We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax yourself after a full day shopping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ooedo Onsen Monogatari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ooedo Onsen Monogatari
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels / Ryokan in Koto
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relax yourself after a full day shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very easy access to the onsen and you can enjoy the nice view when taking train to Telecom Centre station from Shinbashin station, only 3 mins walk from the station then you will find the onsen. Suggest visit after 6pm as only 1480 yen entrance fee. When you approach the counter, the staff will give you a locker key and you have to get your japanese yutaka from another counter before you go inside the locker room. There are 2 locker rooms, the 1st one is very big and clean and this is for keep you to keep your stuff and change your japanese yutaka. You will find the 2nd locker room before you go inside the shower and indoor pool area and you have to take off all your clothes. The indoor pool area is quite big but the outdoor area is bit smaller than what i expected. Overall is good and i spend only 3000 yen included a dinner inside. Suggest to visit if you only visit Tokyo for a short trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eastway501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    63
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
29
16
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

When in Japan the end of February a group of us visited the Ooedo-Onsen-Monogatari in the Daiba area. In plain English, this is a traditional Japanese bath house. This was not entirely what I expected, but it was a nice experience, and I would recommend it.

When you enter, you remove your shoes and put them into a shoe locker in the front area. You then proceed to the check in area. There you receive a wrist bracelet with a bar code and a locker key. This is literally your key to the visit, to be explained below.

Next you select a Kimono style robe or Yukata. There are about a half dozen styles each for men and women in a variety of sizes that are included with the fee for the visit. There are additional fee styles as well.

You then take the Yukata and proceed to the locker room. The key attached to the wrist bracelet mentioned above is the key to the locker. You locate the locker with the number on the key and undress and put on the Yukata.

After leaving the locker room you enter an area that can best be described as a cross between a mall food court and a carnival midway. There are various food court like booths were you can select various food items, such as sushi, tempura, and a wide variety of Japanese food items. You select your items and you are given a pager. You pay for your selections by the bar code on your wrist bracelet. There are also places to get beer and other beverages. Water and tea are complimentary.

We ate a variety of food and all of us were satisfied. It was really a late lunch, and we planned on a late sushi dinner later in the evening, so it was really perfect. The food area has both men, women, and families with fairly young children.

There is also an area with many various carnival like games such as darts, cotton candy machines, and small booths selling a variety of items an novelites.

From there we went to the mens bath area. Upon entering you receive a towel and another small towel/wash cloth. You then proceed to another locker room where you remove your Yukata and put it into the locker, along with the larger towel. You then proceed with nothing but the key to the locker on your wrist, and the small wash towel.

From there you enter the bath area. The first thing you encounter is a an area where you splash water on yourself to initially wash. You then proceed to individual stations equipped with a hand shower, shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. You then wash completely and then proceed to the baths themselves.

There are baths of various temperatures and water inside and additional baths outside. We first went to the baths outside. The air was cold, about 35 to 40 degrees F, but the water is hot. We first went into the hottest bath about 40C I believe. We stayed in that for about 10 minutes or so, then proceeded to another outdoor bath a little cooler for another 15 minutes or so.

We then went inside and tried some of the inside baths. One of the baths is cold, about 20C – I didn’t use that but others in the group did. There were a variety of baths inside, some bubbling Jacuzzi like, another with a brownish salt brine water, and others. After about another half hour to 45 minutes of relaxing in the various baths we then washed again and left the bath area.

We went back to the locker room, retrieved the towels, and dried off. There are hair dryers, and other toiletry items to use. After finishing up here we put our Yukatas back on, put the towels in used towel area and re-entered the common area.

We had some cold water, played some of the games, and then proceeded to the common outdoor baths. These are clothed areas shared by all and are mostly foot baths. Some have rocks to walk on. There is also an area where for an additional fee you can have fish eat the dead skin from your feet. I didn’t do that, but some in the group did. The were in hysterics with laughter.

There are other options for massages, for additional fees, and other services.

At this point we went back to the locker room and got dressed. There are bins to deposit the Yukata for washing.

We then went back to the initial reception area and paid. There was a flat fee for the service, and then itemized fees for the additional items you purchased. For me this included the food and a beer. You can charge this to credit cards.

All told, after exchange rates the total came out to $40.87 USD. About $17 of that was food. So, by Japanese prices this is really cheap. Japan is really expensive, this by comparison was really inexpensive.

From there you proceed to the shoe locker area, retrieve your shoes, and leave. There are shuttles to area locations and train stations. We had some issues with the subway (need to refill Suica card with cash, no credit cards accepted, and ATMs didn’t take any US or Canadian ATM or credit cards – not well done) so we just used taxis (they do take credit cards).

It was definitely a good experience. It wasn’t what I expected, especially the carnival midway type area, but overall it was a relaxing experience for a relatively modest price. Even with the nudity it is not sexual at all.

If in the Tokyo area of Japan I definitely recommend it. From what we were told by someone we knew that lives in Japan, there are other similar onsens with even more baths, such as red wine, curry, and others. It sounds odd, but is probably also interesting.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in a room. Enjoyed the baths, restaurant/food court and other features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Parkland-critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very nice and charming, ideal for a cold winter day. Personnel speaks a decent English and you can find signs explaining how to behave before entering the water (Japanese thermal bath are totally different from the western ones). Super recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you're a warm bath and sauna lover, you'll definitely love Ooedo Onsen!

I am sure that Japan has hundred places that could beat this onsen in environment, scenery and services but they are located outside of Tokyo. So if you don't have the possibility to go outside of Tokyo, Ooedo is an excellent option. The services are exactly as described by the previous reviewers. I have been there after 6 pm due to the lower price and stayed for about 5 hours, enjoying the different warm pools, the outdoor ponds and the saunas. Such a relaxing and rewarding time. Don't visit if you are shy of being naked or if you have tattoos, they are not allowed. Massage services were very good as well, you can just book on the spot and select the time you prefer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isparos9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Ooedo-Onsen is located in Tokyo and is really a combination of Onsen (Japanese bath house), restaurants, side show alley (Japanese Style) and capsule hotel, all under one roof.
On arrival you'll need to remove your shoes and place in show locker. Collect your Yukata. Change into your Yakata (leaving underwear on). You can then visit the restaurants etc, or try the Onsen. It's Japanese style, so you only have a very small towel (no swim wear allowed) and proceed to either male or females only sections. The outside section is refreshing in winter! Worth the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went in after 6pm at 1980 Yen. Upon entering, pls remove shoes and lock them in the lockers. proceed to counters and the personnel will issue you a scanned key. Proceed to counter to choose your yukata. Foot bath are average.. nothing fantastic. both men and women are allowed to mingle here. For ladies, you may wear your undergarments underneath yukata. You may proceed to eat first or hot spring at your discretion. Whatever you eat, all charges will be billed to your scanned key so there's no need to bring along your wallet. Proceed to hot spring counters and the lady will handle over 2 towels, one small, and one big towel. please undress yourself naked and bring along the small towel only. leave the big towel into the locker. I felt the outdoor hotspring was really good! After hot spring, there are 2 wash-up areas, once with shower head and one stool sitting manner showering facilities. There are shampoo, body wash and makeup remover for free usage. Please do not use the big towel to wrap yourself. Finally, use the big towel to dry yourself instead and change into your yutaka. There are hair cream, foot cream, hair dryer, water cooler, comb for free usage. IMHO, its near for those staying in daiba. they do offer free shuttle bus service too. Enjoy and have fun!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AIREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had a great time there! When you first arrive, you are given a yukata to wear (you'll strip down to your undies then put on the yukata) and a scan key which you use to purchase food, drinks and other items which you pay for when you leave. Ate and drank quite a bit with a lot of emphasis on the former...haha. Place is very clean and well maintained. It was a kind of a cold day as well so that made the made the onsen (segregated by gender) even more inviting (NOTE, you will be completely naked with other people in the onsen so you will need to be ok with that). Depending on where you are staying, it can be quite a journey there (we were at the New Sanno), however, it was well worth it!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ticktok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koto
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
#13 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tokyo Kiba Hotel
#5 of 33 in Koto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooedo Onsen Monogatari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooedo Onsen Monogatari

Property: Ooedo Onsen Monogatari
Address: 2-6-3 Aomi, Koto 135-0064 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Koto > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels / Ryokan in Koto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten and Hotel.de so you can book your Ooedo Onsen Monogatari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooedo Onsen Monogatari Hotel Koto
Ooedo Onsen Monogatari Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing