We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of The Westin Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We love the Westin in Tokyo! I've stayed here several times in the last ten years- with my family- and we have never been disappointed. The location is superb: Ebisu is a little way out of central Tokyo, but that is a good thing: the area is peaceful, spacious and elegant. Ebisu is on the JR Yamanote line- free for Japan Rail Pass holders- and a great station for getting to just about anywhere. There is a very nice Mitsukoshi department store just by the hotel, with a very good food hall. There's a lovely 'Party and Wine' store for excellent wine and deli, and a French bakery for superb cakes and pastries. At Zoff in the station, you can get spectacles made in less than an hour.
The breakfasts at the Westin are legendary: if you stay in an Executive level room, breakfast is free, with the option of eating in the Executive Club Lounge, or in the restaurant on the first floor. The Lounge is peaceful, but the choice is better in the restaurant. There is so much choice- western, Japanese and Chinese options- a staggering choice of food, and it is all of an excellent quality.
Executive level rooms are good value, because of the advantages of the Executive Lounge, offering an inclusive breakfast, soft drinks and tea or coffee all day, as well as drinks and food from 5.30, with free internet.
The staff are lovely- very polite and friendly, and the rooms are luxurious and spacious, with excellent bathrooms.
I've tried other hotels in Tokyo, but return again and again to the Westin, because it feels like a home from home

Room Tip: If you can get a good deal, I would recommend the Executive level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paeony66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireiwestin, e-Commerce Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Thank you for your patronage to the Westin Tokyo and the Starwood brand. May we also thank you for taking much of your valuable time for posting a very gracious and informative review. It gives us great joy in hearing your Westin Tokyo experience, as it encourages us to deliver more. We aim to be but pure distinction; providing an experience only extraordinary. Thank you once again. We anxiously wait for your return. Until then, please take care. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,854 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

Choosing a hotel in Tokyo for my 15 day business trio was very tricky. Service, value, comfort and conveience were all prerequisites and thankfully I found a Westin in Tokyo. I am staying in an executive suite with all of the benefits of the wonderful Yebisu club and executive club. My room is fantastic, clean and very comfortable for my 2 week stay.

The service and room service has been excellent thus far and most of the staff speak English well enough to easily communicate. The breakfast is easily a $30 breakfast in Tokyo, and is complimentary for the executive club.

The hotel does get busy on the weekends, but it is never overcrowded. As far as luxury goes, you can't beat this hotel in this price range. I was amazed to find the hotel at such a bargain (I searched their hotel offers on their web page and landed this hotel for leas per night than most 3 star hotels.

The restaurants are varied, Yebisu, although good was drastically and disappointingly overpriced, probably by double. I'd go to La table by Joel rubechon twice for the same price. Ryutenmon and Victors have lived up to their Michelin ratings (and great value since it is Restaraunt week in Tokyo (for the entire month!). Mai is ok, there is definitely better sushi for less (think Asahi sushi in Ebisu towers across the street).

Overall, excellent hotel and better value. I just hope I can score the same rate next time I come back.

The hotel is reasonably close to the JR line and Hibya line. Reasonable for city folks, unreasonable for suburbanites not used to walking.

Room Tip: Check their hotel offers. 12,000 yen per night with all taxes included. I challenge you to find a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkSYWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireiwestin, e-Commerce, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Thank you for your visit and for your gracious review. We hope we were able to contribute to a successful business travel. It is only our pleasure to have been able to provide a stay bespoke. What ever suits you’re fancy, ensuring our guest preferences are known and understood in every detail, it is our delight to offer that perfect “package”. Hurry back for an experience extraordinaire. Until then, please take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed at the Westin Tokyo a few times, but the negative points such as general attitude, nickel and diming for everything (including coffee in room, fitness centre etc) never stops.

The restaurants are good, but price wise not good value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papasantky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireiwestin, e-Commerce Coordinator at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Thank you for your patronage to the Westin Tokyo and for taking the time to post a review. We are with deep regrets for not being able to accommodate you with a true Westin Tokyo stay. We have the highest guest satisfaction ratings of any Westin Hotel worldwide and would like to sincerely apologize for not being able to give you that same impression. We take all feedback very seriously and please rest assured that we will use your feedback constructively and incorporate it in re-training and in reviewing procedures. We truly hope that we will be given another chance for you to experience a rightful pleasant stay with us again. Please reach out to me in the future as I would like to ensure that a more than accommodating stay be promised.
Best regards, Mirei Ri at mirei.ri@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is one of the busy hotel we had stayed, probably because of the Christmas season. The hotel locates in a very good location. You could visit Ebisu museum by walking distance. We were there during the Christmas time, and we have to wait 90 mins in line for breakfast, can't you believe it???? My first ever experience to be in line very long for breakfast. Breakfast is lovely and wonderful and worth. Recommend to avoid the season if you plan to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiiiangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was my fifth time at the hotel, but I had not been there in a few years. The service and rooms were excellent. Check in and check out were fast, smooth and flawless. Attentive wait staff who make you feel important.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireiwestin, e-Commerce Coordinator Mirei Ri at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. We are thankful of your kind patronage to the Westin Tokyo and also for the encouragement we find in your gracious review. Important, yes, you are to us and it is our joy to ensure you of a delightful stay! We look forward to your return. Until then, please take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Spent a long weekend in Tokyo for a celebration weekend. Decided to stay at the Westin in Ebisu.
The property is a 10 minute walk from the nearest metro - easy and pleasant.
The property it self is what you would expect of a Westin. Very friendly staff. very warm and welcoming. I would certainly recommend this property to anyone wanting a comfortable and relaxing environment in a city of majesty.
Rooms are very well appointed - bathrooms were spacious and nicely finished.
I really must reiterate - The staff in this property are just so warm and friendly - from the moment I arrived - warm friendly smiles, and genuine service.
I will stay with Westin again. Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petitebrioche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireiwestin, e-Commerce Coordinator Mirei Ri at The Westin Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Tokyo on an important celebration weekend. We feel privileged to have been able to serve you on such an important occasion. Thank you for taking much of your valuable time to post a review. We will surely share it with all of our associates. We are humbled with your kind words. It is our genuine joy that we are able to contribute to your Tokyo experience and even more for a Westin Tokyo one. Please hurry back. Until then, do take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very good hotel in quiet location in Ebisu. Ebisu station is a pleasant 2 min walk and connect into Tokyo subway system.

Hotel is comfortable and restaurants serve good food. Hotel bars are little lacking in atmosphere but Yebisu beer station is just across the road and there are many small eateries nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meguro
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,702 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,206 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
ANA InterContinental Tokyo
Ikebukuro
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
#1 of 21 in Bunkyo
724 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tokyo

Address: 1-4-1 Mita | Ebisu Garden Place, Meguro 153-8580, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Meguro > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Price Range: $316 - $718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of immaculate Japanese service, we tailor each guest's stay with personal, instinctive, and heartfelt hospitality. Enjoy the quietness in an upscale neighborhood of central Tokyo while staying close to the heart of actions happening at popular downtown sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Tokyo Hotel Meguro
Westin Hotel Tokyo
Westin Hotel Meguro
Westin Tokyo
Meguro Westin
The Westin Tokyo Meguro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing