We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,203)
Filter reviews
2,203 results
Traveler rating
1,815
279
65
22
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,815
279
65
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount fujiconcierge teampizza barbottega venetapark hyattgrand roomluxury hotelpillow menufloor to ceiling windowsfour seasonsamazing hotelmitsukoshimae stationmitsukoshi department storechinese restaurantsushirestaurant reservationsbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
1,173 - 1,178 of 2,203 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Our stay at the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo exceeded our every expectation. The staff were all incredibly attentive, helpful and kind. Our room had a gorgeous view of the city and was beautifully appointed. The rain shower in the bathroom was a welcome surprise after a long flight. Another great thing about this hotel is its location next to the Mitsukoshi department store and the subway is accessible beneath the hotel. We plan on returning to Tokyo and will stay at the Mandarin Oriental again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coltsfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

As with most who have writtem about the MOT, its a place thats hard to fault. We stayed in a Premium Grand Room which was huge, decorated with modern japanese elegance and having every amenity you could possibly conceive.

But I thought I could provide a little more information about its location, which we also found hard to fault. Firstly there is little doubt that the Metro subway is the only way to go and having two lines accessible from within the hotel building (in the basement) was great. We reached every corner of Tokyo without having to change lines more than once and navigating the subway is quite easy if you are used to subways.

Also the immediate environs of the hotel were unexpectantly modern, spacious, quiet and clean. The hotel is also right next door to a huge department store which has a food basement that has to be seen to be believed. But if you also take the opportunity to walk around the very safe side streets, you will find a wide vareity of traditional shops and great restaurants that are well worth a visit. For example we found a Tempura restaraunt 10 minutes from the hotel that was 100 years old (what an experience). Also the Imperial Palace East gardens are only about a 15 minute pleasant walk away, which is somewhere you just have to go (especially in Spring).

There is no doubt that the MOT is very expensive, but so is Tokyo in general. However this was one of the very few visits I walked away from feeling totally satisfied and totally enthused about everything.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GazPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Pros: Modern, sophisticated plush rooms. All the curtains are electronically controlled. The bathtubs are fan shaped, actually looks more like a seashell. Of course, the shower are excellent with all kinds of controls. Bathroom amenities include brush, toothbrush, toothpaste and excellent shampoo, conditioners. Incredible Spa with hot soaking tubs facing the city skyline. Breakfast buffets are incredibly delicious. East meets West with all kinds of pastries, eggs (egg benedicts!), rice, cold cuts, homemade jams, fruit, yoghurt. The beds and linens are extremely soft and luxurious. Flat screen tvs in the bedroom and bathroom.

Cons: Nothing really. If this even counts: internet at the business center was not free.

Overall: Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

What can I say about this hotel that hasn't already been written on this site? It was amazing. We were only there a night on the last night of our Japanese honeymoon and we were treated like royalty. The floor to ceiling window in our room gave us an incredible view of the Tokyo skyline and we watched the sun setting over the sky scrapers from our room. We ate in one of the hotel restaurants and had many cocktails in the bar all while sat watching Tokyo by night 37 floors beneath us. It was the most fitting end to a perfect trip away.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

The most wonderful hotel in Tokyo. Seriously. Everything is impeccable. The best concierge service in the world. Located above subway so perfect for getting around. Can't recommend it highly enough....

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oakley66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews