We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GreenLV
Sydney, Australia

A hotel as a nice tourist designation?

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 3, 2019
I was introduced to this hotel by a friend of mine who took me and a visitor from Germany here in 2018 I was so impressed by the deco on the ground floor so I took my friend from Singapore here this time.

We were so impressed by the traditional rooms at Hyakudan Kaidan that are full of typical Japanese painting or craft, although the doll exhibition happening at the time did not allow us to fully appreciate them. The Garden at the hotel was also beautiful. Finally the deco along the hallway... It really matches its statement on its website - a museum of hotel beauty.

Disclaimer: I did not stay at the hotel, only a few hours to admire its beauty, this review does not cover its quality of service or condition of rooms
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$87
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $83
  • Agoda.com
    $78
  • Rakuten Travel
0.2 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi

ペントハウスご宿泊者様専用露天風呂
$99
Fully refundable
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Agoda.com
    $79
  • Expedia.com
    $100
0.3 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
$95
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $95
  • Agoda.com
    $85
  • Vio.com
3.1 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $406
  • Booking.com
0.8 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
キングルーム
  • Expedia.com
  • Trip.com
    $98
  • Hotels.com
1.8 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
Camera japanise style
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $84
  • Expedia.com
2.0 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
シングルB_SingleB
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $91
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
2.1 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Rakuten Travel
  • StayForLong
    $80
  • Vio.com
2.2 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
部屋
  • Expedia.com
  • eDreams
    $151
  • Hotels.com
2.1 miles from Hotel Gajoen Tokyo
View more hotels in Meguro
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
205
166
30
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
205
166
30
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meguro station steam sauna american grill cherry blossoms japanese style waterfall garden the executive lounge every amenity night stay luxury tokyo furnishings fuji
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 416 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2019

My family and I stayed at Hotel Gajoen for three nights earlier this month. From the moment we arrived the stay was perfect. The check in was very smooth and personal, the room was very large for Tokyo and perfect for a family of four. Everything about the hotel is elegant and the steam bath in the room and free phone were great. The kids loved the matcha tea ceremony and all the staff were helpful and accommodating. A few earlier reviews mention a walk up the hill to get to the station. I'm not sure if this is new but there are a couple of escalators through the Amazon building that make the short walk easy even with kids. If we are back in Tokyo we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M6108TQjulianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotelgajoentokyo, 支配人 at Hotel Gajoen Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2020

Dear M6108TQjulianc san

Thank you for your booking and staying with us.

We are pleased to learn that you had a memorable stay. Your positive feedback on our colleagues have been passed along, and the whole team is very thrilled to know that you were pleased with the overall service.

We are delighted that we were able to contribute in making your trip to Tokyo memorable experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and inspire.
We love to have you and your family back to us in the not too distant future. Once again, thank you very much .

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

I did not stay at this hotel but visited the museum, various restaurants and absolutely fabulous rooms. I was fortunate enough to have a meal here and it was faultless, perfect service, surroundings and ambience. It was
outside of my budget to stay the night but I am very jealous of everyone staying there, Definitely one for the bucket list.

Date of stay: December 2018
2  Thank SYLVIAMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

We stayed here as a family of four for our first 4 nights in Tokyo. A huge space of the ground floor, with several restaurants and an amazing, calm atmosphere. The hotel (and rooms) are actually on the upper floors, so whilst it is a huge building, the hotel element is actually comparatively small.

The room for our family was pretty large (certainly by Japanese standards), and very luxurious (particularly the bathroom)
As a guest you have access to the 'Executive lounge' where there is a fine breakfast served with a number of options (western and Japanese), and then you have access to this lounge again late afternoon for complimentary drinks and snacks. Given the high price of alcoholic drinks in Japanese restaurants this was a real bonus. We were lucky enough to get a good view of Mount Fuji from this lounge on several occasions, although I understand this is weather dependent.
Location wise, we thought this was quite good, (although I see a number of reviewers have said its a bit out of the way). The subway is just a 10 minute walk up a steep hill, and then you are only two stops to Shibuya station, which really is at the heart of the action.

The service in the hotel is top notch, the only reason this didn't get the full 5 stars was the price, but if you are OK with the rates and would definitely recommend

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dafttea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotelgajoentokyo, 支配人 at Hotel Gajoen Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2020

Dear Dafttea san

Thank you for your booking and staying with us when taking time to write comments about your experience .

We are very happy to know that you and your family had a great time with us and you enjoyed Executive Lounge and other hotel facilities. There are much more things to do, see and eat in this hotel. We love to have you and your family back to us in the not too distant future. Once again, thank you very much . Yours Sincerely, Hotel Gajoen-TOKYO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018

Like stepping back in time 200 years. Previously home to a samurai Lord. You will feel like royalty just walking through this place. Had lunch here in a private tatami room. This whole hotel left me breathless. The most beautiful Japanese place I have ever seen with my own eyes. Lunch was so delicate and exquisite with the smallest detail to enhance the meal experience. You will not be full, but you will not be hungry either. This place has totally retained the old Japanese character of the nobility. I can't wait to see this place again.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Traveler703146
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Location-wise, Hotel Gajoen was a welcome relief from the high rise around Maranouchi where we stayed for 6 nights on this same trip. The hotel overlooks the Meguro Canal which apparently is spectacular come Cherry Blossom season. Meguro is relatively quiet but you can walk, bus, train or taxi to nearby trendy, cool areas and areas such as Ebisu with upmarket stores and cafes. In the immediate vicinity there is a 7-11, a Family Mart and OGGI, one of Meguro's best bakeries.
An excellent nearby area for cafes and restaurants and quirky shops is Naka-Meguro.
Back to the hotel - the room was huge - 80 sq metres with brilliant sunlight streaming in AND a view of Mt Fuji! The layout of the room would make it perfect for a family as the bedroom (two double beds) can be shut off from the large lounge area. The bathroom is massive with shower, double vanity, steam sauna and spa bath. There is a generous supply of Omnisens toiletries which are lovely.
Breakfast was superb with fish cooked to order and omelets with any additions you choose. There certainly was no shortage of breads, pastries and Japanese vegetables, pickles and fruit.
The hotel itself is an historic site and has been a popular wedding venue for decades. There is a waterfall with a pond with koi which sits beside Pandora's Cafe which was popular with Japanese Ladies who Lunch". A shuttle bus runs between the hotel and the Meguro station.
We would definitely stay again at Hotel Gajoen for the comfort, the location and the value for money.

Room tip: I was told all rooms are at least 70 square metres. Room numbers ending in odd numbers face Mt Fuji.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bev s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotelgajoentokyo, 支配人 at Hotel Gajoen Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2020

Dear Beaverlea_10 san

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking time to give us your feedback posted on TripAdvisor.

We are really glad to know that you had a great time with us and you specifically liked our location, service and restaurant. We looking forward to welcoming you back to our little hotel in the future. Once again, thank you very much. 
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews