We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good buisness hotel in Ebisu area”
Review of The Westin Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Good buisness hotel in Ebisu area”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you need to be in this location the Westin Tokyo is very good. Your typical Westin quality, good size rooms (I had a suite) and nice business lounge for breakfast and drinks throughout the day.

It is a bit dated in terms of décor and also old TVs (for a Westin) and huge fax machine occupying half the desk (who uses fax nowadays?)

Service could be improved as I experienced intermittent service: sometimes very good, some other times a bit lacking; however when I complained it was addressed very professionally and to my satisfaction. Their concierge service could be a bit more informative too.

Overall I had a pleasant stay but unless you need to be in this area of town I would choose a different location more central to Tokyo city life, which is fantastic, by the way. Ebisu is a bit far from most interesting places in Tokyo in my experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. Your kind words are of the greatest encouragement to all of us. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. Your valuable feedback for the concierge will be shared by our team. We would take this opportunity to review our service standard, and try to improve even harder to meet your expectations. We anxiously wait for your return for another Westin Tokyo magic, a respite in the heart of the city with personal service at its best. We only hope for your return in the not so distant future, until then please take and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    598
    140
    40
    27
See reviews for
327
463
153
475
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had a seamless experience staying here for a weekend with a friend. I will stay here again on my next visit. My favorite aspect of the hotel was the 5-star breakfast, where I could have everything from Japanese pickles and a green tea smoothie to an omelette, or even bread budding with a divine and not to sweet dark chocolate sauce. Come early for breakfast--before 9--to snag a paper and a booth in the back. On Sunday morning the staff had to open a waitlist after 9:30 AM because of the crowds.

The room, lobby and restaurants, although not the newest, are gleaming and seemingly without wear. There is a lovely bar next to the lobby where one can have champagne next to a waterfall. The upstairs bar is good for meeting friends or sipping a cocktail alone with a view of the city.

The room was spotless and cozy with art deco furniture, with a great view of Tokyo Tower. I also liked the separate vanity to do my makeup with natural light. The bathroom had Westin toiletries--my favorite--a bath and ample plush linens. The shower was a little small, however, and I had to place my shampoo on the floor. Everything was well cared for and well serviced.

We stayed on a club floor and enjoyed the afternoon happy hour, which offered appetizers, wine, cocktails and champagne. Again, come early to snag a table as a waitlist may form on weekends, as it did with us on Saturday night.

The location of the hotel in unparalleled. Ebisu Garden Palace in itself has great shopping in its department stores and the best French restaurant in Tokyo is next door. Ebisu also earns high marks for convenience as it is located on both the Yamanote train line and Hibiya subway lines, making it uniquely easy to head to Shibuya, Harajuku, Shinjuku, Ginza and Roppongi.

My only minor complaint concerns the concierge. She mistakenly told us that we did not need a reservation for the Roppong Hills branch for the sushi place featured in "Jiro Dreams of Sushi." When we arrived at the restaurant we learned that we indeed need a reservation and could not have gotten in without one. Why not at least call the branch to confirm? Luckily a nice guy added us to our reservation, or we would have been out of luck.

Can't wait to go back. I am debating whether the club floor was worth it but will definitely get breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Tokyo Tower. If going for club priveliges, stay on the 17th floor so you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diplogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. Your kind words are of the greatest encouragement to all of us. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. Your valuable feedback for the concierge will be shared by our team. We would take this opportunity to review our service standard, and try to improve even harder to meet your expectations. We anxiously wait for your return for another Westin Tokyo magic, a respite in the heart of the city with personal service at its best. We only hope for your return in the not so distant future, until then please take and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As a venue for a business visit this hotel would be hard to beat. The easy access via the airport bus made getting there unstressful. The room was huge, very well equipped and very clean. It was very quiet and the blackout curtains were effective so getting a good sleep (important after a long flight) was very easy. I didn't eat in the hotel as all the options internally seemed very pricy but there were a lot of good alternatives nearby so this wasn't important. The staff that i dealt with were all very efficient and helpful. Overall, I would very much recommend this as a place for a business traveller needing to visit the Ebisu area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFCWNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. Whatever suits you’re fancy, we will do the utmost to provide. We believe in offering the best of international standards combined with immaculate Westin Tokyo hospitality and service- attention to detail, tailored service, and effort in understanding our guests.
We are delighted to hear that our location in Ebisu (Yebisu Garden Place) was found to be a respite in the center of Tokyo, while providing some uplifting downtime with convenient access to all of your endeavors. Thank for allowing us to contribute to your Tokyo experience. We hope to see you very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Met a girlfriend for a weekend in Tokyo. I LOVED this Westin. The decor of the lobby and the room, and the furniture in the room were all to my taste. Truly five star. The room was very large and comfortable. Wi-fi was fast. We had a great view of Tokyo Tower. Stayed on the executive floor and the lounge was comfortable with good amenities-- food/drinks (although often crowded and occasionally with loud children). We had buffet breakfast (included with rate) in the lobby each morning and it was perfect. Many Japanese choices, as well as some Chinese, an omelet bar, and fresh fruits, salads, juices, smoothies and breads. It was a great way to start each morning. It's not far to the JL subway system and the staff was in general very good. My only complaint would be that the bathroom, while large, had a shower that did not have any space for toiletries --i.e. one small tray that barely held a travel-size shampoo and conditioner bottle with no room for soap, razor, comb or anything else, etc. Having said that, I would still return to this hotel and recommend it. It was definitely a cut above any other Westin where I have stayed (and I have stayed at many).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital marketing coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. We are thankful of your kind patronage to the Westin Tokyo and also for the encouragement we find in your gracious review. I would very pleased that you enjoyed the Heavenly Bed that promises to "sleep on clouds" The Westin Hotel Original in rooms surrounded by lush greenery, were made in the interior of fine European style and relaxed atmosphere you.  We believe in offering the best of international standards combined with immaculate Westin Tokyo hospitality and service- attention to detail, tailored service, and effort in understanding our guests. We only hope for your return in the not so distant future, until then please take and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Glad I stayed here instead of another hotel which I had originally intended to.

It has all that I look for in a 5-star hotel, including prompt and good service.

The location is really convenient. A 10 min walk away from Ebisu station where you can access a variety of restaurants, super mart and shops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuzimomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and even more for your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you were able to feel renewed and relaxed in our guestrooms and your visit to Tokyo was a truly enjoyable one!
We truly hope you to come back to us again, and like to take another opportunity to fulfill your needs and exceed your expectation. Your kind words are of the greatest encouragement to all of us. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you again soon. Until then, please take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel was an ideal base for my first taste of Tokyo. You can't beat the location and easy access to Narita Airport by airport limousine bus. I can't say enough great things about the Westin Tokyo. I've stayed at plenty of Westins around the world over the years and this easily ranks among the top. The staff was extremely courteous and hospitable. The rooms are a great size. (We were on the ninth floor overlooking the Tokyo skyline, so that was an unexpected surprise.) It really was like a home-away-from-home as I felt like I was sleeping on my own bed (yes, I'm such a Westin fan that I have a Heavenly Bed at home!). Venturing out was a breeze. The Ebisu station is within a quick walk, so access to the main sites by Metro or JR line is quite convenient. The area around the hotel has the Yebisu Gardens and great restaurants as well. Kudos all around!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Tokyo skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pccla74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. We are thankful of your kind patronage to the Westin Tokyo and also for the encouragement we find in your gracious review. I would very pleased that you enjoyed the Heavenly Bed that promises to "sleep on clouds" The Westin Hotel Original in rooms surrounded by lush greenery, were made in the interior of fine European style and relaxed atmosphere you. Our location we hope, a respite in the center of Tokyo, is a unique attribute ‘designed’ to assist you to escape from the daily grind. Thank for allowing us to contribute to your Tokyo experience. We hope to see you very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boituva, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent hotel, great location, easy access to Narita Airport and many places of Tokyo. There is an easy and comfortable access to the underground subway lines. The room are very confortable. I recommend!

Room Tip: Excelent acess to Narita International Airport and many places in Tokyo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanBenetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind patronage to the Westin Tokyo and for taking the time to post a review. Your kind words and strong vote of confidence for the Westin Tokyo has given us great encouragement and yearning to do more. It is our utmost joy in providing an experience, extraordinary; excellence that is consistent, and ensuring that each guest’s stay is bespoke. Thank you for allowing us to contribute to your Tokyo Experience. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Until then, please take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meguro
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,156 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tokyo

Property: The Westin Tokyo
Address: 1-4-1 Mita | Ebisu Garden Place, Meguro 153-8580, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Meguro > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of immaculate Japanese service, we tailor each guest's stay with personal, instinctive, and heartfelt hospitality. Enjoy the quietness in an upscale neighborhood of central Tokyo while staying close to the heart of actions happening at popular downtown sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Tokyo Hotel Meguro
Westin Hotel Tokyo
Westin Hotel Meguro
Westin Tokyo
Meguro Westin
The Westin Tokyo Meguro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing