We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find! Best yakitori I've found thus far in Tokyo...”
Review of Kushiwakamaru

Kushiwakamaru
Ranked #6 of 3,212 Restaurants in Meguro
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Reviewed June 26, 2016

highlights were:
sasami ume shiso maki (chicken tender meat topped with salted plum and shiso)
tebasaki (wings)
cheesu-P (capsicum stuffed with cheese, wrapped in bacon and grilled to gooey goodness)
buta saikyo kushi yaki (pork cheek skewered and marinated in Kyoto-style miso)

honorable mention goes to:
tsukune (chicken meatballs)
tomato maki (tomato wedges wrapped in bacon and grilled)
hotate salsa (scallop skewers topped with sweet-ish salsa)

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 99 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

The restuarent does not accept reservations and ideal time to go is around 9 pm. 15 mins wait and yu have yur table. Squeezed up a little and built for an average japanese but the uncomfortable seating is soon made up the atmposhere. The cheese green peppers, chicken meat ball, the smoked duck, aspharagus bacon, leek chicken were to die for. Service excellent and an english menu. Must go to flavour the yakitori

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank trackeritrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

2 of us turned up around 915pm on a Tuesday night & were told to come back in an hour. Came back 40 mins later & got seated. Service great, food even better. We had 7 skewers (ranging from duck to chicken neck to scallops) & 1 round of drinks which came to 6800yen. Nice atmosphere and good buzz to the restaurant, would definitely recommend, but be prepared to queue and get there early because some dishes (beef and octopus) had sold out by the time we arrived.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank AP1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2016

Just do yourself a favour and go.

.... But because I need to write some more characters to fill the review, I'll flesh things out a little. Really cool little Yakitori place just off the river and within a reasonable walking distance of Shibuya station on the JR Yamanote line, or even closer to Meguro subway station.

Yakitori includes cuts of meat which in the Western world would usually be considered offcuts or waste - skin, cartillage, gizzards and general offal. The bulk of the selection at Kushiwakamaru is chicken based (which includes some of the stranger cuts, all well worth sampling if you are even remotely adventurous), but there is a also a smaller selection of cuts available of other meats and seafood too.

You pay by the skewer, so you can just go down the list and try whatever you want - between two of us, my friend and I had:
2x cover charge (bowl of beans or other similar side dishes)
1x chicken neck
1x chicken skin
1x chicken tail
1x chicken liver
1x smoked duck breast
1x mushroom stuffed with mincemeat
1x pork cheeks with Kyoto miso
1x scallops with salsa
1x fresh octopus with basil
2x cuttlefish with Kyoto miso
1x rice ball with mentaiko

We were stuffed by the end and the bill came to just over 7000 yen (approx £50) including 2x whisky and lime highballs each to wash it all down. It felt like very good value for money, obviously not super cheap but definitely worth the cost. Next time I'm in Tokyo I will definitely go again.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zabuzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

The real deal! Apparently the locals love it, they have a menu in English which is nice, place get crowded so maybe you will have to wait a bit.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Itamar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kushiwakamaru also viewed

 

Been to Kushiwakamaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing