We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for Tsuikiji Fish Market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyu Stay Tsukiji

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location for Tsuikiji Fish Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stay for 1 day at the hotel to visit the early auction at the fish market. Very practical and clean room with washing machine. Lots of sushi restaurant and food stalls around the area. Strict on check in/out time. Highly recommended if you plan to visit the fish market at early morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frogfrog_yy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    79
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
33
49
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in a large double room. At an average cost of Y15450 per night for 2 including breakfast it was really great value in Tokyo. The room had two double beds, an adequate bathroom, a small but-fully equipped, kitchen and everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Plenty of free benefits including a bean to cup coffee machine in the foyer, ice, WiFi, wired LAN, amenities, etc. Breakfast is around the corner at a local Jonathan's – not great but adequate. It is close to Ginza, three subway stations on three lines and a good walk from Tokyo or Shimbashi stations. We used a taxi once, on arrival, from Tokyo station to the hotel for Y1000. Based here it is quite easy to get to anywhere in Tokyo or Japan.
The hotel is in the Tsukiji outer market and a great location to feel the real Tokyo, whilst the high end of Ginza is a short walk away. For visiting the tuna auction at 4:30 am, eating at the seemingly hundreds of sushi shops in the outer marker, or sampling Tokyo street food, the location could not be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikejnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here on business and leisure. The room was fine: a little bit tired and pretty compact but it had everything we needed.

Location is superb for visiting the fish market and enjoying excellent sushi. The shops of Ginza are about a 10 minute walk away, but there's plenty going on in the streets around the hotel.

Staff were polite and helpful, price was reasonable. Personally I am not a fan of the complimentary Jonathan's food for breakfast, but it's adequate and has unlimited juices and coffee, so no real complaints here.

Would recommend for business trips or for tourists keen on visiting Tsukiji.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Got a single room here for about 8,000 yen ($100) a night. It's walkable to Ginza (10 minutes to the Mitsukoshi department store/Wako intersection) and close to the Tsukiji fish market. From the early morning into the afternoon, it's a bustling area of shops selling stuff related to the fish restaurant trade. There are sushi restaurants aplenty, including some open 24 hours, though otherwise it's fairly dead at night.
Tokyu Stay is a basic service apartment chain, I've stayed in two of their hotels and was satisfied both times. There's not as much service as a regular hotel (they only change the sheets once a week), but it's clean and you get everything you need. Shampoo, soap, conditioner in the bathroom, toothbrush and toothpaste, a disposable razor if you need it. An alarm clock. A washer/dryer in the room. Someone told me there's no English TV (I didn't watch TV), so don't expect CNN. And as of a day before my arrival, they had free wifi in the room, which isn't universal in Japan. Free coffee from a gourmet coffee maker in the lobby.
Making phone calls requires buying a card from a machine in the lobby (1,000 yen minimum) and putting it in a slot in the desk under the phone. Unused credit is returned at the end.
To get here from Narita, you can take the Airport Limousine bus to Courtyard by Marriott Ginza for 3,000 yen or the Keisei Access Express train to the Higashi Ginza subway stop for 1,280 yen. If you don't need a full-service hotel, this is a terrific bargain in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laidback84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at this property for 2 nights and would highly recommend a stay here.
You directly right in the entrance of the famous Tsukiji Fish Market where you can expierence some of the best Sushi in the world at your doorstep 24 hrs a day.
A short 10 minute walk and you are in the center of the Ginza District with its premier shopping and neon lights.
The Asakusa metro line is at your doorstep also which if you ride to one end, takes you to Asakusa and a glimpse into 'old Tokoyo, and the other end you end up in Shibuya and the Hatchiko statute, and its shopping.
Connections can be made at Tokyo's main station which is a 5 min taxi ride.
Rooms are Japan size and have a washer and dryer in the room, unlimited green tea, and movie card for 24 hour viewing of English movies.
Staff was very friendly and helped with directions. Spoke limited English, but enough to get by.
Over all a hotel i would stay at again when i return.
Great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza was perfect really for what I wanted/needed for my hotel stay in Tokyo.

It is in a fantastic location in regards to being very close to the subway station - 3 different ones, and at your doorstep is the fish market area which is bustling with people, food, and exciting things to see, smell, taste and hear. It's easy walking distance to the Fish Market, and there is 24 hour sushi joints surrounding you. Despite all this, it is a quiet area and a really pleasant, serene stay.

The room was a decent enough size - especially considering you are in Tokyo. Beds are very comfortable and I always had a very good sleep there.
There was a fridge, TV, sink, stove top, and washing machine in the room, as well as a safe for valuables, a pants press (I didn't use this but may be of use to you) and LAN connection for your lap top.

In the lobby, staff are friendly and helpful. Some speak some english, some do not. They have maps there. There is also a coffee machine downstairs for free coffee, and wireless internet in the lobby too.

There were a few things that were a bit 'annoying' if you could even say that; such as they don't clean your room/remove rubbish/make your bed each day unless you stay there more than 6 nights.
Having no wifi in the room meant that if I wanted to skype family for example, I had to do that in the lobby with others surrounding me and did not want to have to do that.

Besides these things, it was a great stay, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeverTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The location is fantastic for visitors wanting to visit the Tsukiji market auction. A block and a half away walk from the entrance to waiting line at the market. Reception told my son and I the nite before to be there at 4:30am and we were able to see the auction. We were approx the 20th people there. Shortly thereafter, people arriving were told they were too late. They arrived by cab. So stay here and get a little bit more shut eye and save on a cab ride. We stayed only 24hours for a layover. Great for solo and two people (sharing a bed). Rooms are basic, small but clean and functional. Bonus had washer/dryer/microwave/kettle/free tea....fantastic to have clean clothes for next leg of trip...even pajama and slippers for two. Recommend for short term stay; solo or couple wanting to see fish market. Subway entrance also steps to hotel so can reach anywhere in Tokyo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmatjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chuo hotels
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tokyu Stay Ginza
Tokyu Stay Ginza
#15 of 87 in Chuo
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Solaria nishitetsu hotel Ginza
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Tsukiji Business Hotel Ban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyu Stay Tsukiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Tsukiji

Property: Tokyu Stay Tsukiji
Address: 5 4 Chome, Chuo 104-0045 , Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Tsukiji 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN and Odigeo so you can book your Tokyu Stay Tsukiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Tsukiji Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing