We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for half a day with kids”

National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation Miraikan
Ranked #5 of 149 things to do in Koto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good for half a day with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having visited the Deutsche Museum and London's Science Museum, this is no match. However, it did provide the kids a fun filled half day. Asimo was definitely fun to watch. We enjoyed the exhibit where everyone tried to "connect" to everyone electronically. After signing in, we had our own "circle" on the floor that followed and directed us around the exhibit. If we got near someone else's circle, we would "connect" and "communciatie".

The IMAX show "Birthday" is about the birth of the universe. It is a good way to tell the story. The only issue was that the Japanese sound track was so loud that we could barely hear through our English headphone.

The Money exhibition was a hands on exhibit that was very well thought out. We had fun doing all the exercises and learning while we went through the show.

BTW, Tripadvisor has the name of this attraction spelled wrongly. Thus we could not find anything about this place beforehand. Pls spell "Museum" correctly in the title.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4Walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    277
    135
    38
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“If you are only going to see the robot make sure you are there at either 11am or 2pm!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I think the majority of people are attracted to this museum because of the Honda robot Asimo. If this is the main reason for your visit then there are only two shows a day, one at 11am or 2pm. Unfortunately we visited this museum later in the afternoon so we missed it.
As museums go, this is an interesting and interactive one but you need a good few hours if you want to explore everything. The opening times are 10:00 - 17:00 and the admission fee is 600yen per person. It is about a 5 minute walk from the Telecom Center station.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lmt032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Asimo is the Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Fantastic interactive museum for all ages. Great interactive displays for kids.
Of course the Asimo show is great - don't miss that one!
The planetarium show was also quite good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sigfreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
813 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Look to the Future”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Unlike many science museums which concentrate on getting over basic concepts Miraikan focuses on new or emerging concepts. You'll learn about laboratories on a chip, new concepts for urban planning, or the subtleties of developing robots that emulate human behaviors. There are lots of interactive exhibits. Most of the exhibits have good English explanations and there are lots of docents willing to explain things. It's worth an afternoon if you are in Odaiba.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great for children”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Museum Miraikan at Odaibo is nice, very big building, with a lots to see. Compared to other such museums it offers things that can't be seen anywhere else, such as Honda's robot ASIMO, special submarine, copy of ISS and lots more. I reccomend it for all, especially the children. Lots of visitors, but not a very crowded place for it is very big and spacious. Very friendly and accessible for disabled persons, elevators are great. Nice staff. Avoid the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dermy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation Miraikan also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation Miraikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing