We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location to access different corners of Tokyo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Certificate of Excellence
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location to access different corners of Tokyo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed in The Westin for a full week for a conference. During the week I made some short visits to different sights in Tokyo: The Imperial Gardens, Ginza ("Fifth Avenue" of Tokyo), Sensoji Temple, Akihabara electronics shopping, Shibuya for dining and shopping (both Sinjuku and Harajuku). Hotel location is great for this, as it's close to Ebisu train station, which is a crossroads for a couple of subway lines.
Hotel itself is good quality business hotel with nice rooms and good service. Breakfast buffet is wonderful with fruit smoothies and other extras you don't get so often. Consierge made a mistake with a restaurant reservation, but they were extremely apologetic about it afterwards.
Right next door to hotel is a shopping mall, not huge, but very elegant. They have Starbucks, if that is important for you. :-) You can take a limousine bus from Narita airport to hotel and back, which is convenient and inexpensive, but bus schedule needs to match your schedule; they do not run always so frequently.
Over all, I was satisfied with my stay a The Westin. And Tokyo is a lovely place: where else can you find a city of 10-20 million people that is so polite, clean and safe?

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Antti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    555
    132
    38
    25
See reviews for
290
431
143
432
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I started here in late November. The hotel itself is in a good location, not too far from the station. It is located close to many shops and places to eat. The rooms were of a good size and i really liked the green options they had to save the environment. Nice to see them taking it serious and rewarding customers for helping them save.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davo_asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuko K, Digital Marketing coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at The Westin Tokyo and for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear you were able to feel renewed and relaxed in our guestrooms. It is our utmost joy in providing an experience, extraordinary; excellence that is consistent, and ensuring that each guest’s stay is bespoke. In addition, thank you for your understanding and show your respect to our green program. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Until then, please take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel in Ebisu is somewhat away from the centre of Tokyo but the neighborhood is very pleasant and it is across the road from the Yebisu Garden Place complex, built on the old Sapporo Brewery site (NB. Ebisu the area is named after Yebisu beer and not vice versa). This complex houses a Mitsukoshi department store, the Sapporo Beer museum, several other shops and a selection of cafes and restaurants. Ebisu station on the Yamanote line (the overground loop line around Tokyo) and also on the Hibiya subway line is within walking distance if you find the travelator from YGP. The hotel itself is smart and comfortable though not quite luxurious as you would expect from a Westin and the service is very good, as you would expect in Japan.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of Mt Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genkhis_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and even more for your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you were able to feel renewed and relaxed in our guestrooms and your visit to Tokyo was a truly enjoyable one! Our location, Ebisu is quite a gem. As you’ve mentioned, even though Yebisu area is quiet, the many hidden discoveries here and there are popular to the local community as well. We boast true Westin professionalism and personal attentiveness to our guests! We only hope for your return in the not so distant future, until then please take and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed at the Westin twice, both times on business for a few days each. I enjoyed the stay both times. Staff are freindly and all seen to speak English, the hotel has a spacious upmarket feel in all common areas.

Rooms are surprisingly spacious for Tokyo and well equipped including a large Bathroom. All in all I found nothing to dislike about the Westin and would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. Your kind words are of the greatest encouragement to all of us. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you again soon. Until then, please take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you want a hotel in the "heart" of activity then this hotel is not for you. While easily accessible on from the Ebisu station (or Meguro for that matter), what I like best about this hotel is that it is in a gentle setting; a breath of fresh air in this vibrant city. I have stayed here 8 or 10 times, most recently in November 2012 and always enjoy my stay. The rooms are immaculately clean (and you can open the window to feel the outside and enjoy fresh air while sleeping.
The food is very good but there are many excellent restaurants in the local area as well.
The fitness center is small but meets basic needs.
As in all Japanese hotels I have been in the staff is very helpful and considerate.
Happy hour in the Club Lounge is nice but a little repetitive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 205MWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Tokyo, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. We are thankful of your kind patronage to the Westin Tokyo and also for the encouragement we find in your gracious review. Important, yes, you are to us and we only find it our joy to ensure you of a delightful stay! We look forward to your return. Until then, please take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

An excellent hotel, one of the best I've seen in the Westin chain globally. truly world class service, very good club lounge. The dinner buffet was lacking in selection, so I'd skip it. Minor point, but the rooms dont have energy efficient lighting-they have outdated 100w incandescent bulbs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millions_0Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuko K, Digital marketing coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
A heartfelt “arigatogozaimasu (“thank you” in Japanese) for your stay with us and for your words of great encouragement. We believe in offering the best of international standards combined with immaculate Westin Tokyo hospitality and service- attention to detail, tailored service, and effort in understanding our guests. Our location we hope, a respite in the center of Tokyo, is a unique attribute ‘designed’ to assist you to escape from the daily grind. Thank for allowing us to contribute to your Tokyo experience. We hope to see you very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I recently stayed at the Westin Tokyo for 5 consecutive nights, and then for 1 more final night before flying out of Narita and I must say I loved everything about the hotel. I considered staying here a couple years ago on a prior trip but was scared away by some friends who told me it's in a boring/quiet area, away from anything touristy and fun. That's not entirely accurate, and the location was one of the things I ended up enjoying the most. Yes, it's outside any bustling tourist areas like Shibuya or Shinjuku, but that's actually a POSITIVE thing in my opinion, and it's so ridiculously easy to get anywhere in Japan via transit that the location shouldn't even garner a second thought.

As others have noted it's at the far end of a plaza/mall which, initially, seemed to me pretty desolate and lackluster. Upon arriving from Shinagawa Station we walked above ground, and by that route you only see a few quiet shops, especially at night. However like most everything in Tokyo there are several sprawling underground levels to the plaza so there really are quite a number of stores, and it's a pleasantly quiet experience compared to the malls and plazas adjoined to most of the major train and subway stations. Note that it's also possible to stay completely inside on the journey from Shinagawa Station to the hotel; just turn right and descend the escalator at the end of the "skywalk" instead of crossing the street. That will take you to a lower level of the plaza which has an entrance to the basement level of the hotel - very handy for rainy days. Note also the walk is pretty far whichever route you take - the hotel website says 7 minutes but that's optimistic even for a fast walker like me. It's closer to 10-15 minutes, which isn't a problem for everyone but should be a consideration for anyone who is perhaps older and not as mobile as they'd like to be.

The hotel itself was great, the staff was friendly, rooms were spacious and comfortable, A/C worked well (yes, I'm the type who runs the A/C in winter!), and most notable it's exceptionally quiet. I'm pretty sure the hotel was completely booked most of the nights we stayed and I never heard a single sound from any of the neighboring rooms, nor from traffic in the hall.

I ate at the restaurant only once and it was mediocre (the lobby "deli restaurant"), and we also had lounge access which was just OK for breakfast, but not outstanding. I booked a room with lounge access because that was the only room available, but despite the relatively few food offerings I probably would book again. It's nice to have a place to chill out at the end of the day to use wifi, have a complimentary few glasses of wine, etc.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would absolutely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pw_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuko K, Digital Marketing coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and even more for your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you were able to feel renewed and relaxed in our guestrooms and your visit to Tokyo was a truly enjoyable one! Our location, Ebisu is quite a gem. As you’ve mentioned, even though Ebisu area is quiet, the many hidden discoveries here and there are popular to the local community as well. We boast true Westin professionalism and personal attentiveness to our guests! We only hope for your return in the not so distant future, until then please take and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meguro
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,773 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tokyo

Property: The Westin Tokyo
Address: 1-4-1 Mita | Ebisu Garden Place, Meguro 153-8580, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Meguro > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of immaculate Japanese service, we tailor each guest's stay with personal, instinctive, and heartfelt hospitality. Enjoy the quietness in an upscale neighborhood of central Tokyo while staying close to the heart of actions happening at popular downtown sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westin Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Tokyo Hotel Meguro
Westin Hotel Tokyo
Westin Hotel Meguro
Westin Tokyo
Meguro Westin
The Westin Tokyo Meguro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing