We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but totally worthy.”
Review of The Westin Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This European style hotel is very similar to the Westin Palace in Madrid. Very luxurious and nice. The buffet was very disappointing and expensive. Free WiFi in the lobby. 70 dollars taxi ride from Akihabara and 40 dollars from Ginza. Best choice is to take the JR Yamanote line in Ebisu station which is about 10 minutes walking from the hotel. Rooms were nice. Staff is amazing. Geat quiet hotel after a week in overwhelming Beijing and Shanghai. Totally recommended.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank rodoboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 1,855 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

After being in China for several weeks where the crowds can be overwhelming, we were happy to stay at this Westin which is in a much quieter neighborhood. The hotel was very nice and the rooms clean and comfortable. The staff spoke enough English and were all very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deniseandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was there during a week end and I liked it a lot. The price of the services are quite high (especially the SPA), even compared with other Japanese Hotels. The Restaurants are excellent, especially the Teppanyaki at last floor, expensive but really excellent. The rooms are bigger tha average Japanes Hotels rooms, and that made me fell better after a week of narrow spaces. The location is alittle outside of touristic places, but with the efficent public transportation network you can reach everiwhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelclaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Typical Westin quality service. Staff were very friendly and most could communicate in english. Rooms were clean, and service was prompt. You can get a ride to the airport via shuttle bus service directly from the hotel which was very useful.

My only knock against it, is its a 10 minute walk to the subway station. It gets kind of annoying if you have a to make several trips a day in and out..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

this hotel is not really located in the touristic part of Tokyo but in the Business Part of the town. It is approx 80 Minutes from Narita. I was here for a business meeting. Great service, very , very friendly staff. More then what you would expect from Tokyo.
Approx 20min by taxi from Ginza or the Fishmarket. and 10min from the night life area.

if you can, book an executive room , this gives you access to the executive lounge on the 17th floor. I have seen and used many such lounges in dozens of other hotels, but this one really deserves the name EXECUTIVE lounge. fantastic breakfast (free), drinks all day, and very friendly and helpful staff. they booked all my restaurant reservations and transfers.

Room Tip: if you can, book an executive level room, high floor (19th or higher) and ask for city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandokan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Westin Tokyo is just a 10 minute walk to the Ebisu train station. Yes it's a bit of a journey, but it's on the skywalk which is covered and there are people movers to help speed things up.

Room- we were on the club level so we had a sparkling huge room with an amazing view of the Tokyo tower. Bathrooms were good- we got a kick out of the toilet/bidet. I like that it makes swishing sounds when you first sit down. Very nice when you have to share a room... The Japanese never disappoint- beds were comfy and the room was very clean.

Location- in a business/residential area. It's not loud or filled with tourists walking around. There are some restaurants nearby. If you want nightlife interaction, walk down to the Ebisu station where there are some bars and restaurants that stay open late (we found places open at 1am on a Tuesday night). Shibuya is the next station over or you can take a taxi (about $20 USD w/traffic). If you can, utilize the trains- it's easy and efficient but only run until about 12:30am. Just learn the difference between the JR line and Tokyo metro.
Since we were out late the trains were closed then the skywalk was too...we had to walk on the street back to the hotel. Not a problem for 2 girls- we felt totally safe by ourselves.
The hotel is connected to an indoor mall so it is very convenient. One of my fave places was the little market (like Family Mart, can't remember the name) for snacks. I loved the hand rolls and they were less the $2 USD each. Perfect to grab on the way to the train station.

Staff- was friendly. Concierge is very helpful with directions. There is a map for anything you need with door to door instructions.

Wifi- we just used the free wifi in the lobby. Connection was good.

Getting there--From Narita Airport- take the train/Narita Express. It's a little intimidating but easy to do! It's about $35 1 way- if you can buy the JR Rail Pass. You must buy this before entering the country (totally worth it!). It's about a 1 1/2 hour ride total. If you are paying by credit card (AMEX) you need to go to the window to pay- I could not use the machine.
Get off on Shibuya and then go to the Yamanote Line (green). The trains are frequent so it's about a 5 minute wait. Ride to Ebisu (it's a short ride--I think it might be 1-2 stops from there). Find signs to the skywalk. You'll walk for about 10 minutes. There will be many signs for the Westin and Yebisu Garden Place. If you get lost then go to the information desk at the train station for directions! Don't wing it...a lot of the staff do speak English and will help you.

Cost- we had a deal through a family member that works for Starwood. I saw that our room was about $375 USD. For the amount of space and amenities I feel that this is a fair cost to stay at the Westin. I stayed 1 night in Shibuya at a budget motel for $150 (through expedia, regular cost was $220/night) and it was a closet. Our room in westin fit 3 people comfortably. I would come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kristyb562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your review and even more for your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your visit to Tokyo was a truly enjoyable one! Our location, Ebisu is quite a gem. As you’ve mentioned, the many hidden discoveries here and there are popular to the local community as well. We boast true Westin professionalism and personal attentiveness to our guests! We only hope for your return in the not so distant future, until then please take and stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed at the Westin for the last leg of my honeymoon. The hotel itself is quite grand. The lobby is very large with crazy high ceilings. I thought that the service was excellent all around and the rooms itself were quite large. I have absolutely no complaints about the hotel. The rooms are clean, the hotel was very well kept and everyone was very helpful. Only bad thing is that the hotel is so far from the metro. Most of the walking is covered. From the hotel, you have to walk through the Ebisu Garden (which is quite lovely actually) and from there, once you enter the station, you have to take maybe 4-5 moving walk ways before you end up at the JR Yamanote line. If you want the Hibisu line, it's even further away. To get to the JR, I would say it took us about 7-10 minutes. Only upside is that the walk is almost entirely covered so if it's raining, it's not too big a deal. Other than that, hotel is awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meguro
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,710 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
ANA InterContinental Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tokyo

Address: 1-4-1 Mita | Ebisu Garden Place, Meguro 153-8580, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Meguro > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Price Range: $318 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of immaculate Japanese service, we tailor each guest's stay with personal, instinctive, and heartfelt hospitality. Enjoy the quietness in an upscale neighborhood of central Tokyo while staying close to the heart of actions happening at popular downtown sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Tokyo Hotel Meguro
Westin Hotel Tokyo
Westin Hotel Meguro
Westin Tokyo
Meguro Westin
The Westin Tokyo Meguro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing