We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Mitsukoshimae
Ranked #58 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“excellent for the price”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

rooms are small, breakfast is simple, internet access is free but limited to the lobby... but for the price they charge it is very good. It's clean, the service is good and the staff friendly and helpful. It is easy and quick to get to Tokyo station using the subway or the JR line (that station is a bit of a walk away, but ok).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christianp1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    91
    67
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
69
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very nice staff, clean room, good breakfast. Perfect for two people. I am very satisfied with everything. Thank you.You're welcome to go back.
Found it a bit difficult, but after that it was easy to navigate.The reservation was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

you wouldn't be wrong with the price! I got it at approx. 88SGD/night for 10 nights. I'm typing this in the hotel villa fontaine-nihombashi hakozaki :) the immigration took me 50mins despite arrive at 2225hrs, by the time i get to the bus station ticket counter it is already 2330hrs and the limo bus already left at 2315 which cost 800Y or 1300Y (limo + metro day pass), what a pity, the lady couldn't sell me the combo with 0015 bus :( and the tix cost 1600Y !! anw, it takes about 25mins to reach TCAT and you will see 7-11, which will be your landmark, cross the road and the hotel is just opposite 7-11, the one with green and white sign, u wont miss it! i chose by bus because it is a direct route, instead of changing stations with the JR and carry my luggage around, hope it helps! The hotel will considered compact sized to oversized figures, however I like my room and everything look clean and trendy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great budget hotel in downtown Tokyo (special rate). Room was clean, good size bed, big LCD TV, wired internet access, and very good air conditioning. Breakfast buffet was pretty good; offered pastries, eggs, sausages, salad, coffee, juice, and milk. Hotel staff was very friendly, courteous, and spoke English. Ten minute walk from Mitsukoshimae Metro Station. Interestingly, take an elevator to the hotel lobby in the basement, then take another elevator to their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fool0nthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2011

10 mins walk to the financial district. Relatively quiet area. Not much night activity around that area. Definitely not suitable for party animal. train station about 5mins walk. Restricted view from the window. Room quality is good for the value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

A no-frills business hotel, a good 30 minutes walk from Tokyo station - although if you transfer to the Mitsukoshi or Shin-nihonbashi station it'll be a shorter walk. Sorta hidden in a small backlane, so a map is necessary to find it! Simple breakfast (salad, rice, miso soup, hard-boiled eggs, bread is included, for 5000yen. (I stayed in the cheapest basement room). As typical of Tokyo, room is very small, but clean and cozy. PC available for use at counter (though you have to stand up and use it), LAN connection in rooms if you brought your own. What left an impression was that I left my branded jeans behind and realised it 1 hr after checkout, but was already on the way to Nikko by that time, so I called them later that afternoon to tell them my room number, and that I'm going back for them the 2nd day. When I returned, they said they could not find my jeans after cleaning the room the previous day, which made me very miffed because 1. They're definitely in the room closet, and 2. Couldn't you call me and save me from making a wasted trip!?. But all is well in the end because they emailed me 1 day later to apologise for the mix-up - they do have it, it's just being kept in another location and the counter staff who attended to me did not know - and they immediately sent it back to me in Singapore via Speedpost (1100yen), even though I would have been alright with a cheaper/slower postage method. So, great customer service recovery there. Won't mind staying here again there if I cannot find a location closer to Tokyo station for same price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xjckimberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days and found it very nice.
There are many hotels in Tokyo, but only a few keep good ratio of price/quality/location. It is difficult to find a cheap, clean place in vicinity of main tourist attractions, but Villa Fontaine Nihonbashi was truely a good choice in this regard.

Good things:

- complimentary breakfast is modest, but includes all necessary things a tourist needs to charge calories before rushing to see Tokyo.
- rooms are super clean, well equipped
- bed is not soft -> your back relaxes much better
- room is small, but everything (furniture, bathroom, shelves, TV, etc) is optimized in a way you don't feel that you are contained in a small cell.
- free internet connection is quick (as everywhere in Japan though)
- on the way from subway you can take a rest in Starbucks watching Nihombashi - bridge, from which all distances are measured in Japan. If you come there In the morning you can watch how local people come over for their morning coffee. Tokyovites are very special people if compared to people from other cities in Japan.

Some tricks you should know:

- entrance to the hotel is on the ground floor directly from the street, then you need to take elevator down to B1 floor, where reception and cafeteria are located. You walk it through and take another elevator to the room floors. This is a bit complicated, but room was 5000JPY for 2 people! Can you imagine this price for any other inn within 15-20 minutes walk from Tokyo Station (or Nihombashi Station)?
- pay in advance
- book through jalan.net if you can navigate in Japanese.
- take breakfast early, because number of seats in cafeteria are limited.

As a conclusion, I would recommend this hotel for private stay, but for business I would go for something less optimistic, but closer to railway connection.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast early, otherwise seats are limited and cafeteria is crowded
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koneslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Hakozaki
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Smile Hotel Nihonbashi Mitsukoshimae
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Kayabacho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Otemachi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Hatchobori
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Nihombashi-Kayabacho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Mitsukoshimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Mitsukoshimae

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Mitsukoshimae
Address: 1-7-6 Honcho Nihombashi, Chuo 103-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 91 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Mitsukoshimae 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Mitsukoshimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Nihonbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Nihombashi Mitsukoshimae Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing