly amazing this hotel is.

From check in to check out everything was of the highest standard.

Our room was a huge twin executive suite, with a sauna jaccuzi shower and a huge selection of bathroom products.

The room also came with separate guests bathroom and luggage storage room plus all the usual amenities a room if this standard should have.

About the executive lounge, the food was the best of the best, with breakfast, morning afternoon tea, cocktails and snacks throughout the day all served overlooking mount Fuji in the background. For those who wished you could also enjoy a tea making ceremony too.

I could continue to write so much more about our heavenly experience but don't wish to spoil it for you..... for a taste of old Japan just book and enjoy ..... it will stay in your memory forever !

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank sandmriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotelgajoentokyo, 支配人 at Hotel Gajoen Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

Dear Sandmriley san

Thank you for your booking and staying with us.

We are pleased to learn that you had a memorable stay. Your positive feedback on our colleagues have been passed along, and the whole team is very thrilled to know that you were pleased with the overall service.

We are delighted that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo memorable experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and inspire.

We love to have you and your family back to us in the not too distant future. Once again, thank you very much .

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

I was introduced to this hotel by a friend of mine who took me and a visitor from Germany here in 2018 I was so impressed by the deco on the ground floor so I took my friend from Singapore here this time.

We were so impressed by the traditional rooms at Hyakudan Kaidan that are full of typical Japanese painting or craft, although the doll exhibition happening at the time did not allow us to fully appreciate them. The Garden at the hotel was also beautiful. Finally the deco along the hallway... It really matches its statement on its website - a museum of hotel beauty.

Disclaimer: I did not stay at the hotel, only a few hours to admire its beauty, this review does not cover its quality of service or condition of rooms

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank GreenLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 1, 2019

My family and I stayed at Hotel Gajoen for three nights earlier this month. From the moment we arrived the stay was perfect. The check in was very smooth and personal, the room was very large for Tokyo and perfect for a family of four. Everything about the hotel is elegant and the steam bath in the room and free phone were great. The kids loved the matcha tea ceremony and all the staff were helpful and accommodating. A few earlier reviews mention a walk up the hill to get to the station. I'm not sure if this is new but there are a couple of escalators through the Amazon building that make the short walk easy even with kids. If we are back in Tokyo we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M6108TQjulianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotelgajoentokyo, 支配人 at Hotel Gajoen Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

Dear M6108TQjulianc san

Thank you for your booking and staying with us.

We are pleased to learn that you had a memorable stay. Your positive feedback on our colleagues have been passed along, and the whole team is very thrilled to know that you were pleased with the overall service.

We are delighted that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo memorable experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and inspire.
We love to have you and your family back to us in the not too distant future. Once again, thank you very much .

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

I did not stay at this hotel but visited the museum, various restaurants and absolutely fabulous rooms. I was fortunate enough to have a meal here and it was faultless, perfect service, surroundings and ambience. It was
outside of my budget to stay the night but I am very jealous of everyone staying there, Definitely one for the bucket list.

Date of stay: December 2018
2  Thank SYLVIAMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

We stayed here as a family of four for our first 4 nights in Tokyo. A huge space of the ground floor, with several restaurants and an amazing, calm atmosphere. The hotel (and rooms) are actually on the upper floors, so whilst it is a huge building, the hotel element is actually comparatively small.

The room for our family was pretty large (certainly by Japanese standards), and very luxurious (particularly the bathroom)
As a guest you have access to the 'Executive lounge' where there is a fine breakfast served with a number of options (western and Japanese), and then you have access to this lounge again late afternoon for complimentary drinks and snacks. Given the high price of alcoholic drinks in Japanese restaurants this was a real bonus. We were lucky enough to get a good view of Mount Fuji from this lounge on several occasions, although I understand this is weather dependent.
Location wise, we thought this was quite good, (although I see a number of reviewers have said its a bit out of the way). The subway is just a 10 minute walk up a steep hill, and then you are only two stops to Shibuya station, which really is at the heart of the action.

The service in the hotel is top notch, the only reason this didn't get the full 5 stars was the price, but if you are OK with the rates and would definitely recommend

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dafttea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotelgajoentokyo, 支配人 at Hotel Gajoen Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2020

Dear Dafttea san

Thank you for your booking and staying with us when taking time to write comments about your experience .

We are very happy to know that you and your family had a great time with us and you enjoyed Executive Lounge and other hotel facilities. There are much more things to do, see and eat in this hotel. We love to have you and your family back to us in the not too distant future. Once again, thank you very much . Yours Sincerely, Hotel Gajoen-TOKYO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews