We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$251
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$306
$209
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $250/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$288
$255
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
APA Hotel Higashi Nihombashi Ekimae(Chuo)(Great Value!)
$46
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$232
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$128
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$194
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$130
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$171
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,184)
Filter reviews
2,184 results
Traveler rating
1,798
277
64
23
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,798
277
64
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount fujiconcierge teampizza barbottega venetapark hyattgrand roomluxury hotelpillow menufloor to ceiling windowsfour seasonsamazing hotelmitsukoshimae stationmitsukoshi department storechinese restaurantsushirestaurant reservationsbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
1,145 - 1,150 of 2,184 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2009

The level of service I am continuosly receiving as a guest of the Mandarin Oriental is unmatched among any business hotel in Asia Pacific. From the welcome drink in the room, to the right adaptors being already in the room on arrival, the laundry bags already having my name on it, from basically all staff knowing my name to being extremely helpful in all requests, the service exceeds any expectation or experience in other business hotels. Quality and freshness of products at breakfast is great, views from the rooms are phantastic, size and quality of equipment of rooms is very generous. I have spent many nights in many trips at the Mandarin, and I will always return.
Only criticism: extra charge for internet use!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WenZhuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I think that this is the best property in Tokyo -- much better than both the Ritz and the Peninsula (2 other recent entries into the market).

Best things about the property:

- Impeccable modern Asian design
- Great views of the city (even from the restrooms)
- Top notch service that is a more flexible than most hotels in Japan. Very attentive and successful in both responding to and anticipating needs
- Diversity of restaurants
- Spacious well-designed rooms
- Large wet area connected to the spa
- Intimate / quiet feeling in public spaces

Opportunities for improvement:

- Location isn't perfect for tourism but isn't bad
- You pay dearly for the privilege (especially at the spa)
- Bar area can get smokey (but this is Japan)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Japan_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

A beautiful hotel...Of course it is still new. But I really like the décor of this hotel!

The room was beautiful, too. I think we had the deluxe or premier deluxe (I don't remember). A basic room at this hotel, but it was nice enough! Impeccable room and bed and bathroom...so far this was the best I have ever stayed.

We had an access to the Spa, Heat and Water, so we had made a reservation and tried.
What a wonderful view from the Spa! I was actually alone there, so I just swam in the jacuzzi. It was a luxury to sit alone in the sauna and looked at the night view of Tokyo...

We dined at the Italian? restaurant, but perhaps should have chosen the Chinese or the Tapas at the counter because the cuisine was not so impressive. They could have done better, I think.

But overall, this is an excellent hotel. I enjoyed staying here very much.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louloulechat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Amazing staff, views of Tokyo. Conde Naste did article on 10 best consigners in the world---the gentleman who was ours, Adam--yes he was one . Bamboo flooring, several TV's, phone in each room. The gentleman at the reception area had us booked fpr our ride back to the airport by the time my husband turned around to ask him to take care of this. One of the very best hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arlene7775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

The Mandarin Oriental chain opened this new hotel in Dec 2005 on top of the Mitsui tower in the Nihombashi district (located North-East from the Imperial Palace). Naturally the views are superb (especially in the evening) with the lobby & main bar being at the top floor and the rooms being located below.

The rooms are very well appointed with the same style as the refurbished Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong. We had a Deluxe room viewing eastwards with a relatively large size for Tokyo (about 50 sqmeters). The rooms facing westwards (towards the Imperial Palace) are more expensive but their views is probably more impressive.

The bathroom is separated from the bedroom with a glass panel but you can close the stores if you wish to do so. The shower area does not have a curtain or a glass door. Instead, the whole shower area is an open space next to the bath which is typically Japanese. (Japanese people will shower first before slipping into a hot bath tub).

All bathroom amenities are presented in a superb lacquered box and this is so far the only hotel I visited where they provide you with a small bottle of pressurized shaving cream alongside their razor kit!

Being extremely recent, the main switches are all electronically commanded and quite intuitive to use. Note that there is a "service box" next to the door where the staff will put the daily newspaper or shoes (complimentary shoe-shine service at night) without having to open your door (pretty much like the Peninsula in Hong Kong).

Service is very efficient and friendly but this is usually the norm in Japan. The Italian restaurant on the first floor has a nice buffet.

Only downside is the location since Nihombashi is mainly a business district (the Tokyo Stock Exchange is nearby) so you need to take the subway (station is just below the hotel) or a taxi if you wish to go out (Ginza/Shinjuku/Shibuya/Roppongi). Note that the Mitsui tower is mainly an office tower with the Mandarin Oriental on top, so at street level you might not notice the main entrance of the hotel which is slightly off the main road. Also take a hotel address card to show to taxi drivers since some of them do not know this recent hotel. (Mine dropped me off in front of the Mitsui tower entrance instead of the proper hotel entrance, so that I had to drag my luggage in several escalators before finding my way to the hotel)

Best option to/from Narita Airport is the "friendly airport limousine" which is a bus service between the airport and the main hotels in Tokyo. When going back to Narita, you can directly buy the tickets at the hotel concierge and the bus will stop in front of the hotel.

Overall a beautiful city hotel from the Mandarin Oriental chain which adds to the stiff competition of 5* hotels in Tokyo!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews