We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation Miraikan
Ranked #4 of 149 things to do in Koto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
812 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Look to the Future”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Unlike many science museums which concentrate on getting over basic concepts Miraikan focuses on new or emerging concepts. You'll learn about laboratories on a chip, new concepts for urban planning, or the subtleties of developing robots that emulate human behaviors. There are lots of interactive exhibits. Most of the exhibits have good English explanations and there are lots of docents willing to explain things. It's worth an afternoon if you are in Odaiba.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    275
    134
    38
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Celje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great for children”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Museum Miraikan at Odaibo is nice, very big building, with a lots to see. Compared to other such museums it offers things that can't be seen anywhere else, such as Honda's robot ASIMO, special submarine, copy of ISS and lots more. I reccomend it for all, especially the children. Lots of visitors, but not a very crowded place for it is very big and spacious. Very friendly and accessible for disabled persons, elevators are great. Nice staff. Avoid the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dermy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting for curious people”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

There are interesting exhibitions in the museum.
It was fun visiting, but nothing special. It is well suited for curious people, and teenagers.
For a regular tourist, it is not worthy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mauricio Q
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Say konichiwa to ASIMO”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were disappointed to learn that we had missed seeing ASIMO's show (daily at 11.00 and 14.00 I believe), however he was gracious enough to wave at us when we approached to say hello.

There are some pretty impressive (and interactive) exhibits to wander around, I particularly liked getting tacked through a human/computer interaction area where my 'Me' grew and taught me more about his capabilities as we experienced various learning experiments.

The displays showing off new technologies with light reproduction and projection were especially impressive as was the International Space Station capsule. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and knowledgable on the exhibits and made the whole experience a blast.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank iamrosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waste of space”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was so much looking forward to this, and was so disappointed. Nothing is up to date. The only robot they showcased at the time I was there (1 hour before closing time) was the Aibo (Sony's "e-dog"), which hasn't even been on sale for the past 5-10 years. It's basically an antique when it comes to the world of technology. I speak Japanese but went with people who didn't and was severely disappointed by the lack of English text.

Odaiba itself is a cool and futuristic place to see just because of the bizarre architecture, but unfortunately, the Miraikan is really terrible. Even if you go see Odaiba, just skip this one. Go to Aqua City and eat cheap Kobe beef with a view over the Rainbow Bridge instead. Go see the big anime robot standing outside one of the other buildings. Go watch Big Site from afar. But whatever you do, don't waste a single minute of your time at the Miraikan.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mmm_gg_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation Miraikan also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation Miraikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing